We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Harmony Inn - Glena House
Ranked #71 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 29, 2007

This is the first time I have written a review of accommodation. Here's why:

I had high hopes for Glena house. The booking was made as part of a tour around Ireland, and was chosen specifically because of the stated location and facilities it offered on the website.

Whilst I have no problem with the location - it was about a 5 - 10 minute walk from the centre, I was disappointed with many aspects of the facilities.

The bistro style restaurant and wine bar - open in summer - was not open (in August). The double room was spacious, but a little ragged. The bathroom door handle was broken and kept falling off. There was only one tea cup and I had to ask for another one. The milk provided had gone off. On the second day the second cup had gone missing again and the milk wasn't replaced.

The restaurant was OK, although the orange juice had a strange flavour on day one - maybe it was pineapple? Breakfast on day 1 was served by a bright eastern european girl with limited English - but everyone seemed to get by eventually. The food was OK but nothing special - I had a cheese omlette. Trying to avoid another "full Irish" I ordered the same on day 2. The plate was swimming in grease and the omlette was soggy and only half cooked and was literally floating in it. I tried to soldier on, but had to leave it in the end and couldn't face eating anything else. On both days the cutlery was half missing, and the staff seemed to have trouble in getting tables cleared and re-set. That said, the waitresses seemed keen and busy (though doing what I'm not sure). The tea really was abysmal - the worst I had all holiday.

Whilst I don't go on holiday for the TV, it is nice to be able to watch something later in the evening. There were 4 channels available at the Glena - but unfortunately they were all identical.

On both days of my visit I was woken early by the banging of the front door which continued for about 20 minutes - bang-bang ..... bang-bang ......... bang-bang...... bang-bang...... lovely!

Overall, out of 7 B&Bs visited on my tour, this was really the worst. Killarney itself, however, was great. Go there, but choose different accommodation.

Oh, they do have plenty of parking.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MCT11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 173 reviews

Reviewed May 30, 2007

I went with my school group so I was able to get a feeling for many of the rooms in the "hotel." First off, this place is in a decent location and looks pretty homey from the outside. Upon arrival into the room, however, I soon realized this place was going to be hurrendous (and I had to stay for 2 days...AHH). The lights above the bed were twisted upside down, the heater was all the way up and the bathroom seemed as if it hadn't been cleaned in months! I could seriously feel every spring in the bed, which was covered with uncleaned sheets. The towels were thin, the shaver plug in the bathroom was broken, and we had no clock, phone, or remote. The food was terrible, I repeat, TERRIBLE! One of the tour leaders got a room that smelled so bad, she had to request a room change due to the awful stench. I'm convinced there was a mildew/mold problem there and I am actually going to the doctors office today due to chest pain, which I wouldn't be surprised originated from the dirty rooms (no allergies or hint of sickness the entire trip until I woke up the second morning of my stay with terrible chest pain). Please spend a few extra dollars and go to a decent hotel. This place was ATROCIOUS.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TheBlanket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2007

This place was a major disappointment. It is very close to the town center, but that is the only thing it has going for it. We had two single rooms--the room had water stains and mold on the walls next to the window. If the window happens to be open and it rains---the water comes right into the room--they try to hide this behind the desk and curtains.
The window looks out to side yard with gravel and trash cans. The towels were old and thin, the fans didn't work in the bathrooms, the TV had no remote, had to stand up and reach up high to change the channel. The hallway is dingy and dark, the breakfast is the same old tired Irish breakfast--day in, day out.
The staff was pleasant enough, but they all seemed bored to tears with their jobs.
We booked our rooms through the Irish tourist board--they are supposed to inspect/check the premises. They are supposed to meet a certain standard, but I think there are so many B&B's in Ireland, they can't keep up with the demand and the property owners know this !!

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank diegotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2007

I've stayed at Glena House twice now, always during the off season (February). I use lodging in Ireland for only two things: a place to sleep, and, occasionally, a place to eat breakfast. If you're looking for a clean, basic place to stay while you're seeing Kerry, Glena House is ideal. Want to go in to Killarney for some shopping or a restaurant? It's an easy three minute walk from Glena House. As a "home base" for seeing the rest of Kerry, it's perfect. It's easy to find, the manager (Kayan) is friendly and helpful, and breakfast, though not spectacular, is more than adequate. If you're looking for luxury, this isn't your place. If you're looking for good value, a great central location, and decent but not fancy. Glena's the place

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WisconsinTadhg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

I've stayed at the Glenna House twice and would go back again. No it's not a 3-star hotel like in the U.S. but clean and comfortable. Each room has it's own ensuite bath and toilet which is spacious. My towels were replaced daily with fresh, clean towels in excellent condition. Every room has a selection of teas or coffee and hot water kettle, sugar, etc.
Their breakfast bar is excellent and in addition you get a choice from their menu.
I've always found the staff to be friendly and more than helpful. I don't understand people (Americans)who visit other countries then whine when things aren't like in the U.S.
I'm retiring to the area so if you want to whine just stay home.
Alexis Colby
Irish/American
Ramstein, Germany

Stayed: February 2007
Thank Irishcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2006

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jlef817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

1  Thank JamesyWamesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.2 mi away
Killarney Court Hotel
Killarney Court Hotel
#32 of 38 in Killarney
862 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
598 reviews
3.1 mi away
Innisfallen Hotel
Innisfallen Hotel
#3 of 3 in Fossa
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#31 of 38 in Killarney
417 reviews
0.7 mi away
KingsCourt - Harmony Inn
KingsCourt - Harmony Inn
#121 of 143 in Killarney
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Black Sheep Hostel
The Black Sheep Hostel
#1 of 47 in Killarney
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Harmony Inn - Glena House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harmony Inn - Glena House

Address: Killarney House Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Glena House Killarney)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $53 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Harmony Inn - Glena House 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning Glena House is a luxury Guest house situated 5 minutes walk from the town centre providing the ideal base to explore what Killarney has to offer, spectacular landscapes and exciting entertainment.At Glena your comfort is assured, your stay made special by our friendly, helpful staff.Our rooms are tastefully decorated with pitch pine furnishings, orthopedic bed, multi channel T.V., heated towel rails and tea/coffee making facilities. free parking, a bowl of ice for a bedroom drink. Residents bar also and family bistro restaurant with great homely food.for location, value, quality and hospitality its hard to beat glena where memories are made. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Harmony Inn - Glena House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glena House Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing