We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Older hotel with plenty of history, fixed up very nice and very clean. Our 4 nights in Killarney we really enjoyed, staff really went out of there way to make us feel welcome. Wether they were helping us with directions to the golf courses we played around the town or the service in the dining room or pub they were excellent. We had breakfast every morning and 3 evening meals and of coarse a few in the pub and all they did a very good job. Thanks again staff at Killarney Royal!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear John S

Thank you very much for posting such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. It was a pleasure to read from beginning to end.
Thank you for such wonderful comments on our location, staff, decor and food. Your feedback is very important to us.

The team at the Killarney is one of our best assets, and I am happy that you were able to avail of their expertise while you visited! They really go to all ends to make sure everyone has a super holiday experience. Your kind words have been passed onto all the staff.

I am glad we gave you a bucket load of Irish memories before you returned to Canada.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal very soon

Regards
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our stay in Killarney Royal was nice. The parking area is just across the street, it was hard to find at first but convenient once we found it. It's an older hotel, which gave it a lot of charm. However, you could tell it's age in the room especially in the bathroom. Also, our room was next to the laundry room and it was kind of loud in the afternoon. The staff were all very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethany S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Dear Bethany S
Thank you for your review on tripadvisor.
I am glad to hear that you had a "pleasant" stay at the Killarney Royal Hotel. We thrive to ensure all our guest have a pleasant and comfortable stay with us.

Yes you are right we are an older hotel and we are constantly refreshing the look of the hotel with the highest quality of materials are used so that hotel still retains an elegant period style that is appropriate to its age and to the design of the building.

I am glad you enjoyed the staff at the Killarney Royal they are a true assist to the hotel with many long standing members.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal Hotel

Regards
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

This is an excellent place to stay in Killarney. It is centrally located and the staff are wonderful.
They are so helpful and knowledgeable.
The rooms are spacious and very clean.
It is truly a great hotel and one we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jmccole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear jmccole

Thank you for such a wonderful review here on TripAdvisor. I am so happy to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us. Your kind words on our staff, location and rooms were greatly appreciated.

I look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the near future.

Warmest Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I received such wonderful help from Catherine and Brian when I was in a dire situation that it prompted me to write my 1st TripAdvisor review. Their service, and that of all of the staff, was exceptional. Killarney Royal Hotel is a gem. Convenient to anything in town, welcoming lobby, large rooms and good wifi were also appreciated. Breakfast was quick when needed but we could linger if we wished. Flexible staff would always try to put our group together when requested. Pub should also not be missed! Hope to stay longer next time. Thanks again for your kindness!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajuncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2014

Dear Rajuncat

What an absolutely outstanding review!

We thank you both most sincerely for writing and posting such a glowing and complimentary account of your stay with us.

I am delighted to hear there will be a next time and we look forward to welcoming you back through the door of the Killarney Royal once again.

Regards
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Great hotel in the heart of the city. Nice, easy walk to all the restaurants and Pubs in the heart of Killarney. The rooms are all different, large and up to date. The staff is there to greet you and ensure you have a pleasant stay. John, the porter was especially courteous and caring!
The Irish breakfast was wonderful. I can't wait to get back to Killarney. It was truly one of the highlights of our Ireland visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique. Our group were in 3 different rooms and they were all A+.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Bob B

Thank you very much for such a sparkling review here on TripAdvisor. It was an absolute pleasure to read from beginning to end!

All the team really appreciated your wonderful comments on our location, rooms, service and food. I will ensure to pass on your kind comments to John - who is already looking forward to your next visit!

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

4 of us recently stayed at the Killarney Royal for 6 nights-the experience was as close to perfect as you could expect. The most important aspect was the friendly customer first-attitude of the staff. They could not say "no". John, the night porter, would be at your call to help you with anything you needed. He was there with a cup of coffee and a newspaper first thing in the morning, gave you a bottle of ice cold water on the way to the course and made sure you were set with everything you needed the next morning. We did not know when he slept. Thanks John!!! The staff in the dining room would open early and stay late and make us just about anything we wanted. The front desk would give us solid recommendations on where to eat or go and we were never disappointed The rooms were fresh and clean and still maintained the charm of feeling like you were in Ireland-not a cookie cutter like a Marriott. The location is right in the Killarney - you can walk anywhere--perfect. The Killarney Royal may be rated a 4 star hotel but I would consider it 5 star. There is not a single complaint about anything at the hotel. I have travelled many places and stayed at many hotels this would rank as one of my best vacation experiences

Room Tip: I had room 209-very comfortable-the linens are fantastic!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mp4378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2014

Dear mp4378

Wow what an outstanding review you have given the Killarney Royal. It was a joy to read from start to finish.

The team at the Killarney is one of our best assets, and I am happy that you were able to avail of their expertise while you visited! They really go to all ends to make sure everyone has a super holiday experience. Your kind words have been passed onto John and all the staff.

As you said yourself it is like a 5 star hotel and we are proud of this.
Thank you once again on your kind words of all aspects of the Hotel.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the near future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2014

More hotels in Killarney than the whole of Northern Ireland combined so you won't be spoilt for choice. The Killarney Royal is a beautiful boutique hotel, our room was large and spacious, our bathroom was huge and modern, although the glass panel in the bathroom door(net curtain also) wasn't to my taste. No onsite parking which i wasn't happy with, but the friendly staff and beautiful decor made up for that. Located in the town so perfect for walking to the pubs and restaurants. We only ate breakfast here but that was beautiful, the breads and croissants ect are all baked fresh every morning and it is the touches like this that make the hotel stand out in my mind. The waitress's both mornings were wonderful and very helpful to everyone.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank FW86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear FW86,

Thank you for your recent review of the Killarney Royal here on TripAdvisor. I was happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Thank you very much for your kind words on our staff, location and breakfast. I will ensure to pass on your review to the rest of the team.

Because we offer such a central location, unfortunately, we cannot provide a private car park for our guests. However, we do offer a complimentary valet parking service, so guests do not have to worry about parking the car themselves.

Thank you once again for sharing your review and moreover, choosing the Killarney Royal for your recent visit to Killarney. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal again in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,355 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $134 - $351 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing