We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ross Castle Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Killarney
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ross Castle Lodge
Ranked #29 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

Beautiful, clean rooms, exceptionally kind and helpful hosts and breakfasts to die for!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thorneymonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
41
92
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Rosaleen and Denis make you extremely welcome and are a mine of useful local information. We had a misunderstanding in the number of rooms which we had booked and they had reserved for us. As the mistake was primarily ours, we tried to pay at least part of the second reservation (staying three days) which they refused. We insisted. On our third day prior to our departure, Rosaleen refunded the extra we had paid.
Plenty of parking and nice and quiet yet close to all the many attractions.
Breakfast was plentiful with a good variety.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StewLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Alabama
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012

our 5 days at ross castle lodge was a lesson in how a b&b should operate. rosaleen and denis were very gracious and helpful with any and every request. their knowledge of kerry county and southern ireland made our time spent most enjoyable.

the accommodations were the best of the 4 places we stayed while on a 2 week trip to scotland and ireland. the room was well appointed, roomy, clean, and peacefully quiet. breakfast consisted of a variety of cereals, breads and fruits, plus one of five full breakfast plates that you order the night before. all were prepared fresh and very good.

though we walked to town 4 or 5 times, it's not a short walk. but it's a beautiful and pleasant walk, through the killarney national park, whose entrance is directly across from the b&b. (you can walk the street into town, but i does not save any time and is not nearly as enjoyable.) but the distance from town helps contribute to the peace and quiet of the b&b. if you prefer, you can easily drive and park in town in 10 minutes or less.

all and all, ross castle lodge proved to be an excellent choice for you ireland vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clydeadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

The owners give you a very warm welcome and will do everything to make you feel comfortable. Rooms are nice and very clean, breakfast is excellent with a lovely view of the garden. The B&B is nicely situated just across the street from the beautiful National Park, and a 25 min walk from Killarney. Tour busses will stop outside for those who don't have a car. If you arrive by train make sure to let the owners know they will pick you up. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Random68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenton, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed there for two nights May 30, 31, 2012. My daughter had her own room. She experienced a reaction to something in the room, scratchy throat, burning, watery eyes, shortness of breath. She told the owner, who initially was going to provide another (owner's private room) for her but at the last minute changed her mind and said she could stay in our room and the owner would be happy to cancel our reservation for the next day. The owner was rather cold and acted like she doubted my daughter's claim. The next night my husband offered to stay in the room my daughter had tried to stay in. Next morning he'd had the same experience. We relayed this to the owner who just shrugged and said it was probably the tile work that was recently done there. The breakfast was miserly per our wonderful experience at the other bed and breakfasts and the owner did not make us feel welcome. The house is cute and the rooms are spacious. However, we would not stay here again and would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank April J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Ross Castle Lodge, responded to this review, June 9, 2012
We are sorry to hear the family did not enjoy their stay here. Their daughter was a few weeks pregnant and complained of sickness the first night. Initially we offered her a private room to see if she would improve . (All our rooms were booked out.) On reflection we realised this would not be in keeping with Tourist Board policy which unfortunately we failed to explain to her. She willingly shared a triple room with her parents that night.
We offered to cancel their reservation for the next night without charge. However, the family said they wished to stay on here.
We tried to be as accommodating as we could but we are sad to see the family felt otherwise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I had so looked forward to staying here and it was wonderful. The room was charming with beautiful decor, the breakfast options delightful (I enjoyed the smoked salmon) and the setting was very pretty. The hydrangea out front was amazing; I highly enjoyed the walk through the park to town. The park is not lit at night, so walking back after dinner I went the road way, which was not too bad. The other guests at breakfast were very pleasant and even gave me a ride to the jaunting cart spot from which I enjoyed the ride to Muckross House. I should have driven myself because it was rather far and I had to get a taxi back, but who doesn't get a little carried away with optimism on vacation? I have taken awhile to write this, I think because I didn't want to acknowledge to myself that the trip was over and I was back to "the real world". I would love to have the chance to visit Killarney and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

Loved the place, the hosts, the rooms, the breakfast! If I had an Irish girlfriend, most likely this would be how it looks like at my mother-in-law's. We had a doubt if the location would be to far from the city center, but absolutely not - a walk to the town was only 15 minutes. During our three night stay we got the best sleep for ages, the beds are comfortable and there is no sound of traffic whatsoever.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPyy_76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.5 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#28 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
2.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#16 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
1.0 mi away
Algret House Bed and Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Sika Lodge B & B
Sika Lodge B & B
#14 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ross Castle Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ross Castle Lodge

Property: Ross Castle Lodge
Address: Ross Castle Lodge Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star B&B set on the edge of Killarney town amidst magical woodland and lakeshore walks. Only 600 meters from famous Ross Castle on beautiful Lough Leane and opposite the entrance to Killarney National Park. Our newly decorated bedrooms are elegant and spacious with all essential facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ross Castle Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing