We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Gem”
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed in this little gem recently and was very impressed with staff and quality of food.
Planning a return trip already, great location as we travelled by train. Our room was ready
when we arrived 2 hours early. Well done everyone.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philomena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Philomena B.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Killarney Royal here on Trip-Advisor. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome and look after the three of you on your recent trip to Killarney. I am glad that you availed of the train. As we are located only a few minutes walk from the train station, our location is very convenient for guests who wish to leave their car at home.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 995 reviews

Reviewed March 16, 2014

My wife & I recently spend a week touring Ireland, a lifelong ambition. We decided to use Killarney as a base for 4 nights. Little did we know when making our reservation how memorable the Killarney Royal would be. The quirkiness & characteristics of an older hotel just added to the charm. But the real gem were the staff. What an absolute delight everyone was with their graciousness, kindness and friendship. From the moment we arrived & received help with parking/luggage, our sensational breakfasts & lovely conversations with whoever was working, to even recommending & making a Dr's appointment when my wife took ill. We were blown away and can't thank everyone enough. We will return and don't even need to bother to review other hotels. Thank you ALL so much. Lynn & Garry Hedges

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Garry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2014

Dear Lynn & Garry

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review here on Trip-Advisor. We really appreciate the feedback. It was an absolute pleasure to welcome the both of you to the Killarney Royal on your recent visit. All our staff really enjoyed speaking with you and learning about how much you were enjoying your vacation.
Thank you so much for such wonderful comments about our hotel and staff. I will ensure to pass on your compliments to all the team.
I hope that your wife made a full recovery. I do hope to have the pleasure to welcome the both of you back to the Killarney Royal again in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

I stayed here on a midweek business overnight in February and the room was very comfortable and charmingly appointed. The location is suitably central, but car parking arrangements are not great. There is no rear access so It is 250m around the corner and up a road without a footpath on a busy junction. I then had to bring my public car park €3 ticket back to the reception to get a refund. I think that is a little cheap and untrusting... Wonder if the car park directly across the road might not be more convenient....
Breakfast was fine but arriving 5 mins after the starting time seemed to have caught service on the hop, but he was friendly when he came in. Did I have to be told to return the newspaper to reception?

Stayed: February 2014
1  Thank TonyDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2014

Dear TonyDublin_Ireland

Thank you for sharing your review of the Killarney Royal here on Trip-Advisor. Guest feedback is very important to us, as it allows us to continuously improve our service and standard.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Just back from another stay in Killarney Royal. Really enjoyed it. Rooms lovely and spacious, beds so comfortable. Ate in the Bistro Bar and food was excellent. Billy and Michael were so friendly and nothing was a bother

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ily35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear lly35,

Thank you for posting such a wonderful review here on Trip-Advisor. It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Killarney Royal again.

Thank you for your kind words on our bedrooms and your dining experiences. I will ensure to pass on your kind words to Billy and Michael.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

There are many hotels and B&B's in Killarney, but if you want an intimate Irish experience in professional accommodation, this is the hotel for you. From the moment of you arrival you're treated as family and welcomed into the warm and cozy lobby.

Our three night stay was the Value Break package which included three cooked Irish breakfasts and two, exquisitely prepared and served, three course dinners. Excellent, spacious, accommodation in a quaint hotel restoration but with all the modern conveniences...double sinks, comfortable bedding, high quality linen, flat screen televisions and the available wi-fi. This historic hotel is an Irish gem.

The hotel is convenient to Killarney proper, on College St., and within walking distance of some major attractions. Our room , 213, did not have a view, but we didn't come to Killarney to look out the window.

Our Irish breakfasts were in the beautiful Candle Room but dinner was served in the Royal Bar and Bistro, during off season. Our server/bar tender Billy could not have been more pleasant, humorous and accommodating. The three course dinners were five star.

We'll return soon.

Room Tip: Room 213 does not have a view but you're in Ireland...get out of the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesD20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear JamesD20

Thank you for posting an outstanding review of the Killarney Royal here on trip-advisor. We really appreciate the feedback! Here, at the Killarney Royal, we like to create a "home away from home" atmosphere, and so I am delighted to learn you felt that you were treated like family.

Thank you so much for such kind comments about our rooms and our location. I am so happy that you found the rooms to be of high standard. We like to ensure guest comfort, and so supply high quality linen, wi-fi and furnishings.

Thank you for your wonderful comments about your breakfast and dinner experiences. I will ensure to pass on your kind words to Billy, whom will be delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the Killarney Royal. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

Checked in on a mid week night, the room was gorgeous, and huge space. But without a doubt, it was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in, ever. I just slept the minute I touched the pillow. The breakfast was lovely the next morning, and the staff were genuinely nice and friendly, but in particular the gentleman that looked after us at breakfast was lovely. And they cater for Gluten Free, which is a bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Dear Liz L

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of the Killarney Royal here on Trip-Advisor. It was a pleasure to read!
Thank you for such wonderful comments on our beds. Guest comfort is of utmost importance to us, and so I am glad to hear that you were able to have a good nights rest.
Thank you for such kind words on our breakfast and our staff. They were all delighted to learn that you had an enjoyable time here with us at the Killarney Royal.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal in the future.

Best Regards,
Bryan Scally

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at the Killarney Royal last weekend. Our experience was excellent from start to finish. The staff we met were very friendly and professional.

Having stayed there before, we were really looking forward to it and knew what to expect. This time we decided to get the train from Dublin. The hotel is very close to the station and we were checking in less than 10 minutes after getting off the train. The hotel is well located in the centre of Killarney.

The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. We ate at the hotel and the food was amazing and very well presented. We enjoyed relaxing in the gorgeous lobby and also the bar area.

Killarney is a great place to visit and if you are going stay there, stay at the Killarney Royal. You will enjoy the luxury and its convenient location.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeyFin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, General Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2014

Dear NeyFin

Thank you ever so much for the review. It was a joy to read.
All the team here really appreciated your comments on the service and the food.
It is our priority here at the Killarney Royal to ensure guest comfort, and so I am glad to hear that you got this experience while staying here.

I am glad you got to experience what Kerry has on offer also.
We are blessed to be in the centre of Killarney Town & as you mentioned were only within walking distance from the train station which is an extra bonus for guest wanting to leave the car at home.
We love welcoming old friends back to the Killarney Royal & thank you for choosing to stay with us once again. We look forward to seeing you again shortly

Regards
Bryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,252 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $132 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing