We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Boutique Hotel, Bland Suite.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Boutique Hotel, Bland Suite.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My wife and I visited The Ross for three nights early April, on our anniversary.
We chose The Ross based on reviews and the fact that it was referred to as the best boutique hotel in Killarney.

The initial reaction was very good, the hotel Reception, Lounge area, Restaurant and Bar are modern, with lots of pink and purple and lime greens, problem is that is where it stops.
Our suite 201, was anything but boutique. It is bland to say the least.
We were disappointed that such a large canvas had not been "Boutiqued" .
There was no colour, funky designs, little features as seen downstairs.
It was what you get from any Suite, Deluxe room in any hotel and having paid € 150.00 per night, we did expect a lot more of the "WoW" factor.

On the plus side,
the staff were first class, the location was perfect, the noise levels ( which was criticised in other reviews ) were fine. Parking was provided at a sister hotel free.

On the negative side :
The bathroom is, for the size of the room, on the small side. It's 5ft by 8ft (approx) and has a bath, walk in shower, large wash-hand basin, and a wc. There is not a lot of room left.
A tea tray is not supplied, but is available on request. Unfortunately it is a sad effort. A few loose tea bags, a few coffee sticks and some UHT milk is less than expected for a 4 star hotel.
The wi-fi kept dropping in and out.
There was a lovely gas log fire in the room. Problem was we could not get it to work.
After being to reception for wi-fi, tea tray, and a small problem with the shower ( which was attended to professionally ) , we decided to leave it be.

Overall we were less than impressed with the room, but we could not fault the ground floor or the staff, which was first class.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jay_deeCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear jay_dee Cork,

Thanks so much for your very thorough review of The Ross.
I am sorry that our junior suite did not live up to your expectations. We have 6 different colour schemes in the rooms - green, pink, purple, blue and red which are the junior suites at the front of the hotel. As the hotel is a landmark building, yes the front suites have large bay windows which are on the traditional side. I take all your points about the room and we can work on these so thank you. Thanks for your great feedback on our staff. We are delighted with this. Should you wish to stay again, please contact me directly and I will make sure you are well looked after.

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    709
    124
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
385
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We were spoilt on our anniversary trip to the Ross. The girl on reception was exceptional. We loved the upgrade and personalized dessert on arrival to Mark our anniversary. Nothing was too big an ask. The restaurant and cocktail bar were the cherry on the cake. I've stayed in 4 other hotels in killarney and this was the best and most memorable. We can't wait to go back

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CorkGercork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear CorkgerCork,

Thanks for your review of The Ross. Congradulations on your recent anniversary and I am glad you enjoyed our complimentary brownie they are pretty good!
We would love to see you back here again sometime.

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

My husband and i stayed at the ross hotel loast weekend and had a fab time it was so relaxing and so so nice the staff were so nice and couldnt do enough for us the room was lovely everything was just we wanted we had dinner in the bar and the service was great just like the wine had a very relaxing break will definitly go agin lookin 4ward to it

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colette l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Collette 1,

Thank you for taking the time to post this review and that our team here at the Ross made it a relaxing trip for you both. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

We stumbled upon The Ross during our first trip to Killarney in 2007 and were lucky enough to get a room that night. The experience blew us away and we have stayed here almost annually since then. Our last visit was over Christmas this past year and we were thrilled to be back!! The hotel is ultra modern with flashes of hot pink throughout, the rooms are very large, immaculate and super comfortable...this last visit we splurged for a suite and were welcomed with a roaring fire and fresh fruit plate, what a treat!!! The bar and restaurant are also excellent, we enjoyed some great cocktails in the bar before heading downstairs to dinner. The food was delicious and the wine list was great, try the Malbec if you like red! And the best part of staying here may be the breakfast, by far the best breakfast I have ever encountered in a hotel. There is a continental display as well as a menu to order from. Everything is delicious, make sure you try the muffins! I look forward to staying at The Ross during our next trip to Ireland!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maryleb0ne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Maryleb0ne,

We are absolutely delighted with your fantastic review of The Ross, thanks so much for taking the time to do this. We are also delighted with the comments on our breakfast....we constantly trying to add to the variety so its great when guests appreciate the selection! We hope you both had a super visit to Killarney again and maybe again we will see you in another 7 years time!

Best wishes,
Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level Contributor
269 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here alone while working in Killarney. I'm pregnant and wanted to be as central as possible. My room key wouldn't work properly and they were so attentive. The staff were just so nice and nothing was too much to ask. Especially Eileen and Martina! My room was fab. Absolutely adored the large bath :) super price and right in the middle of town.

Didnt have time for brekkie as I had a super early check out :(

Ps - also loved the bowl of refresher sweets at the reception :)

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Dawnywawny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Dear Dawnywawny,

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. Thrilled to hear The Ross worked very well for you. The receptionists are delighted with the shout out! We will see you another time with a baby in tow. Many thanks again.

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The Ross Hotel is very modern and the hotel lobby and bar area are very inviting. The rooms are large, clean, and have a distinctly trendy feel. If you're looking for a change of pace from the more historic, traditional hotels, this is the place to stay. Parking is free at the hotel's sister property...just a short walk across the street. The hotel is offers much better service than you'd expect given the price. We stayed for one night and used The Ross Hotel as our base from which to explore the Ring of Kerry.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Charles T,

Thank you for your super review. I am glad The Ross worked well for you as a base for the Ring of Kerry. We have a great location we like to think. Yes our big sister hotel the 5 star Killarney Park is just across the road so we are lucky to have free parking and free use of fantastic pool and spa facilities. We hope Kerry overall made a lasting impression on you.

Many thanks,

Ciara
The Ross Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

Just back from a girls weekend at the Ross Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were extremely helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed for two nights and had arranged to eat in the restaurant on the first night. We ended up eating here again on the second night (in the bar this time) as it was so good. Breakfast was also lovely. We complimented the waitress on the muffins and they freshly baked a new batch just for us to take home! The bar was quirky and comfortable and the cocktails were delicious. Top marks for bedrooms, food, location and customer service.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, General Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Yvonne T,

Thansk so much for your comments on our hotel The Ross. We are thrilled that everything exceeded your expectations from our team to our food to our bedrooms.

Please come and stay with us again soon!

Le meas,
Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,069 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant and The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Orbitz so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing