We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel good food and friendly staff.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Oaks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice hotel good food and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Good hotel just a bit away from the centre of the town but otherwise the hotel is grand. We had a family room and had no complaints. It could do with leisure centre but We knew this before we booked it.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boydie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi boydie77,

thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the family room comfortable. All our rooms have a double and single bed and some have a pull out double sofa bed so we can comfortable accommodate families.

The Killarney Oaks Hotel is located about 2 km from Killarney town centre and there is a very scenic walk into town which would take about 20 minutes. Facing the hotel is the National Park with 25,000 acres of walks along the lake and as far as Torc Waterfall. For any guests who wish to use a leisure centre the Killarney Sports and Leisure Centre offers excellent value for money and is easily accessible to families.

We hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back again

kind regards

Richard Halpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    87
    28
    22
    27
See reviews for
108
144
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here as we were going to a concert at the INEC. It is within walking distance to the INEC but it is a good bit out from the town centre. As it was a busy night we waitied for over an hour to get a taxi into town we would have walked it in that time. When we arrived we ate in the bar. I was disappointed with the food it was distinctly average. One of the girls had garlic mushrooms & it was exactly what you would get from the frozen food aisle in a supermarket. Overall though the rooms were nice & we got a good nights sleep. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Hi Trish978

thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are so pleased you have a good overnight and enjoyed your sleep. The Killarney Oaks is very well located for any guests who wish to attend one of the many concerts in the INEC. As you mention, we are just a short walk away. However, it would be about a 20 minute walk to the centre of Killarney. On the night in question, with a packed concert venue, it did take a little longer to get a taxi unfortunately but we do offer a complimentary telephone line direct to the Taxi company and they generally are with us in a few minutes.

We were disappointed with your comments on our Bar food. We have recently upgraded our Bar menu offering a wider selection of snack options and have received very positive comments on the changes. However, we will take your comments on board and thank you for your comments.

If you are in Killarney again, you can be sure of a warm welcome at the Killarney Oaks.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

My wiffe and I just spent 2 nights in this hotel and it was excellent value.
The food was very good and presented excellently. The room was nice but there were a couple of small items that need attention. I think the maintenance man should do a little more. The staff were nice and friendly.
It's a little out of the town but we walked into the town for a few drinks and got a taxi back which was reasonable.
We would definately consider staying at this hotel again on our next visit to Killarney.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi Alan G,

thanks for taking the time to review your stay at the Killarney Oaks Hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and found the whole experience to be excellent value for money. Your comments about the food are very valued as we have introduced a new menu and are delighted to know that we have indeed made the right decision about the changes we made. We have noted your comments about the maintenance men. We will take your comments on board.

You can be assured that you will receive a warm welcome on your return to us,

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in this hotel bed/breakfast and evening meal in our deal which was excellent value,food was lovely,rooms nice, staff nice and friendly the only thing this hotel needs is air condition in the bedrooms, would return again...

Room Tip: "nice quiet hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi 48Eileen,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate all your positive comments about the rooms, food and service. We have invested heavily in the training of our staff and are delighted to receive your comment on their friendliness. As all our bedrooms have windows that open we do not have an air conditioning system.

We are delighted you would return to us again and look forward to welcoming you back

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

spent three nights on a bed,breakfast - evening meal deal.
meals were fantastic - choice and quality in a spotless and comfortable setting.
Rooms and furnishings good, Bar and restaurant staff friendly and polite
Only downside were the rude, uninterested reception staff but once checked in did not have to deal with them again!!!

Room Tip: back of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi ann e,

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, I believe I met you during your stay. I am pleased you found the hotel and the rooms to be so clean and comfortable. We have spent a lot of time and effort on maintaining the quality of our property so that we meet our guests high standards. We are well known for the quality of our food and happy to note that you enjoyed your meals with us. Our Bar staff are very popular with guests and thank you for mentioning them in your comments.

It was unfortunate that your experience at the Front Desk was less than you expected. However, we have taken your comments on board and are reviewing our procedures to ensure this does not occur again.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Killarney Oaks and we hope we may do so again,

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went for a family lunch to the killarney oaks. We ordered bacon and cabbage and it was simply the most brutal attempt i have ever seen. The bacon was like two thick rashers and the cabbage consisted of two small leaves. When we complained the manager didnt seem interested and the waitress gave us look that could kill and turned very sour and nasty for the remainder of our stay. Def wont be returning there ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Good afternoon James C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in the Killarney Oaks Hotel. You brought your family to the Killarney Oaks Hotel to sample our Quick Menu which offers a set menu of Main Course and Tea/Coffer for just 10 Euro. We are the most popular Lunch destination in Killarney and offer excellent value for money which is proved by the sheer volume of business that passes through our doors. We do offer an alternative Lunch Menu for those who wish to sample a wider selection.

On this occasion, our offering was not to your liking and although we offered an alternative from the Main Menu you refused to either discuss or accept an alternative. I, as Manager, tried to reason with you but to no avail. What else could I do!!

We thank you for taking the time to visit the Killarney Oaks,

regards

Richard Halpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recently attended a wedding at this hotel. From the outside, it looks very small, however, once you enter the hotel, there is a very large modern reception area. Friendly staff. The wedding venue (seperate room) was beautiful. The food was the nicest I had in a long time (and Im a fussy eater). Stayed the night, the rooms were average nothing special, the bathroom needed updating. Breakfast in the morning was fine, it was self service from cereals to grills, also have to make your own tea and toast. Check out was 12.00 - went to have shower at 11.30am and the water was freezing.It is a long distance from the town of Killarney so you would have to drive or get taxi if staying for holiday.
Not sure if I would stay there again but would def recommend it as a wedding venue. (Haven't spoken to the bride and groom since but Im sure they had a nicer room and hot water!)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSR186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi MSR186605

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of our Wedding Venue. Your comments about the Oak Suite and the food are highly valued. We are Killarney's premier Wedding Venue and pride ourselves on the quality of fittings in the Wedding suite and the attention we give to the preparation of the Wedding Menu and the service of the food. We are a Guaranteed Irish hotel and ensure we use locally sourced produce for all our menus.

Our location is ideal for a Wedding. We are just on the edge of Killarney town and have a magnificent view of Sheehy/Tomie mountains. Just a few minutes stroll and you enter the National Park and can walk by the Lower Lake. However, it is just a 20 minute walk to Killarney Town Centre and taxi's are reasonable. We offer lots of complimentary parking for our guests.

We were sorry to hear that the water went cool when you went for your shower. We have two tanks for water but with almost 150 persons showering at 11 am even we had difficulties ensuring a steady stream of hot water.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Killarney Oaks on your next visit to town.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.8 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Torc Hotel
Torc Hotel
#37 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#12 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Oaks Hotel

Property: Killarney Oaks Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotel.de, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Killarney Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing