We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$207
$200
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,128
$223
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Lake Hotel(Killarney)
$212
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$258
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Fairview(Killarney)(Great Value!)
$167
$162
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$324
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Brehon(Killarney)
$213
$206
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gleneagle Hotel(Killarney)
$174
$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$392
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Randles Hotel(Killarney)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveler rating
282
106
33
24
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
282
106
33
24
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswedding venuefunction roomwedding receptionbar foodwonderful weddingpancake machinetop classbridal suitedrinks receptionfrom start to finishmuckross roadfollowing morningreception arealovely hotelwould highly recommend this hotelweekend breakstayed one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
372 - 377 of 473 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Me and my husband recently stayed in the Killarney Oaks Hotel for a weekend. After travelling 3 and a half hours to get there, our check in was very quick and the receptionist was lovely. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The decor was great for a 3 star hotel, a lot nicer than what you would expect. We then went to the bar for something to eat. Even though it was busy and there was a wedding on, the service we receives was second to none. After a lovely meal, we stayed in the bar. The staff were very polite and talkative. We didn't know much about the area but Paul gave us some great info about what to do and see nearby. We spent 2 nights here and I am looking forward to returning. Great staff, a lovely atmosphere and fantastic food made our trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmmaO552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear EmmaO552

Thank you for your recent review of The Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are pleased that on arrival you were impressed by our decor and that our customer service throughout the hotel also impressed you also. We strive to give all of our guests a warm welcome and exceptional service with a little bit of a personel touch.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I recently stayed here for a long weekend with my wife. A breath taking foyer awaits as does a warm welcome. I found the hotel staff to be very obliging and professional. The rooms are spotless, comfortable, with all mod cons and has a very warm feeling to it. The breakfast service was second to none with a fantastic buffet selection. We ate in the bar one night and again service and food was beautiful(steak cooked to perfection). We stayed in the bar for drinks after dinner as the atmosphere was both relaxing and enjoyable. Bar staff were brilliant and very friendly. Will definitely return in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gavino133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear gavino133

Thank you for your recent review and kind comments regarding our breathtaking lobby area. We are delighted to hear your comments about our bedrooms and breakfast as we have put a sizeable effort into staff training and customer service and we never tire of reassurance. The Acorn Bar is home to weary guests and local characters alike, and after a locally sourced steak or freshly caught seafood people often like to relax with a glass of wine or beer and partake in a traditional sing song or friendly a chat with one of our many local patrons.
We would be delighted to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We were in Killarney, Co. Kerry for 4 days - 5th to 8th April 2013 for a family wedding. We stayed for 3 nights in the Killarney Oaks as part of the wedding package as our neice's wedding reception was also in this hotel. We found the rooms to be very clean and roomy and suitable to our needs and the breakfasts were very good and a great start to the day. The hotel is very close to Killarney town centre and as we had brought the car with us, parking was free and the surrounding tourists very accessible from the hotel. The staff were very hospitable and catered to our needs as and when required. If we were holidaying in this area of Ireland again, we would use this hotel for our accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigJim1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear BigJim1888

Thank you for taking the time to review The Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are delighted to hear that your accommodation and breakfast were to a high standard. The free car parking which we offer to all of our customers is indeed an added bonus as we are close to Killarney town and also Killarney National park so it an ideal base.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My wife and I recently attended a wedding here and also decided to stay for the weekend. The accommodation was clean, extremely comfortable with a nice modern/fresh feel to it. The highlight of the weekend was the wedding reception. The meal was outstanding... I had the rack of lamb and my wife had the monk fish and both were exceptional. The service was very efficient/fast and friendly. Throughout the meal the staff repeatedly checked to see if everything was ok for our table. After the meal and the speeches etc. the place really came to life and everyone enjoyed themselves. The bar staff for the evening were excellent and at no time did anybody appear to be waiting for long periods at the bar. A thoroughly enjoyable experience we cannot wait to return and will do so in the very near future.

Room Tip: If you are attending a wedding mention this when booking as there sometimes are reduced B & B rates for wedding guests.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HOD1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Dear HOD1980

Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted that you and your wife had an enjoyable experience during your stay at The Killarney Oaks. In particular we pride ourselves on our standard of quality food and service. All of our ingredients are sourced locally and the Kerry rack of lamb is especially popular at this time of year.
I'm also glad that you noticed our bar staff during our stay as we are delighted to have a professonal team of both food and beverage staff at our disposal.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Killarney Oaks Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

attended weddind, food was cold and barely edible when it was finally served after a very long waiting time!! Service very sloppy! The place lives up to the very forst impression one receives from its exterior, shabby and a pathetic excuse for a venue for any occasion.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
6  Thank Emma P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, General Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 6, 2013

Dear Tripadvisor Viewers,
This is a false and inaccurate review of The Killarney Oaks Hotel, Killarney's Premier Wedding Venue.
I am baffled as why a person would wait for nearly seven months to write such an appauling review. We have tried to contact Emma P to query the review and to clarify which wedding she attended, but we still have not received a reply. as we keep a thorough service timing sheet for each wedding and cannot find any service discrepancies. For these reasons we believe that this is a fraudulant review.

The following are just a small selection of our wedding reviews on Tripadvisor:
“Couldn't ask for better!”
“Best stay ever”
“So good!”
“They made our wedding the most specail day of our lives next to the birth of our daughter”
“New Years Eve.”
“Wedding Wow”
“Loved it will be back”

If you would like to read the full reviews as referenced above you will get a true reflection of our bespoke wedding service.

Kind Regards
Richard Halpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews