We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"lovely hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Sligo, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“"lovely hotel"”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Just spent 3 nights in this hotel bed/breakfast and evening meal in our deal which was excellent value,food was lovely,rooms nice, staff nice and friendly the only thing this hotel needs is air condition in the bedrooms, would return again...

Room Tip: "nice quiet hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48eileen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi 48Eileen,

thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. We appreciate all your positive comments about the rooms, food and service. We have invested heavily in the training of our staff and are delighted to receive your comment on their friendliness. As all our bedrooms have windows that open we do not have an air conditioning system.

We are delighted you would return to us again and look forward to welcoming you back

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    91
    29
    22
    28
See reviews for
113
153
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

spent three nights on a bed,breakfast - evening meal deal.
meals were fantastic - choice and quality in a spotless and comfortable setting.
Rooms and furnishings good, Bar and restaurant staff friendly and polite
Only downside were the rude, uninterested reception staff but once checked in did not have to deal with them again!!!

Room Tip: back of hotel is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Hi ann e,

I am so delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed, I believe I met you during your stay. I am pleased you found the hotel and the rooms to be so clean and comfortable. We have spent a lot of time and effort on maintaining the quality of our property so that we meet our guests high standards. We are well known for the quality of our food and happy to note that you enjoyed your meals with us. Our Bar staff are very popular with guests and thank you for mentioning them in your comments.

It was unfortunate that your experience at the Front Desk was less than you expected. However, we have taken your comments on board and are reviewing our procedures to ensure this does not occur again.

It was our pleasure to welcome you to the Killarney Oaks and we hope we may do so again,

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We went for a family lunch to the killarney oaks. We ordered bacon and cabbage and it was simply the most brutal attempt i have ever seen. The bacon was like two thick rashers and the cabbage consisted of two small leaves. When we complained the manager didnt seem interested and the waitress gave us look that could kill and turned very sour and nasty for the remainder of our stay. Def wont be returning there ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Good afternoon James C

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience in the Killarney Oaks Hotel. You brought your family to the Killarney Oaks Hotel to sample our Quick Menu which offers a set menu of Main Course and Tea/Coffer for just 10 Euro. We are the most popular Lunch destination in Killarney and offer excellent value for money which is proved by the sheer volume of business that passes through our doors. We do offer an alternative Lunch Menu for those who wish to sample a wider selection.

On this occasion, our offering was not to your liking and although we offered an alternative from the Main Menu you refused to either discuss or accept an alternative. I, as Manager, tried to reason with you but to no avail. What else could I do!!

We thank you for taking the time to visit the Killarney Oaks,

regards

Richard Halpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
127 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Recently attended a wedding at this hotel. From the outside, it looks very small, however, once you enter the hotel, there is a very large modern reception area. Friendly staff. The wedding venue (seperate room) was beautiful. The food was the nicest I had in a long time (and Im a fussy eater). Stayed the night, the rooms were average nothing special, the bathroom needed updating. Breakfast in the morning was fine, it was self service from cereals to grills, also have to make your own tea and toast. Check out was 12.00 - went to have shower at 11.30am and the water was freezing.It is a long distance from the town of Killarney so you would have to drive or get taxi if staying for holiday.
Not sure if I would stay there again but would def recommend it as a wedding venue. (Haven't spoken to the bride and groom since but Im sure they had a nicer room and hot water!)

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MSR186605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi MSR186605

Thank you for taking the time to review your experience of our Wedding Venue. Your comments about the Oak Suite and the food are highly valued. We are Killarney's premier Wedding Venue and pride ourselves on the quality of fittings in the Wedding suite and the attention we give to the preparation of the Wedding Menu and the service of the food. We are a Guaranteed Irish hotel and ensure we use locally sourced produce for all our menus.

Our location is ideal for a Wedding. We are just on the edge of Killarney town and have a magnificent view of Sheehy/Tomie mountains. Just a few minutes stroll and you enter the National Park and can walk by the Lower Lake. However, it is just a 20 minute walk to Killarney Town Centre and taxi's are reasonable. We offer lots of complimentary parking for our guests.

We were sorry to hear that the water went cool when you went for your shower. We have two tanks for water but with almost 150 persons showering at 11 am even we had difficulties ensuring a steady stream of hot water.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the Killarney Oaks on your next visit to town.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Ate in the bar here a while back and I have to say the food was absolutely gorgeous and plenty of it too! Didn't stay here so cant comment on the accomodation but we all agreed the food was top class and reasonably priced.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank DublinGenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RichHalpin, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2012
Hi DublinGenie,

Thank you so much for your very positive endorsement of your visit to our Acorn Bar for lunch. Delighted you enjoyed the food. Our new menu has proved a big hit with our guests and it offers guests a selection of healthy and filling options. Yes, we agree, great value for money.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Acorn Bar in the not too distant future.

kind regards

Richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork. Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great value food in the bar of this hotel with a very good menu. Lovely friendly staff with very prompt service. Very family friendly.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank ewerbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Killarney Oaks Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hi ewerbill

Thank you for your most favourable review. We have recently introduced a new Bar Menu and and a Quick Menu which allows our guests to choose their food according to time restrictions. The Quick Menu will ensure you have your order in 10 minutes at a cost of 10Euro. This is very popular with local business people. Our New Bar Menu offers a wide selection for the leisure traveller and this has taken off very well. This is most popular in the evenings or at Weekends. We are investing in our staff on a continual basis and our focus is on a warm welcome and a friendly service.

Thank you for reassuring us we are on the right track.

with best regards

Richard Halpin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Please note I didn't stay here but my wife and I ate here. The waiting time was truly dreadful the staff seemed disinterested even other people were shaking their heads in dismay. My wife complained at the bar but it didn't seem to bother the staff in the slightest. What made matters worse is that we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and the staff managed to ruin the evening. I will not be recommending anyone to eat here.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.4 mi away
Victoria House Hotel
Victoria House Hotel
#7 of 38 in Killarney
492 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 38 in Killarney
377 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Oaks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Oaks Hotel

Property: Killarney Oaks Hotel
Address: Muckross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Oaks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotel.de so you can book your Killarney Oaks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing