We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Break :-)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Killarney Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
County Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Weekend Break :-)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here on a night away as we got a good deal including dinner and breakfast. Beautiful hotel, had been here previously at a wedding and had a great day and decided to return to stay the night. Rooms are lovely and modern with all the usual amenities. Very comfy bed. Had dinner in the bar as there was a wedding on that day in the hotel and the restaurant was closed so ate outside as the weather was nice. Lovely meal. Staff at reception were lovely and all except one staff member in the bar were very nice and friendly. The only downside was a staff member entering our room abruptly to leave a flyer at an inopportune time however it didnt bother us too much. Really enjoyed our stay here otherwise and it's the perfect base to explore and enjoy Killarney :)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaunagh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Dear Shaunagh B

Thank you for your lovely review of The Killarney Oaks Hotel. I'm glad that we made such an impression on you at the wedding you attended that you had to return. I'm surprised that the restaurant was closed due to a wedding in the other rooms because it is quite busy at this time of year so we may have been fully booked, Thank you for bringing this to my attention.
I apologise if you were disturbed by a member of staff delivering a special offer voucher to your room. We reward our guests at different times throughout the year with promotional offers fro discounted stays as a little thank you for choosing us. I hope that you will avail of the voucher in the future and we would be delighted to welcome you back.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    72
    23
    20
    23
See reviews for
77
116
7
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
cork
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Attended family wedding at Killarney Oaks. Wonderful reception area and the meal was fabulous. Staff were very attentive throughout the meal. Stayed in the hotel that night and slept peacefully. Beds were very comfortable and it was lovely and quiet. No noise from lifts or other guests which was a delight for me. Breakfast the following morning: Great variety on offer. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Stayed on the ground floor. All I know is that I couldn't hear any lifts which gave me a great n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 234marley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear 234marley

I would like to thank you for reviewing your recent wedding experience at The Killarney Oaks. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, from a fantastic meal to a great night's sleep in our deluxe bedrooms. We pride ourselves on our customer service, high quality of food and modern décor. I would be delighted to welcome you back to The Killarney Oaks on your next visit to Killarney.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The hotel was quite normal, no romantic, no stylist. Staff was a bit rude, not helpful and when we complaint about that the WIFI didn't work, they didn't care. They said it was internet in common areas. We paid for an internet service that we didn't have.
Inelegant hotel, impersonal and dull decoration.
Poor breakfast for this size of hotel.
Big room and new bathroom. Small bath towels. Clean.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear Elena B

Thank you for choosing The Killarney Oaks Hotel for your recent trip to Kerry. I am more than a bit surprised that you consider the hotel "normal" as we are continuously complimented on our décor, service & food. I am surprised to hear that you had paid for Wifi as we do not charge for WiFi throughout the hotel and only common areas need a code, maybe this is the reason you could not connect. I strive to ensure that our WiFi is up and running all of the time as in this day and age nearly all of us rely on technology.

We commonly get praised for our fantastic breakfast choice and quality.
Our extensive buffet consists of:
Fresh fruit including pineapple, grapefruit segments, pear halves and a fresh fruit mix.
Choice of yogurts.
An array of cereal choices (6 in total).
Freshly made pancakes with a choice of peanut butter and nutella as well as syrups.
Selection of freshly baked breakfast pastries and croissants.
Traditional Irish Soda Bread, freshly baked white and brown bread (Toast)
Sausages, Bacon, black & white pudding, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes.
Our egg selection includes fried, scrambled, poached as well as omelettes.
This is accompanied with fruit juices, choice of 8 different tea varieties and 5 coffee selections as well as hot chocolate.

If you had any suggestions on how to improve our breakfast we would very much have appreciated it.

Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Hi all At the weekend it was my brother wedding and my family and I stayed in the Killarney Oaks hotel for the wedding. When we arrived at the hotel the staff were very welcome us for the weddding. The Killarney Oaks was a lovely place to stay for the wedding. During the dinner at the wedding the staff came around to each table to see how the dinner was and that people had plenty to eat. On the Sunday morning when I left the hotel we had a great breakfast ready for us. I hope to visit the Killarney Oaks Hotel again soon

Room Tip: The room we stayed in was nice and quiet in
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Paula Mary M

Thank you for your review of your recent family wedding. We strive to make each guests stay with us a memorable one from the first "Hello" to the very last "Goodbye". We pride ourselves on the high standard of food and service that we offer and I am delighted that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay. We would be happy to welcome you back for your next visit to Killarney.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We had our wedding in the Killarney Oaks in June 2014 and the service we got was excellent.
From the outset Billy was extremely accommodating. He explained all of our options for the day and helped us each step of the way and went so far as to organise a wedding car.
The day itself was fantastic, we got the real VIP treatment from all the staff.
The food for the reception dinner was amazing with each course coming out like clockwork. The rooms were lovely and very reasonably priced. All of our family & friends thought the food and service was outstanding and have said they would stay here again the next time they are in Killarney. We can't thank the Killarney Oaks enough for making our day so memorable.

Aoife & Dan

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Dan M

We are delighted to have had the opportunity to be involved in your special day and to ensure that your wedding experience was a memorable one. You are a lovely couple and we wish you every happiness for your future together. You will always receive a huge welcome here at The Killarney Oaks.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the killarney oaks for one night and by and large it was ok at a reasonable price for killarney. Room was ok apart from a notice in the bathroom warning you basically not to take the towels or will you be charged which I found insulting, had the dinner in the bar which was very good, breakfast was tasty also. Wifi worked very well

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank brendan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Brendan C

Thank you for choosing The Killarney oaks Hotel for your recent stay in Killarney. I am disappointed that you only found your stay to be "ok" as we pride ourselves on our attention to detail and the high standard of food and service that we provide.
I apologise if you offended by our towel pricing in the bedrooms. Unfortunately some people enjoy using our towels so much that they take them home from time to time and the notice is just a gentle reminder to such guests that towels are not included in the accommodation rate and they must pay extra for such a luxury.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding our extensive breakfast options and also the speed and availability of our complimentary WiFi service. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to The Killarney Oaks on your next visit to our beautiful town.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel and were very disappointed with the overall experience! Firstly we arrived to our room which was located beside the laundry room! The view outside our room was a shabby high wall!glancing around the room, our eyes were drawn to a notice informing us that our room was a non smoking one and if we decided to smoke we would have to pay 150 euro to foot the cleaning bill!on entering the bathroom we were met with yet another sign informing us that if towels happened to go missing,our credit card would be charged accordingly!this set a very negative tone for a nice relaxing break!supplies in the room were extremely skimpy,eg an empty soap dispenser, none of the usual toiletries provided apart from two lonely shower cap boxes on the bathroom shelf!!the staff also failed to impress! We generally found them to be quite inexperienced,most of whom seemed to be lacking in basic hospitality!on both mornings we were awakened to the sound of very noisy staff bellowing in the corridor from early morning!in addition to this our 'do not disturb' sign was ignored by a member of staff who entered our room!there was no hot water in either the basin or shower by 11 am!there was no wifi available to us for most of the weekend and was clearly only turned on when requested! We were very disappointed with the standard of this hotel and would find it very difficult to say something positive from our experience.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank BerOC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#18 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#36 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 stars 289 reviews
1.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 1,296 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 stars 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Oaks Hotel

Property: Killarney Oaks Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Killarney Oaks Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Killarney Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing