We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A luxurious stay with exceptional service”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 4, 2014

The location is exceptional, being in walking distance of many of the shops and pubs in Killarney. The lobby and rooms were a nice bit of luxury when coming back from a long day of driving on the Ring of Kerry. The staff was incredibly helpful, and I wish I could remember the name of the concierge when we checked out on the 27th, she was a delight and exceptionally witty. The complementary WiFi was also a nice treat. While the room we stayed in did not have a view at all (two windows, but a large metal wall less then a meter from them outside from an adjacent building), that was really no big deal since we had great weather and were outside most of time anyhow.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crszczub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2014

Dear crszczub,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review of the Killarney Royal here on Trip-Advisor.
I am happy to hear you enjoyed our large, luxurious rooms. It is nice to have space to relax and unwind after a long day of travelling.
It is great to hear that you got to experience the ring of Kerry during your stay, the nice weather must have made it extra special.

Thank you once again for sharing your experience of the Killarney Royal here on Trip-Advisor. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,008)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

492 - 498 of 1,008 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a great stay the hotel. The staff opened the door, grabbed our bags, and took them right up to the room for us. The rooms were spacious and clean. The Wifi connection was free and fast. Breakfast was very good. It was a bit of a walk to the main area of shops and restaurants, but not too bad.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2014

Dear Samantha484

Thank you so much for sharing such a wonderful review of your experience of the Killarney Royal.
We are thrilled with the feedback, and of course, delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff, and I am so happy to hear that you received a warm welcome to the Killarney Royal.
I will ensure to pass on your kind words to all the staff.
I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We recently booked 2 rooms at the Killarney Royal for 2 nights. We loved it! Fabulous staff, clean, comfortable rooms and a great location. We ate several meals at the hotel and enjoyed the food as well.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EmmyPro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear EmmyPro

Thank you for sharing your review of the Killarney Royal here on Trip-Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure to read.

Thank you for your kind comments on our staff, food and location. I am so glad to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay here with us.

Thank you once again for taking the time to post this review. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

Spent two nights in the Killarney Royal with two other couples. We have been friends for 40 years and spend one trip away per year for a couple of days each time. This hotel was a real find. Nice hotel, very clean and comfortable . Staff very friendly and helpful. Food very good . Perfect location to stay for over 60's like ourselves

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Des C

Many thanks for your review here on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay immensely. We like to create a home away from home atmosphere here at the Killarney Royal. It was great to read that you found our food "very good".
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at The Royal and your kind words have been passed onto them.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Killarney Royal. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best wishes
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We just spent 9 days touring Ireland and our 4th night (St. Paddy's Day) was spent
at the Royal. Everyone there was so lovely. Marie checked us in and made us feel at home
right away. I had booked a year previously as this was a special occasion trip for us and
had asked for a room with a view. WELL the room we received was a suite on the 2nd
floor overlooking main street which just happened to be where the parade was being held
that afternoon. We watched/filmed the parade from the beautiful windows and ordered
up some Guinness. Everyone at this hotel both Michael and another gentleman at
the bar (I'm sorry but his name escapes me at the moment) were all fun and extremely
welcoming. The lovely young lady at the front desk who moved our car from our
street spot into the parking lot that evening so we wouldn't get a ticket the next morning,
and everyone else we spoke with as well. Oh and the room was glorious! Will certain return
when we do back to Ireland. Thank you!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank east20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear East20

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review here on Trip-Advisor. We really appreciate the feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome the both of you to the Killarney Royal on your recent visit.

I am glad to hear that you got the room with a view of Killarney Town and on St Patrick's Day to watch the parade made it extra special. Marie, Mike & Dayna were more than happy to look after you while on your visit to Ireland. We are glad to hear we gave you a bucket load of Irish memories while on your trip to Killarney & we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Best wishes
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

this hotel is amazing,,food excellent ..lovely and hot ,,,bedrooms were so clean ,,plenty room beds so comfy,,,such a relaxing weekend,,,,staff were so nice and helpful ,so welcoming,,ill defo be back .

Room Tip: STAYED IN 209 south side very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lonedovetttttt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Lonedovetttttt

Many thanks for such a great review. We really appreciate the feedback. We are known and loved in the food trade for all the right reasons and we love getting feedback especially when it is "excellent"
I am glad you found the rooms clean & comfy as this is a really important aspect when you are on holidays.

Thank you so much for such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. I will ensure to pass on your compliments to all the team.

Regards
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2014

there is something very special about this hotel. While it provides bedrooms, bar, a restuarant and luggage service (all top class, i may add) this property cannot be described as just a hotel. It goes beyond that. I have never encountered such a genunine warm welcome from the minute we stepped inside the door.
Dana at reception couldn't do enough for us. The property was extemely busy with locals on patricks day (which is only a good sign), yet she answered each one of our questions with a smile and provided excellent advise on local attractions and pubs. she also gave us a top tip to go to the cliffs of moher via tarbert ferry..it saved a lot of time!
From the breakfast staff to the young barman and john the night manager, each member of staff was very pleasant and approachable. breakfast was to die for...we recommend the pancakes!!
I am not a big reviewer but this hotel seriously deserved it..well done to all involved!

Room Tip: choose the killarney royal if you want fantastic service!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USA_tourist2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear USA_tourist2014

Wow what a sparkling review you have given us on trip advisor. It was a delighted to read from start to finish.
All the staff love their work here at the Killarney Royal and nothing is too much trouble for them. Your kind words have been passed onto Dayna at reception, John the night porter and all our staff.

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our popular breakfast selection; the pancakes are a real treat.
Thank you for taking the time out to write the review and we hope to see you back to stay with us again soon.

Best wishes
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
Great Southern Killarney
Great Southern Killarney
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#7 of 38 in Killarney
2,350 reviews
2.5 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $134 - $381 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing