We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good wholesome food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub

The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub
Ranked #22 of 182 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $27
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub is located in the heart of Killarney National Park. The pub is a landmark pub in Co. Kerry and serves the best of Irish Food. Enjoy a wide selection of drinks including craft Irish beers, whiskies and Irish coffee. Enjoy live entertainment on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays.
cork
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good wholesome food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

For the past number of years I have consistently experienced excellent food in this pub. The service is always good, the toilets always clean. Overall a very enjoyable experience always.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fusciaCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

628 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    185
    64
    33
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“could be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

lovely staff on saturday but friday night could not get us fed quick enough and out of restaurant quick enough i know it was good friday but felt very uncomfortable, food not great portions for the price of it and could do with more of a variety. got he same food on saturday night as on friday so got chicken friday and on saturday and could not believe the difference on friday must have just been slapped together but on saturday i ordered veg as a watercress salad comprises of a sprig of watercress and on saturday actually got champ plus veg on plate defo did not one with this n friday night. my husband had the lamb stew on friday night portions very small and lacking in lamb especially for the price of it. we had a long drive and were looking forward to a relaxing evening with some nice food and a few drinks on Friday which did not happen, saturday night was better the girl who served us was lovely, the only thing is you should say pecan nuts are in the chocolate brownie as not clearly stated on menu. menus could be better than a clip board sort of lets things own a bit. lovely place and lovely and clean i hope these comments help you as this place as a lot to offer.

Helpful?
Thank Ekn222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good for such a touristic location (*not* a tourist trap!)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

nice pub and restaurant in one. For that proximity for the attractions you would expect a tourist trap, but it's not. Fish and chips with a lager brewed in neighboring Ding - were awesome finish of the day. We've been there on Sunday night and the place was full of kids (with their families), but I guess it's just the case for Sunday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank renatmin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

Nice setting, and just a short walk from our B & B - Friars Glen. The food was very well prepared and we would definitely return in the future.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank chouettecolette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Best food I've had yet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I came here after hiking around Killarney National Park. We were so happy we did! I ordered the seafood chowder and it was the best thing I've had in Ireland yet! The bread bowl was buttery and light and complimented the chowder perfectly. We both said that we wished we lived here so we could come back here all the time! If you drive out to the National park (and you should!) stop here on your way in or out.

Helpful?
Thank Jen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to The Jarvey's Rest Traditional Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing