We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice!”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #10 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2010

We stayed here for a weekend on a 2 night package that included one dinner. The staff are lovely, very personable and we had a lovely weekend! The only downside was that we were charged for our inclusive dinner on checkout. Once we pointed this out to the recptionist she rectified the issue but I felt like I was haggling in front of a queue. This is only a small thing after a lovely weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duchas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2010

Dear Duchas,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. It was great to hear your pleasant comments about our team, we at Killarney Royal pride ourselves on guest satisfaction. However we are very sorry about the mix up upon checkout this should not have happened. The receptionist misread your details and our apologies for the embarrassment caused. We look forward to you returning to Killarney Royal in the future and please contact me directly so that I can personally oversee your return visit.
Kind Regards,
Brian Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
There are newer reviews for Killarney Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 987 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2010

We stayed here for three nights. The room was very large and clean. The hotel breakfast was great but not so impressed with the dinner. Staff was welcoming and helpful. Would definately stay here again!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine20102011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Operations Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2010

Dear Sunshine20102011,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your feedback regarding your evening meal, should you wish to discuss the matter in further detail please do not hesitate to contact me.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal.

Kind Regards,
Brian Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

Very much enjoyed our stay here. Great location and lovely room. Was hoping we'd get a better deal, but still good value. The breakfast was excellent

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galwayboy37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

We had a lovely experience at this hotel - the staff looked after us really well and the hotel was super quality. We got a really good 2 night deal with dinner over Easter weekend. The room was massive with a very comfy bed and decorated beautifully. There was a really nice relaxing feel to the whole place and quite old world but in no way shabby. The staff were great - very friendly and helpful. The only small negatives (and it didn't bother us in any way) was you had to use the public car park accross the road, there was no swimming pool and no great views - but it really didn't bother us and the many many high point made up for it!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkavanagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2010

Stayed 1 night in this lovely hotel. We really enjoyed our stay here and will definitely come back and stay again.

We travelled to Killarney by train and the hotel is only a 2/3 minute walk from the train station which is very handy. The welcome on arrival was very friendly but not over the top or fake which I liked. The room was a lot more traditional than a lot of hotels but it was huge, had a very cosy bed and eveything we needed. This hotel still uses proper room keys instead of key cards but you can leave you key at reception when going out and about.

We ate in the bar twice during our stay and the food was delicious and the service was brilliant.

Breakfast was also delicious. you had the option of a number of cooked breakfasts (full Irish, Pancakes, eggs etc) and there was also the usual lay out of cereals, pastries, cold meats, cheeses, juice etc.

Overall I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elainos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2010

From the moment of arrival we were so impressed by the attractive ambience and the warm, friendly atmosphere that characterised the hotel. All areas of the hotel have a delightful blend of old-style character and up-to-the-minute amenities. The bedrooms are spacious and beautifully maintained. The quality of food and of service in rooms, bar and restaurants is consistently prompt and efficient. Despite its ultra-convenient location, right in the heart of Killarney, a quiet, restful atmosphere permeates all areas of the hotel. While every aspect of the hotel is of the highest quality, the one thing that stands out particularly is the friendly, helpful attitude of every member of staff with whom we had contact. Our experience in the Royal was so pleasant that we decided to extend our break - and we look forward to returning often!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanttocomeagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The hotel was charming, and the staff was helpful. The lounge area is gorgeous: nice views of the town, fireplace, and plush chairs. It was a nice hotel, but it could have been cleaner. The dishes in the breakfast room were dirty. Also, the room should have been cleaned better-- the carpets were dirty. But the overall experience was very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeilaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 39 in Killarney
2,233 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#2 of 39 in Killarney
1,423 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
2,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 39 in Killarney
2,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
923 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $142 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing