We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasently surprised- a great weekend!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pleasently surprised- a great weekend!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We stayed in the riverside hotel in Killarney last weekend on a voucher weekend break- two nights b+b with an evening meal for 98euro pps. A great deal and to be honest for that price I didnt expect much but I have to admit I was very pleasently surprised with our stay. The Riverside is located on the Muckross Road out of Killarney (follow the signs for kenmare). It is esentially in the town with a 5 minute walk to the town centre/main street. The hotel has ample parking outside and finding a spot was never an issue. There are limited grounds surrounding the hotel (perhaps one of the only faults I can think off) but with Killarney National Park on the doorstep its hardly a problem!
On arrival the receptionist was very pleasent and friendly offering local information on Killarney if required. The foyer at front is modern, clean and cosy with an open fire. A lovely place to enjoy a pre or post dinner drink while relaxing on the couches or people watching!
The room was good with a large double bed (two mattresses pushed together). The bathroom was clean and bright with a good power and heat available from the shower (very welcome after a long hike!). We had a room overlooking the carpark and road and it was very quiet.
We ate an evening meal in the hotel on the Friday night (included in our rate). It seems there are often deals or set prices on offer as the menu is priced both a la carte and set with added supplements for more expensive choices. We had a drink in the bar before dinner (a locally brewed Irish cider) which we were able to add to our room bill. The food was very high quality with locally sourced ingredients. The service was of very high standard and everyone was very friendly. Our supplement for scallops was overlooked as the scallops we were served were not as big as ususal!!! a very nice gesture!
Breakfast is buffet style for cold foods (cereal, fruit, cold meats and cheeses and breads) and waiter service for cooked breakfast.
Overall it was a lovely weekend stay and I cannot fault this hotel. I would definately recomend to a friend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and thank you for your positive comments. We pride ourselves on the atmosphere in the hotel; we really do want each and every guest to feel as comfortable in the hotel as they would in their own home. The fire is a favourite with our guests who like to laze around the lobby and really does give the place a homely feel.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon for another relaxing experience and thank you for recommending it.

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    388
    152
    52
    18
See reviews for
200
670
37
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Travelling over Southern Ireland as a mature couple and had only booked 1st and last nights stays. Stayed at Dooleys Hotel in Waterford and the Riverside at Killarney is part of the same group so tried there as we had been given a BOGOF voucher by Dooleys Could not use the voucher as they didn't have a room available for the 2nd (free) night. Couldn't fault it. Lovely room, double aspect, clean comfortable and a lovely big bed. Nice bar area with good service and lovely foyer with an open fire and cosy sofas. Excellent breakfast, freshly cooked - and served (everywhere else we stayed was buffet style) to our table. Will certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathryn20092009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and thank you for your positive comments. I will pass your compliments onto all the staff and hopefully we will be welcoming you back to the hotel very soon for more of the same.

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Arrived at this hotel late in the evening, receptionist was very nice and i was pleasently suprised that the interior lobby of the hotel was very modern. We had asked for a room away from the road as we were there for a nights sleep and a break away from the kids!
When we got to the room it was facing the road but the windows seemed to block the noise from any traffic so it was ok and the room was clean. We went to the bar for a drink and we were let down badly. It was grubby and not clean so we sat in the lobby which was comfortable. We had two drinks that were drunk extremely slowly!
We went to our room and got into bed, that was when i realised that the mattress was completely collapsed on my side. It was TERRIBLE. I didnt get any sleep that night, the reason i didnt ask for another room was because it was late and figured that the next room might be the same plus the other half was asleep!
Once he got out of bed in the morning i went to his side which was fine so i got a couple of hours sleep, at 12 the reception rang barking to me that check out was at 12, it was then that i told her about the mattress and she told me that i should have changed rooms and to take our time coming down. When we got to reception there was a differant girl there who i said it to again and she also just said i should have told someone and would i like to speak to the manager. I refused but told her to change the mattress as other people mightn't be as understanding as me!
Overall a good place for a cheap deal but dont expect a nights sleep in room 107.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat21oc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We appreciate any comments that can help us improve the hotel and the overall experience.
I am sorry you didn’t have an enjoyable stay because of the quality of the mattress. We have ordered new mattresses for the hotel and will be checking to see if there are any others in the condition that you described. And thank you for bringing it to our attention.
I am also sorry if you feel like our receptionist was barking at you down the phone. As you mentioned yourself, the receptionist on check in was very nice and we pride ourselves on that standard in our entire reception team. It is company policy after about 12:15pm to ring all guests to inform them of the check out time. This is not to inconvenience a guest and we do provide late check outs if we are given advance notice. Unfortunately we have a check in time of 2pm so we have a limited amount of time to turn over the room.
We hope your experience didn’t put you off returning to the hotel and if you inform me next time you’d like to stay I guarantee you a comfortable night’s sleep.

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a deal from deal rush. Greeted with a friendly smile when we arrived. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants. Hotel was just a short taxi ride from main st. Lovely breakfast each morning,

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aoifemangan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris C, General Manager at Riverside Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
“Lovely hotel, lovely friendly staff”
Reviewed 30 April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
We stayed here on a deal from deal rush. Greeted with a friendly smile when we arrived. Staff very helpful in recommending restaurants. Hotel was just a short taxi ride from main st. Lovely breakfast each morning,

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and thank you for your positive comments. We do a lot of promotions over the course of the year, not only on Deal Rush but also through the hotel so please feel free to call and ask.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Chris Chandler
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I stayed in the hotel in April 2013 on a fantastic 2 night BnB offer which I had purchased as a gift for my other half .The service I recieved on arrival was excellent . Our room was a big double with lots of space , the hotel and the room was very clean modern and comfortable . We had breakfast both morning while on our stay the food was fab and the service was very friendly . We also ate in the bar and we were served by Christy the bar man, a very nice man with excellent customer service skills . I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone . Our stay was very enjoyable all staff in the hotel are very inviting , helpful , friendly and pleasent to deal with . We will be back to stay again very soon .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I love the reception area it is spacious and very cosy, lovely open fire which is very welcoming
Very clean
Staff very helpful and friendly
Breakfast made to order which was excellent and very enjoyable
Will be bsck , great value

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Muckros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was a most enjoyable two days in Killarney, thanks to the staff in the hotel and the expertise of the chef. The atmosphere was warm and welcoming and certainly warrents another visit soon. The value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank VeeMee15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,125 reviews
0.6 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.5 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#11 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel Killarney

Property: Riverside Hotel Killarney
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Killarney
#9 Spa Hotel in Killarney
#18 Family Hotel in Killarney
#21 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#22 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel Killarney 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to the Flesk River, the Killarney Riverside Hotel is a Four star Boutique style hotel located on the Muckross Road (near the INEC), a 10 minute walk from Killarney town centre. Our Bedroom Accommodation is of a 4 star standard with phone, TV, hairdryer, tea/coffee tray, complimentary Wi-Fi internet access and a 24 hour room service menu. The hotel is also a perfect base for golf, fishing, horse riding, touring County Kerry's many scenic attractions and a host of other outdoor activities in Kerry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riverside Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Riverside Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing