We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Killarney Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #9 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Killarney Gem”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Just back having spent two lovely nights at the Killarney Royal. What a lovely hotel, right in the centre of town. Beautiful food and very comfortable room. Loved the large bed and so comfy. Staff were very friendly and the decor and comfort of this hotel has to be experienced. Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irelandteresaireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear Irelandteresaireland,

Thank you very much for taking time to post such a wonderful review about our Property. I am pleased to know how much you enjoyed your surrounds and the Hotel lived up to your expectations. I will pass on your comment to the entire team and hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you through our doors in the future.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    158
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
220
437
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed March 20, 2013

What a homely, welcoming experience. Lovely large room, can't remember the number. Customer service was the best ever. Food good. Spotless and excellent value for money. Very central location without too much noise., we asked for a quite room. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TierneyZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear TierneyZiggy,

Firstly, I wish to Thank You for taking time to post such a excellent review. It is very heartening to read your very positive review of our Hotel. I am extremely pleased to know my Staff exceeded your expectations, and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay, especially your room and the cuisine.
I look forward to welcoming you to Killarney Royal in the future.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013

We stayed at the Royal recently. it was our 2nd stay there and can highly recommend it as a warm, inviting and friendly hotel. The staff are top class and the food lovely. Location is great too. Will be back again. Rose

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieG815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear RosieG815,

Thank you very much for posting such a lovely review. I am pleased to know how much you enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for your kind comments about my team and our cuisine.
I will extend your gratitude to each and every team member. I look forward to welcoming you through our door in the future.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Killarney Royal for four nights. The staff went above and beyond with recommendations for day trips, tours, dinners, and shopping. Our room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable and clean. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Killarney.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jezzebelmona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear jezzebelmona,

Thank you very much for your lovely review, I am pleased to know my Staff exceeded your expectations, and do rely on all customer feed back to help us maintain and improve our services to all our Guests. Thank you for your very kind words about our Property, hopefully, I will have the pleasure of welcoming you through our doors in the future.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Just had a very enjoyable St Patricks weekend at the Royal. excellent service,excellent food,excellent staff and so comfortable. It has a great location and offers so much in relation to clint serviceboth as a guest but also as an observation for customers calling in for bar or just coffees etc.
Derek and Ann

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smithers180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear smithers80,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted to hear how much you enjoyed our Property and especially our cuisine. I will pass on your comments to my Chef and his team.
I appreciate your kind words about our Hotel, as I do rely on all customer feed back.
Hopefully, I will have the pleasure of welcoming you through our doors in the future.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed again, 4th time at this excellent hotel and yet again it was superb.

As ever the hotel was immaculate and cosy. Killarney was cold but the hotel was very pleasantly warm without being too hot. Service yet again both professional and friendly.

On ths trip we used the hotel restaurant for lunch on Friday and the food was amazing as well as being very well priced. Restaurant service was very friendly as well as being swift. In our future visits to Killarney we will make more use of the dining facilities at the hotel as we have tried virtually every eating spot in the town and this is definitely amongst the very best so it will save a lot of searching.

A special word of thanks again for such a friendly welcome to John ( night staff) and we will certainly be returning again soon.

Philip and Jacqui, Belfast

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PHILIP D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear PHILIP D,

Thank you for returning to Killarney Royal Hotel and posting yet another wonderful review.
I am very heartened to read through it and am certainly delighted to know our Chef's' menus exceeded your expectations. I will pass on your kind words to my entire team, and especially to John. I look forward to welcoming you back again.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights last week. It was on a living social deal. This was never mentioned by any of the staff and when we were having our meal the extremely polite and pleasant waiter asked us in a very nice manner our room no. He returned a few minutes later and told us in a very discreet manner what we were entitled to off the menu with our deal. I felt this was very important as in some places when you get a deal it is literally shouted from the rooftops which can make people feel uncomfortable. Can't praise this hotel enough. Staff, food, ambiance. Will be back. Ber cork

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emailbernieryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Emailbernieryan,

Thank you very much for your excellent review of our Hotel. It is a pleasure to read. I am delighted to know how thoroughly you enjoyed all aspects of your stay. Also, Thank you, for your comments about my Staff, who are very valued members of my team.
I look forward to welcoming you through our doors in the future.

Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
1,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
2,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
2,097 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
1,993 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#8 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing