We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Stay last week and had a wonderful experience. Beautiful hotel, decor is older but VERY clean. Very comfortable bed and extremely helpful staff. They called our tour bus to make sure it was on the way and held our bags all day. 5 minute walk to the train station, we arrived late at night and the center town is right by the train staton, very safe to walk. Would love to stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Lauren M

Thank you ever so much for such a sparkling review on your stay at the Royal Hotel.
It was a delight to read from start to finish.
I am glad to hear you enjoyed all aspects of your stay.

The best part of the review was reading that you will be back and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Regards
Heather & all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    158
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
216
432
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

The hotel was totally booked out so we only managed to stay one night.
This is a very homely hotel with friendly helpful staff. Our waitress Nancy was just so lovely.
We had very comfortable rooms.
Breakfast was hot --- we were advised of same but maybe it was a little too hot as one member of our party found out..
The location was wonderful as the public car park at the rear of hotel meant we did not have to face the great traffic jams on the streets.
We will return

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philjos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear Philjos1

Firstly let me thank you for your review on trip advisor. It was a delight to read
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the ambiance of the Hotel.

We are blessed to be in the center of Killarney town and to have a car park near by for our guest. Sure where else in the world would you get parking for 24hours for €3.00.
The best part of the review was reading that you will be back.

We look forward to welcoming you through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel very soon.

Regards
Heather & all the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

This was one of our hotels on an 8-day trip to Ireland with eleven family members. The trip was marvelously arranged through Maloney and Kelly Travel. All of the accommodations were much more luxurious than we would usually choose, but given the group price each was a very worthwhile splurge. My only regret is that I don’t have a typical price or best possible price to quote but since this was high season, the best internet rate is probably correct. We travelled in a 12-person coach with our private driver and guide Donal Scannell (donal@chauffeuredtoursireland.com), who was a wonderful guide and a lovely and charming person. It was truly a trip of a lifetime.
The hotel building is unimpressive with an unassuming facade on a regular city street near the incredibly cute town center. We arrived by tour bus but for car drivers there were no obvious parking options although some garages nearby. Entry was into an warm lobby with an old fashioned desk, which is staffed 24 hrs/day. We knew we were in for a treat right away since the reception staff were such lovely friendly people, which always reflects good management and capable people who want to help. There was also a welcoming bar and restaurant on the premises with very acceptable prices. The rooms were the best we had experienced so far on our trip. They were extremely large and often split like a suite into 2 areas separated by a 1-2 step vertical divider. Decorations were lavish and very old-fashioned but lovely. The furnishings had sumptuous touches like ornate curtains, crown molding, baseboards, carved tables, lace-covered chairs, wood-framed mirrors, decoratively framed art works (mostly flowers), and brass floor and desk lamps with patterned light shades. There was a gorgeous old-fashioned but large, real wood armoire with nice wooden hangers. Some rooms had little golf putting cups complete with ball and putter. Ours had a pants pressing device that could also be used as an ironing board. There were also very welcome modern touches like a flat screen TV and remotely controlled AC that functioned beautifully. The hotel was across the street from an amusement park, but the excellent modern windows, dense curtains and AC made it inaudible and invisible. Some rooms had only the next door building wall for a view. If you ask for a room on the street (such as ours, which was #105), the noise level on a weeknight is low and the light and view are much nicer but still not special. Each room for our party including ours had a gorgeous tiled bathroom with 2 sinks. Of particular note, this was the only double room with 2 sinks on our upscale tour of Ireland. It also had a hair dryer, outlet, fabulous big mirror, tub-shower with a somewhat unexpected plastic outer liner and although it had the only inner and outer curtain arrangement, (most showers in tubs had only a single curtain), the angles were such that it was difficult to prevent a fair amount of water from leaking around the shower-head end on to the floor. They had wonderful products including lotion, shampoo, conditioner and scented soaps. There were slightly non-fluffy, medium size white towels. Each room had an incredibly comfy king bed, with 2 separate fabric covered headboards, and the first king bed we had on the trip without a crack down the center. The bed was topped with smooth linen sheets and a very cozy mid-weight comforter. There were 2 side-tables both with good reading lights. There were other special touches such as 2 pitchers at no cost waiting for us in the room, one filled with ice the other with filtered water, and soft, fluffy bathrobes. They had fast, free, reliable, password protected WiFi with a very strong signal. There was classy textured wallpaper in the rooms, hallways and the wide stairways with lathed wood bannisters. Menus for breakfast included a wide assortment of hot food and a nice assortment of pastries, meats and cheeses. Classical music played softly over the equally classic and club-like breakfast service area, and we were wonderfully served by the most delightful chatty servers of the trip.

Room Tip: There is more light on some sides of the building, but no great views so I'm not sure if it make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 18, 2014
Dear DaveW43323

What an outstanding review you have written about your stay at the royal hotel. It was a pleasure to read from start to finish.

The team at the Killarney is one of our best assets and I am happy that you were able to avail of their expertise while you visited from the moment you walked in.

I am delighted to read you found your stay most enjoyable & and enjoyed the aminetes of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal once again.

Regards
Heather & all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2014

The staff was very warm & eager to help. The hotel was charming, clean & in a great location! There are two great pharmacies in the area if you need anything at all, Kennelly Pharmacy!
Good shopping on the street and plenty of fun bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theirish1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Theirish1

Thank you very much for posting such a sparkling review here on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to read from beginning to end.
Thank you for such wonderful comments on our cleanliness and staff.
Your feedback is very important to us.

The team at the Killarney is one of our best assets, and I am happy that you were able to avail of their expertise while you visited! They really go to all ends to make sure everyone has a super holiday experience.
Killarney has allot to offer and we are blessed to be in the center of it all. I hope the town & the Royal Hotel has given you a bucket load of Irish memories to carry home with you.

Regards
Bryan Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights with husband and our youngest child. From moment of arrival to our departure I felt right at home. Clean, cosy and warm atmosphere and so welcoming. Plenty of breakfast delights to choose from, very helpful, pleasant and professional staff. Room was again clean, cosy and well spacious. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelineburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Jacqueline Burke

What an outstanding review you have written about your stay at the royal hotel. It was a pleasure to read from start to finish.

The team at the Killarney is one of our best assets, and I am happy that you were able to avail of their expertise while you visited!

I am delighted to read you found your stay totally relaxing as this is the most important aspect when you are on holidays.
The best part of the review was to read that you will "definitely stay again".

We look forward to welcoming you back through the doors of the Killarney Royal once again.

Regards
Bryan Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

The Royal is a warm and comfortable hotel. It isn't grand or flash but it is charming and pleasant. The room was huge with a great bathroom and very good beds. The breakfasts are excellent, especially our new gourmet find - Irish bread which is dense and nutty.

The hotel is opposite all the wonderful nightlife - the bars selling Guinness and Irish whiskey and full of live music

A great place to stay

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, September 27, 2014
Dear Heather W

Firstly let me thank you for your review on trip advisor. It was a delight to read

I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the ambiance of the Hotel & enjoyed the breakfast.
We are blessed to be in the center of Killarney town where the night life has something for everyone.

We look forward to welcoming you through the doors of the Killarney Royal Hotel very soon.

Regards
Bryan Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

We booked a break which consisted of 3 nights B&B and 2 evening meals - it wasn't cheap by any means but I like the look of the hotel and also the location.
When we arrived around 4pm, our hotel room was ready and staff were very friendly and helpful. Our luggage was taken to our room and the receiptionist made our dinner reservation for the Candle Room Restaurant for that evening.
Our room was small but very well presented. The bathroom was fabulous with a large free-standing bath, a large corner shower and just plenty of room. I was very impressed. I did however get an underlying smell of smoke from the room so it obviously used to be a smoking room and had been refurbed - after a while though I didn't notice it. Our room looked out onto College Street and we had both AirCon and were able to open the windows - which is always a nice bonus.
Dinner at the hotel on the first night was amazing, everything was perfect and we were very impressed. Breakfast was fine, a good selection but the pancakes were crepes which I was disappointed by. However, service was good - if a little slow due to understaffing perhaps?
Location of the hotel was excellent - just a 5min walk to the main street - with easy access towards Kenmare and Muckross - it couldn't have been any better.
We had our second dinner on the Friday night, in the same restaurant and unfortunately it had the same menu - which was also a bit disappointing, however the food had been so good, we didn't mind. Unfortunately, our second meal was nothing like the first, starters were great but the main course came with cold potatoes - and when I pointed this out, the obviously just put the entire plate into the microwave - which left everything pretty much inedible. I was extremely disappointed by this as to do it so well on the first night and then to mess it up so badly was a surprise to say the least. I left feeling both hungry and disappointed.
Check out was quick and easy - although they offer to allow you to pay in Sterling at a greatly reduced exchange rate - the difference of around 10p to the pound.
The only negative (other than the food on the last night) was the WiFi reception in our room was non-existant. I called reception to ask about it and they said they had called an engineer as they had some issues with the hotspot router - therefore if you wanted to use the internet you had to go down to the main lobby area. However, this was not a dealbreaker by any stretch and despite the poor meal on the last night, I would definitely recommend this hotel and would return without question.

Room Tip: If WiFi is an issue, perhaps request a room with good WIFI access as our room (204) had none.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marielouise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, September 3, 2014
Dear Marie Louise G

Wow what an amazing review you have given the Killarney Royal Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and you got to experience one of the new rooms in the Hotel.

Customer service is very important to us here, and so I am glad that you got to experience what we have on offer & our staff do enjoy their work very much.

With regards to a few issues: the wi-fi has now been fixed and is running faster than ever. With regards to the pancakes we tailor the pancakes to guest liking and do appreciate if a guest isn’t happy with the food to report it immediately so that it can be dealt with at the time.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed the location of the hotel and Killarney we are blessed to be in the center of it all.

Thank you once again for your wonderful comments on the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards
Bryan Scally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,924 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing