We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent cod and chips”

Quinlans Seafood Bar
Ranked #6 of 186 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: European, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Closed for Renovations from 11 Jan 2016 to the 8th Feb. Make sure to visit in feb for our re-opening specials. Tucked away on New Street in Killarney Quinlans Seafood Bar may be one of the most satisfying dining experiences around. Quinlan's is unique in Ireland as it serves Fresh Fish and Shellfish from its own boats, landed daily in County Kerry. Quinlan's Killarney and Quinlans Tralee) tempt diners with fresh seasonal fish and seafood in a casually elegant setting. Fresh Hake, Cod, Haddock, Whiting and Plaice,from Dingle bay are available throughout the year and each day a range of specials depending on what and has been landed that morning is available. If you love your seafood you must visit us to sample the best and freshest Fish and Chips, shellfish specials and 'the catch of the day'. We also do take away (order by phone) and courier delivery of smoked salmon and fresh fish (from our website). All trip advisor customers can avail of specials by quoting the TRIPADVOR1 voucher code.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent cod and chips”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

We fancied fish and chips and was recommended to Quinlans by our local contact. The food was good and the service quick and professional. We had a good meal

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Hello Brian S,
Thank you for your kind review.
Glad you enjoyed your meal.
Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    827
    285
    68
    21
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great fish & chips”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We ate here on our first night in Killarney on the advice of a lady we stopped on the street, asking her if she was a local, and where could she recommend a good place for fish & chips. She immediately said Quinlans & pointed the way. When we arrived, we had a very short wait for a place to sit & ordered up the cod fish & chips. This is a small place, and isn't necessarily fancy inside, but they DO have delicious fish & chips. We were not disappointed, and as other reviewers have stated, it was not greasy. Loved it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Cocotea,
Thank you for your kind review.Glad you enjoyed your visit and enjoy the rest of your holidays in Killarney,Irelands tourist capital.
Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone, Ireland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Tasty !”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Simple fish and chips , but done really well and tasty, a good choice of fish. Good portion size, and nice athmosphere.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank brian82ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Hello brian82ie,
Thank for your kind review, You have said it all simple,fresh and a good variety.
Enjoy the rest of your holidays in Killarney.
Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh and delicious fish & chips”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

My wife and I went there based on Tripadvisor's reviews. And certainly it did not fail us in taste. We ordered the cod and haddock fish & chips. It was fresh and delicious. Not greasy at all, you wouldn't get the "oily" feeling after finishing it. Staffs are friendly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arnold T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello Arnold T,
Thank you for your kind review.As you have said the fish was fresh and delicious and not oily in fact we filter our oil as we cook so the oils is always clean.
Kind Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherbourg-Octeville, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth the wait!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived after seeing good reviews on TripAdvisor. It was not quite 6pm on a weekday and there was already a line out the door! But with our hearts set on fish & chips we decided to wait. After about 20 minutes we got a table and ordered. I loved that they make sure to use wild (not farmed), sustainable and local fish. I substituted an order of onion rings instead of chips and the meal was very much worth the wait! Excellent quality and service. I would go back (and wait again!) in a heartbeat.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karinainfrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Hello karinainfrance,
Thank you for your review and the fact that you waited for 20 mins.
As we have only a small premises we rely on the goodwill of our customers to wait when it is busy and I am glad we did not disappoint you.
Kind Regards,
Liam.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinlans Seafood Bar also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Quinlans Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing