We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere in Molly Darcys”

The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub
Ranked #23 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $29
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub is located in the heart of Killarney National Park. The pub is a landmark pub in Co. Kerry and serves the best of Irish Food. Enjoy a wide selection of drinks including craft Irish beers, whiskies and Irish coffee. Enjoy live entertainment on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere in Molly Darcys”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We called in by chance for an evening meal at Molly Darcys which is within the Muckross Park Hotel complex. The staff were very friendly and welcoming, and we were shown to a table straight away. There is a good choice on the menu, although it could be described as pub style food it was still tasty, and overall good value. We also enjoyed the live music, so well worth a visit

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Malsorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    357
    208
    74
    39
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Marvellous Molly's”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Enjoyed delicious lunch served outdoors in glorious sunshine. We We had really tasty fish and chips with mushy peas served by a very efficient and pleasant waitress. Couldnt ask for better!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MJCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Kildare, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Felt totally ripped off”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were on a day out in the national park only to find no hot food available there so we headed to Molly darceys. As a family this was to be a treat, we are on holiday after all!! I expected service and good food at an expense, however the service was lacking greatly and the food, although good and tasty was very small portions for the price. The biggest disappointment of all was the 45 minute wait for our food and the poor and unenthusiastic waitress who took our order. We then moved seats from outside to inside, we were served by a more pleasant but not overly attentive waiter. When I complained about our wait for our food I was given an apology but still charged the full amount for the food which had lost its sparkle at that stage. Basically no one cared that I spent money and wasn't happy, we didn't have desert as my sons were worn out waiting for the main course. It ruined what was otherwise a good day out

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerrimac1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly D, Manager at The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for the feedback on your visit to Molly Darcy’s recently. Here at Mollys we try and maintain the highest standard of service, but sadly on this occasion we have failed to deliver. We very much care about each and every customer that enters Molly Darcy’s and they leave with a pleasant dining experience. We failed you from the manager on duty, right down to the two staff that where looking after your need’s and for that we apologise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Poor food and atmosphere”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We ate here after a long day of traveling because it was close to our B&B. The management did a nice job squeezing us into the dining room just as a number of large tour buses arrived and the service was very good considering how busy our waitress was. While the food seemed fine as we were eating most people in our group had some degree of an upset stomach afterwards. Also, this was probably the least local/authentic experience that we had during our two week trip to Ireland since the restaurant was full of tour bus groups and the Irish dancers were wearing sequined hot pants. Not recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NW1W2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly D, Manager at The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for the feedback on your visit to Molly Darcy’s recently. Molly Darcy’s each weekday is hugely popular with Tour Groups due to our high standards of food and entertainment. So we are very surprised your group had such a poor experience regarding our food quality. Had we known you would not have been charged for such an experience. The dancers do change costume for different dances, and the costume you are referring to is worn when they perform the “Brush Dance” and “Barrel Dance” as modesty does not allow the girls to wear the traditional dresses when performing these dances. As one dance is performed high up on a pedestal and the other crossing a brush handle side to side while skipping over it. So apologies we failed to deliver our famous Irish Experience and hope it does not turn you off returning to us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We did not enjoy this eating establishment as much as we expected to. Although it came recommended, our house salad was minimal for the price and the dessert platter very poor although the tortellini was good. When we complained about the dessert platter the waitress offered to have the supervisor come and speak to us but she did not arrive until we were finally paying the bill. We understand the pub is now being run by the bank so maybe they have instated server portion control.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silly1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing