We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh meal and fantastic service”

Quinlans Seafood Bar
Ranked #6 of 190 Restaurants in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: European, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Closed for Renovations from 11 Jan 2016 to the 8th Feb. Make sure to visit in feb for our re-opening specials. Tucked away on New Street in Killarney Quinlans Seafood Bar may be one of the most satisfying dining experiences around. Quinlan's is unique in Ireland as it serves Fresh Fish and Shellfish from its own boats, landed daily in County Kerry. Quinlan's Killarney and Quinlans Tralee) tempt diners with fresh seasonal fish and seafood in a casually elegant setting. Fresh Hake, Cod, Haddock, Whiting and Plaice,from Dingle bay are available throughout the year and each day a range of specials depending on what and has been landed that morning is available. If you love your seafood you must visit us to sample the best and freshest Fish and Chips, shellfish specials and 'the catch of the day'. We also do take away (order by phone) and courier delivery of smoked salmon and fresh fish (from our website). All trip advisor customers can avail of specials by quoting the TRIPADVOR1 voucher code.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Lovely, clean, simple and fresh fare. It was the most relaxing meal we've had in Ireland so far. The service was impeccable and you feel like you're a long lost friend when you enter. We had the broiled salmon, and the salad that went with it was unbelievably fresh. Prices are fair too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Hello, M M,
Thank you for your kind review.
We pride ourselves on our service and the SUPERIOR QUALITY OF OUR FISH and I am glad to see we did not disappoint you.
Kind Regards,
Liam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 980 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

We were really fancying fish and chips and happened on Quinlans. We were not disappointed! It was very busy at 7.30pm, but we were greeted and seated very quickly. Their menu is clear and has a lot of good options. We opted for their meal deal - fish and chips (choice of fish), mushy peas and a drink (tea, coke, etc.) at 14.95euro. Portions were large, very well prepared and very tasty. Note that the fish is fresh! The staff were very friendly and efficient. The restaurant was very clean and neat, with very nice toilet facilities. Will go back there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank J0hn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Hello JOhn1950,
Thank you for your review you have covered it all,looking forward to seeing you perhaps on another visit to Killarney,Ireland`s tourist capital.
Regards,
Liam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

If you like to eat really good fish then this is the place for you. A very casual restaurant that has up to 5 different fish choices for fish and chips. Also a nice selection of other fresh fish from smoked salmon, prawns, crab,and calamari. We had cod fish and chips and a smoked salmon open faced sandwich on brown bread. Both were good. No alcohol at all. This is a no nonsense type of place nothing fancy but it has very fresh fish everyday. Good location in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank plcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hello plcape,
Thank you for your honest review,we are all about FRESH FISH ,The Smoked Salmon is from our own Smokery in Valentia Harbour see Kerryfish.com if you would like some more.
Regards,
Liam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I ate here on Monday evening with my wife. Overall we were a little disappointed. After reading the reviews we expected something a little different. We just got your ordinary chippy. I had the hake which wasn't bad but my wife's cod goujons were very greasy. It's bad when your leaving a fresh fish shop and talking about the chips. Don't get me wrong it wasn't bad we just expected a little better after reading the reviews.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Nhols52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hello nhols52,
Thank you for your review however just a little clarification.
We do not pretend to be high end,this is also reflected in our pricing.
While you may have found the goujons a bit greasy they are cooked in a Rapeseed-Palm oil mix and even though we leave all cooked food rest a while there will always be some.
On Monday we had twenty one (21) fish on the menu some deep fried,some grilled,pan fried or salads not your average chippy.I would suggest that you had made us aware of your suitation so as we could have rectified it for you.
Kind Regards,
Liam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

On our visit to Killarney there seemed to always be a queue outside Quinlans so we had to check it out to see what all the fuss was about!

We only had to wait 5 or 10 minutes for our table and our waiter was very friendly.

The cod and chips we had were beautiful, the fish was really fresh, and plenty of it!

The price is also very reasonable and even though the restaurant was packed the service was very quick.

The only downside I think is that we did feel a wee bit rushed due to the number of people waiting for tables, but that's only a small thing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JannieSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIAM Q Q, Owner at Quinlans Seafood Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Hi jannie77,
Thank you for your kind review.
Sorry you felt a bit rushed but we don't try to make anyone feel that way.
If there is a queue you automatically feel obliged to vacate your seats.
However I am glad to see that you have enjoyed your visit to us.
Kind Regards,
Liam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Quinlans Seafood Bar also viewed

 

Been to Quinlans Seafood Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing