We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel of our entire trip”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 3, 2014

If I were a poet, I'd write sonnets for days about how great The Ross is. If I were a baker, I'd bake epic cakes in honor of this lovely hotel. But I'm not, so let me try to convey in simple words how amazing The Ross is.

My mom and I recently spent 10 days traveling across Ireland, and after Dublin, Kilkenny and Cork we came to Killarney and stayed at The Ross for two nights. It's the only hotel we stayed in where I wished we would have booked more nights there.

The staff was very nice and extremely friendly, and despite the lobby being quite busy most of the time they always had enough people on-hand to help out anyone who had questions or needed a recommendation.

It's a very modern hotel, but has a lot of Ireland charm to it. It's very, very clean—our bathroom and room were impeccably kept—and has some cool touches to it that we didn't see at any other hotel. First, there was an American outlet in the room. We had two plug converters with us, but that was a really nice bonus to see in a room. Also—and this is completely unnecessary but amusing nonetheless—there is a speaker in the bathroom that pipes in sound from the TV in the bedroom area. I don't know why that amused me so much, but it did.

The shower was hands-down the best shower we encountered on our trip, and the bathroom counter had lots of space to accommodate the toiletries of two people. They also had the best soaps/lotions that we found (I snuck a couple home with me... shhh). Parking is free at their sister hotel across the street, too, which we found to be a rarity.

The hotel's location was superb—we could walk to everything we wanted to do in town, and it's really right in the middle of it all. Oh! Our room overlooked a graveyard behind St. Mary's church, too. Some people might not appreciate that, but I thought it was quaintly spooky. :)

Anyway, the bottom line here is that if you're traveling to Killarney, you should stay at The Ross.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Megan M,

Words cant do justice to how blown away all the team are here by your review....It is hanging up in our canteen!
Thank you so much for taking the time to go through our hotel in detail.

We really do hope to see you again soon.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

455 - 461 of 928 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014 via mobile

Beauty hotel in killarney hearth stylish and multi colour inside great relaxing atmosphere absolutely delicious food ! Restaurant staff will really look after u and they will make sure u r happy with everything. Rooms they r big comfortable and clean. Highly recommend. Had lovelly time what I'll never forget thank you x

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank alittlebalerina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear alittlebalerina,

Thanks so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay with us. We are thrilled you enjoyed the hotel especially our restaurant Cellar One.

Please come back and stay again sometime!

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2014

The Ross hotel is in a great location right in the center of a bustling Killarney. We were greeted by and sent off by Marzena who was lovely and extremely helpful. Our hotel room was very large with an unexpected King bed. The cocktail bar inside the hotel - The Lane - was great. While my husband enjoyed his beloved Guinness, I enjoyed several Mojitos. The food was fab and we even returned the next day to have more before we left. Food service is from 12:30-9pm in the bar area. We will definitely return to The Ross!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lksium19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear IKsium19,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. Lovely to hear that our cocktails went down well for you both during your stay with us. Our cocktail making team in The Lane will be delighted with your comments! We really hope you make it back to stay with us soon.

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed at this hotel two years ago. We loved the boutique atmosphere and have to commend the restaurant breakfast maî·tre d'. His service was exceptional - quality professionalism from another era! Very rare these days.

The room was spacious, clean and modern, with a comfortable bed, although there was slight noise from a side street or neighbouring building. We loved the location of this hotel - easy walking distance into town. We thoroughly enjoyed the restaurant recommendation from staff. We would easily return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveToTravelOSeas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear LoveToTravelOSeas,

What a great review from quite some time ago!

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of The Ross. We really do appreciate it.

Bart in the restaurant will be especially delighted with your comments!

It is good to know that in 2014, we have installed second windows in our bedrooms which has helped to eliminate street noise and this has worked a charm.

Thank you again.

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

My niece and I spent the last eight days traveling through Ireland and we stayed one night at The Ross while in Killarney. This hotel was just perfect. It was clean and comfortable. The beds were excellent, the food was amazing and the hotel staff went out of their way to be helpful. I wish we were able to stay more than one night. Killarney and The Ross were the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Becky B.

We are thrilled to hear The Ross ticked all of the right boxes for you and your niece and your highlights included our comfortable beds, food and of course our team here at the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back should you return to Ireland on your next holiday.
We would love to have you stay again.

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

When we tried to book the Killarney Park Hotel (probably one of the best hotels in Ireland) it was fully booked so they offered to book us into their sister hotel across the road, the Ross. It is truly an excellent hotel. Nothing about it could be faulted. The staff were very helpful, the room was large and comfortable and the breakfast was one of the best I have had. The big sister across the road had better look to her laurels.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrigaholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear Carrigholt,

Thanks for your fantastic review. You have really helped us in our friendly competive banter with our big sister the Killarney Park Hotel. We are delighted that The Ross lived up to your expectations and that breakfast was really super. Next time you are in Killarney, you will have two choices and we will both be trying to win your business.....decisions decisions decisions!!

Many thanks again.

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

There are not too many hotels like this in the world. This is a family run place that is extremely friendly, modern, comfortable and located in a perfect spot in Killarney. From the moment we stepped in, we were very well taken care of. The front desk staff spent quite a bit of time talking to us about the things to do in town and in other cities. They were always willing to help and made sure we were happy with our stay. Our room was went beyond our expectations. It was extremely clean and very comfortable. We had a problem with our fireplace on arrival and it was taken care of promptly. There were no other issues with out stay. We loved this hotel and will definitely be back in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravioli33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this reviewResponded June 1, 2014

Dear ravioli33,

Thanks so much for your kind words about our hotel The Ross. Martina, Marzena and Eileen in reception are delighted with your comments that they were helpful in planning your day trips around Killarney. We do have a wealth of knowledge of the local area and we want all our guests to get as much as possible from their stay.

We really do hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,447 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,357 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Address: East Avenue, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $150 - $253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing