We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short break in Killarney”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Ranked #23 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Longford, Ireland
2 reviews
“Short break in Killarney”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel is a short walk from the town centre, staff at reception were very welcoming and friendly.
Our room was to the front of the hotel facing the main road even with double glazing the road is very busy and noisy.
the room was very clean although there was too much furniture for the size of the room which lead it too feel cramped.
Niall the bar man was very friendly chatty and engaging well with others.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to the back of the hotel if you are not used to traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgcarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    386
    151
    52
    18
See reviews for
195
661
36
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just returned last week from an 8 night stay at this hotel and we had a fabulous time! Upon check in, we were greeted by a lovely young woman in reception (I am sorry, I have forgotten her name). She was so friendly and helpful. Going to our room, we were pleasantly surprised at the size, as a lot of rooms in Europe can be quite small. But this room was large, and the bathroom was also large. It was clean and comfortable. The cleaning staff was friendly and accommodating and never hesitated to help us and get us what we needed. The lobby is quite large and has several seating areas where our group met and spent hours at a time visiting with eachother.

The pub was great and we spent time there every single night. The bar/restaurant manager was very sweet. Our favorite at the pub was Niall. He was always friendly and helpful-you could really tell he takes pride in his work.

We are planning to go back to Killarney some day and we will DEFINITELY stay here again. The price was great, rooms were great, staff was helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

My father and I just returned from a month long European trip and have had time to reflect upon our incredible experience. We toured London, Killarney, Porto, Lisbon, Seville, Barcelona, etc. and have thus stayed in numerous hotels. In particular, the Riverside Hotel in Killarney stuck out. The location was within walking distance of downtown, the room was large, clean, and comfortable, and the staff were extremely friendly. In particular Muireann and Niall were beyond helpful. They helped guide our stay by recommending phenomenal restaurants and things to do. It's staff like them that can help mold a truly memorable trip. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone considering a stay in county Kerry!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CastanhoM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
267 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a hotel I would recommend to my family and friends and defiantly use if I return to Killarney again. The staff were friendly, the hotel and rooms were clean and tidy with quite a few parking spaces available. We (my family) enjoyed a dinner in the bar area, where we found the food to be very tasty. The gentleman behind the bar seemed to be a bit rushed off his feet as he seemed to be working on his own but our wait wasn't too long. We all enjoy a breakfast in the hotel the following morning, a nice selection of foods to chose from to get the day off to a good start.
We had two separate rooms which were both very clean and spacious. One of our bedrooms even had two showers! Beds were also nice and comfortable.
This hotel's location is very good to reach Killarney national park, the Muckross House and Gardens and other landmark areas. If you're driving in Ireland as we did there are also service stations to conveniently fill up driving in both directions of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTrain09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel was a wonderful place to stay on our visit to Killarney. The staff was very friendly and answered any questions that we had. The restaurant provided excellent food and service. When at the restaurant/pub, Niall was a wonderful employee. He was very kind and would give us advise on a good place to go and have a good time in town. Overall, I am very pleased with my stay at Riverside Hotel Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jrnorman2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just back from a two night stay in Killarney. From the moment we checked in until the moment we left we were made feel more than welcome. All the staff were so friendly, especially the receptionist who checked us in, Muireann. She greeted us with a warm smile and was full of knowledge of the area giving us great tips for things to do and places to go. She also spoke Gaeilge which was so wonderful to hear.

The room was lovely, spacious and comfortable and even had a view of the beautiful Kerry scenery. On our first night we dined in the restaurant. The staff here again were wonderful as was the food. Breakfast on both mornings was yummy and there was a great variety.

Killarney and its surrounding area has so much much to offer and I would recommend a weekend there to anyone.

Had a fantastic stay in the Riverside and will definitely be returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryman76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

All that glistens is not gold. This hotel is very pleasantly presented and the staff are charming and helpful .
But yet another hotel cursed with duvets in the middle of summer and double beds that the staff obviously don't test as the bed In my room had a peak in the middle which leaves you clinging to mattress so as not to fall out.
There are many restaurants to choose from in Killarney and I suggest you do not eat in the hotel.The menu reads well but the food is tasteless.
It is disappointing as the staff are excellent.

Room Tip: Check out the beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#20 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.5 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Killarney

Property: Riverside Hotel Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Flesk River, the Killarney Riverside Hotel is a Four star Boutique style hotel located on the Muckross Road (near the INEC), a 10 minute walk from Killarney town centre. Our Bedroom Accommodation is of a 4 star standard with phone, TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee tray, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access and a 24 hour room service menu. The hotel is also a perfect base for golf, fishing, horse riding, touring County Kerry's many scenic attractions and a host of other outdoor activities in Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riverside Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Riverside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing