We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tastiest tomato soup I've ever had”
Review of La Rambla

La Rambla
Ranked #26 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $28
Cuisines: Spanish
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Rainham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tastiest tomato soup I've ever had”
Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

Visited this little Tapas restaurant for a late Saturday afternoon lunch in the centre of Killarney tucked off the main street in the quiet cut through towards main parking area. What a fantastic meal. A selection a tapas priced approx. €5 a piece which included their tomato & basil soup tapas selection.

It's worth going just try this dish. Unbelievable tastiest tomato soup I've ever heard and served with garlic ciabatta. Have no idea what else is in this dish but my god..... Compliments to the chef and the very friendly lone female of staff that served us that day.

A nice peaceful restaurant with a lively ambience and good service. Totally worth a try and made a change from my usual killarney seafood chowder.

Give it a go. Enjoy

Regards
Danny783

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Danny783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    112
    31
    25
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Meal”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Had a lovely fmily meal here on Saturday night. Service was good. Food was lovely and good value. We will certainly be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank amlof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, rude waitress”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Food was best I have eaten for quiet a while. We went twice on a recent trip to Killarney. The first was mid week and not so busy so service was good. We then went again on the friday night and unfortunately service was slow which I can put up with as it was very busy. In fairness there was only 2 waitresses for a very busy resturaunt where there should have been at least 3. One of the waitress was extremely friendly, however the other was extremely rude to us and other tables also. This was a real pity as we were so excited to go back as food was excellent. Maybe management should look at staffing levels and the conduct of staff a bit closer

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Family Supper venue”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We had a really nice tapas supper that was very tasty and enjoyed by all nine in our party, including our parents who had not tasted some of the dishes ever before. It was as good a tapas food experience as any of us had experienced elsewhere and the service was also spot in. A nice and lighter alternative to traditional food with great flavour. We also enjoyed a tasty jug of sangria to wash it down. Lively but not too noisy atmosphere was very pleasant.
Many thanks. Aoife

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ABurnell-Smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best in Killarney”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

The other reviews are very confusing. I have eaten in La Rambla three or four times for both lunch and dinner and I have loved it every time. The decor is quirky and authentic. The staff are really friendly and helpful. The whole atmosphere creates a real sense of spain. The menu is really great and the food is always gorgeous. I haven't tried one tapas that I haven't liked there yet. I will definitely be returning. It's the best place to bring a group of friends without having to burn a hole in your pocket as well. Tapas are so fun to share, especially when they taste this good! :)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MLandersIRL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martins M, Manager at La Rambla, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Many many thanks for kind words.I know it's impossible to please all the people all the time we have set out to give good value for quality food in a different style that hopefully people find unique some people get this and some don't .I thank all our customers for their kind reviews and for those unhappy all I can say is hopefully if there is another visit it will be more pleasurable
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Rambla also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to La Rambla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing