We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Grub!”

The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub
Ranked #20 of 183 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub is located in the heart of Killarney National Park. The pub is a landmark pub in Co. Kerry and serves the best of Irish Food. Enjoy a wide selection of drinks including craft Irish beers, whiskies and Irish coffee. Enjoy live entertainment on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
161 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great Grub!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Great menu with delicious choices vegy ones are real winners! Excellent service and bar staff are second to none ! Great ambience even when England trounced Ireland in the Rugby this weekend! The craic really was mighty ! When that try went over I was off my seat with joy! Good fun with the bar staff who offered me a Guinness on the house when the English ale selection was lacking !! Fantastic touch ! Well done and thanks for some really great food and service!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pompeypaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    185
    67
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Had a nice meal in Molly Darcy's in December, I must say that the food was very good and had no complaints.
Very old style pub was lacking with life a small bit but that is probably the nature of the business at the moment.
Also got a pint of Murphy's here and it was probably the nicest pint of stout I have ever drank, even though it was outside of Cork!:)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlanOReilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

The pub offered traditional Irish food as well as some unusual offerings that will please visitors who are looking for vegetarian options in Ireland. We also enjoyed Irish music and dancing. I am not sure if this is every night, but it made for a pleasant experience!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dragonhmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Kent
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pleasant evening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

This food offered good food, music and Irish dancing. A Very Touristy pub but was enjoyable and local to the B&b we stopped in so was exactly what we wanted.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mreemrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good pub especially for a stop off”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

This pub is great craic if you are staying in the Muckross park hotel or if you are stopping off on the way back from Muckross park, torc waterfall or ladies view. Especially good on a warm summers day you can jump of a rented bike lock it up outside and sit in the beer garden enjoying a ice cold bulmers or G+T. The food is really good value, generous portions and decent variety not to mention it tastes good also. You can even indulge in some fancy spirits if you like. Midleton very rare being €5 less than I've paid in other hotel bars.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claude R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing