We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kerry Climbing”
Review of KerryClimbing

KerryClimbing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kerry Climbing is a family run and is the premier and leading Mountain guiding company of the region and a high quality provider of courses in Rock-Climbing, Mountaineering, Navigation + Proficiency, Winter Mountaineering and Skills and much much more. We specialise and are the leading providers of guided ascents of the MacGillycuddys Reeks mountains in Kerry and of Ireland's highest mountain Corran Tuathail (Carrauntoohil) which stands at 1039 metres.We also guide all the other mountainous areas of southern Ireland. From leisurely nature walks in ancient oak forests to challenging roped climbs and ascents. From the Easy to the Extreme!!! Walking, Scrambling, Rock Climbing, Mountaineering and courses. We provide full and half day guiding options for individuals or groups and cater for ALL levels of fitness and experience. We also provide team building and training days for future adventures and peaks. Our aim is to keep the day flexible to suit your level of fitness, ability and experience. You can be assured of an adventure for everyone!!! "Experience the Adventure"
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Kerry Climbing”
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Walked the Coomloughra Horseshoe again and this time engaged Kerry climbing. This was a great choice Piaras the guide was unbelievable from a health and safety point if view to a wealth of local knowledge about the walk. He puts people at ease and walks the way all good mountain leaders should do and that's to the pace of the slowest walker. Listening to Piaras about local plants and flowers which I think is all part of a good quality walk this one taking about 8 hrs and the time passed quickly. During our tea break was great listening to him on the mountain range was very good and for his enthusiasm and encouragement was excellent. I would suggest anyone going walking in the Reeks should definitely engage Kerry climbing without doubt. Looking forward to getting back there. Thanks Piaras for your amazing knowledge and care.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fearruadha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryClimbing, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this review, September 25, 2014
Thank you Fred for your glowing review and for taking the time to leave it. It is always a pleasure to guide you and great to hook up with you again recently in Cronin's yard.

Míle buíochas,
Piaras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    527
    10
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Superb day out, great guide”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

I just visited Corrán Tuathail last weekend. I was there with a friend. We hiked up to the summit with Piaras as our guide.It was a great day out. Piaras was really knowledgeable. He knew his stuff from the basics like routes, equipment etc to the geology of the area, to the history of past climbers. We would have limited experience of hiking and would never have been up a mountain like Corrán Tuathail. While the ascent could be achieved without a guide it certainly made the day more enjoyable having one. Piaras chose a route to suit the group (five people) and kept us entertained along the way. He is very easy going and was patient with everyone in the group.

The hike itself is achievable for anyone who is reasonably active. We went up the Devil's ladder route which has some parts where you will have to use your hands but people of all ages were going up there. As long as you take your time and pay attention it is very safe.

The views at the top were certainly worth the effort and the journey up and down was a great way to spend the day. I'd definitely recommend giving it a try.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank rovingrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryClimbing, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
It is a joy and hugely rewarding to read such a positive and glowing review such as yours - a heartfelt thank you from all at KerryClimbing. It was a spectacular day for sure and was a real delight to guide you both and show you the many stunning delights of the magnificent Reeks. These mountains are truly awe-inspiring and I take particular joy in showing them off to walkers and climbers who are on their first visit and telling some of the many enthralling and interesting tales which relate to this marvellous part of the world. Thanks once again for the super review and look forward to guiding you again through these marvellous valleys and slopes...

Kind thanks
Piaras and Catherine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Great day of hiking”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

We had a great day out hiking recently and we were brought up Carrantouhill. Parais was our guide and he was great. We felt safe with him as he was part of mountain rescue and he knew the mountain so well. He was good humoured and had lots of info on history etc. On the way back down he brought us a different way which was off the beaten track and it was an exhilarating experience that I'm so glad I done.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank EmmaHippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryClimbing, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Hi Emma,

Great to hear you had a fantastic day climbing Corrán Tuathail. It was lovely to meet you both and it was a pleasure to guide you through the magnificent Reeks. Thank you for the review, it is super to hear what you thought of your day with us.

All the best for the future
Piaras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Corrán Tuathail via Howling Ridge”
Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

I had not climbed in a good few years and was keen to get back into it. Piaras was an excellent guide, most importantly very safe and patient but also with huge amounts of local knowledge and interesting stories. Being sent photos of the day afterwards was a nice touch as well. The climb itself was as advertised; steep, exhilarating and I am still buzzing from it nearly a week later!

I had an excellent experience with KerryClimbing, and would thoroughly recommend them. I will, no doubt, be back for more!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jamie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryClimbing, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hey there Jamie, hope you're keeping well!!!

A BIG thanks for taking the time to leave such a great and positive review, it is greatly appreciated by Catherine and myself and goes a long way to informing others thinking of doing some Kerry Climbing. It was a spectacular and exciting day for sure and boy the weather gods were truly on your side which made the day even MORE special. Really hope that this ascent as reignited your climbing fire and look forward to hooking up with you again in the future for more Corrán Tuathail classics!!!

Many thanks again Jamie for using our services and also for the brilliant review - it is hugely appreciated by Catherine and myself ;-)

Regards
Piaras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
2 reviews
“KerryClimbing guided ascent of Carrauntohill”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Piaras was an outstanding guide whose attention to safety was paramount. He interacted with all participants from the very young to the not so and educated us along the way on the flora, history and geology of the area. A tough day but such an amazing experience under the watchful eye of Piaras. We recommend KerryClimbing and Piaras unreservedly.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KerryClimbing, Owner at KerryClimbing, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hello Anne and lovely to hear from you. Thanks a million for taking the time to leave such a positive and glowing review and helping inform others whom may be planning their own Kerry Climbing Adventure!!! It was a joy to meet you both and such an enjoyable and fun filled day was indeed had by all, myself included :-)

Hopefully you will be back again for more fun and excitement and once again thank you for the wonderful review.

Kind regards
Piaras
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed KerryClimbing also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to KerryClimbing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing