We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a surprisingly good find” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Killarney Royal

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Killarney Royal
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a surprisingly good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

We didn't reserve this room ahead of time but picked it when we got to town. We had a lovely room in the front corner of the building overlooking the street. It was a beautiful room; large and with nice amenties and comfy bed.
Although the town itself can be rather busy with peole it was quiet in the hotel and I would stay there again and again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Woodyzgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Woodyzgrl,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review on tripadvisor.
Delighted to hear yyou enjoyed your stay , and that we made you feel at home in the Killarney Royal Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    158
    28
    8
    9
See reviews for
217
433
21
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2011

I stayed in the Killarney Royal over the summer. They do not have a car park but there is plenty of parking close by. The welcome and attention to detail was outstanding. Nobody could do enough for us. Brian the receptionist made us feel very welcome and went to great lengths to tell us all about Killarney. We have a wonderful stay and will certainly be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Ciara D,

Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at the Killarney Royal Hotel.
I will be sure to pass on your kind words to our team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Killarney Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morristown, nj
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

Catherine--

Back in the diocese to your west now, but I just wanted to thank you for the pleasant stay once again at the Killarney Royal---we had a great time albeit that we there for the Kerry loss to Dublin

You have a great staff--Brian, the two Dierdres, Nora, Mike who both decorated our balcony with Kerry flags and filled our glasses--and of course John who is the best

We always look forward to coming back and for recommending your place to friends

Pat and Jim Kelly

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jim k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Jim K,

Thank you for your kind words and alos for you lovely pictures Michael loves them. It was a pitty Kerry didn't win the All Ireland during your visit, you will have to visit again next September and hopefully we will be celebrating.
Looking forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2011

Had a wonderful stay this past week. Breakfast each morning was really terrific. Cold buffet and then order your hot food off the menu.
The staff here made me feel like I was at a 5-star hotel. They were really helpful - in fact, Dierdra told me about the Global Calling card - no one else had mentioned it - I got 230 mins. to the US for 10 euro. That's a great deal.
I did not think the rooms were musty at all. My only con is that there were revelers in the street one night singing "Sean McCarthy" - but, not much the hotel could do about that. It made me feel like I was really in Ireland!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shiningstar222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 7, 2011
Dear Shingingstar222,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive and lovely review. Thank you also for your kind words about our staff and I am delighted Deirdre was able to give you some helpful advice.
We do aim to create a home away from hme atmosphere. We hope to be able to weclome you back to the Killarney Royal Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wexford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

This hotel is ideal for a romantic getaway!Rooms are big, comfortable and relaxing. The staff are the most accommodating and welcoming. Atmosphere in the restaurant and bar is lovely. Afternoon tea and food is of a very high class. Would highly recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rossie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

Pros: Good location to restaurants, shops, pubs; Most staff try hard to do a good job, especially at the bar. Cons: Dated (very worn) furnishings- everything looks old and not in a good way; Room smelled very musty; Thin walls/floor so we were awoken by the upstairs people every morning; Much too expensive for what it is; Reviews on here are misleading- this is not a spectacular find, it's a mediocre hotel; Woman at reception was not at all friendly; They require you to walk back to your car at check-out to get your $3 a night parking reimbursed- no exceptions; No one helped us with our luggage at check-out.

I chose this hotel based upon the reviews on here and was disappointed. I don't know if the reviewers haven't stayed in a true four star hotel before, or if they are friendly with the owners, but I am still confused about the wonderful, rave reviews on here. It's like people stayed at a different hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iheartthebeach1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarneyroyal, Manager at Killarney Royal, responded to this review, October 5, 2011
Dear iheartthebeach1212,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Thank you for your comments, we find all feedback helpful as it helps us to continue to improve standards for our guests.
We take great pride in looking after our guests and would have been happy to help you had you brought your concerns to our attention.
We do realise antique furnishings are not to everyone’s liking, however your time here has passed and expectations were not met and for that I do apologise.
I would like to assure you that your comments have been taken on board and these matters will be looked into so as to avoid disappointment to future guests.
I would like to thank you again for your feedback.
I also hope to be able to welcome you back to the Killarney Royal Hotel in the future for you to experience our true standards and quality of service.


Kind Regards,
Brian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roscommon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

The welcome I got was truely special from The team at The Killarney Royal Hotel. we had scones and tea on arrival by the fire in the lobby.The smell of the fresh lillies greeted me at the door. The Hotel is very well kept,fresh flowers everywhere, and the staff are extremely professional.Check in was prompt and efficent .The girl was very chatty to us which was nice.Our bags were brought to our room by a smart young guy. Our room was great. I even took pictures to show my friends how big our room in the Killarney town centre was. The food was really great,fresh, hot and very tasty. we ate on both nights, the place was very busy which is always a good sign. I can't fault anything in this Hotel . The free wifi , free parking, free morning papers in the lobby all made it even more special. Thank you for the birthday welcome note and chocolates in our room it was a nice touch.I woudn't stay anywhere else but this Hotel. Great location, great team and great value

morning all made my stay even more comfortable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.2 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
1.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Royal

Property: Killarney Royal
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Killarney
#5 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#18 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Royal 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney Royal Hotel is a 4 star luxury property. It is a family run property with 32 individually designed bedrooms. It is located 2 minutes walk from the town centre, railway and bus station. The Killarney Royal Team are with the Scally family for many years and deliver service with pride and passion. It would be our pleasure to welcome you to your 'home away from home'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Killarney Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Royal Hotel Killarney
Royal Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing