We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable and Convenient Hotel in the Heart of Killarney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham Al
Level Contributor
90 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient Hotel in the Heart of Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

The Ross Hotel is a wonderful place to stay when visiting Killarney. The hotel is very well located in the heart of the city center. It is very easy to walk to the pubs, restaurants, and shops in Killarney from there. Everything is convenient there. The rooms were equipped with anything a traveller might need,including a US electrical outlet, a mini refrigerator, a safe in the room, and a very comfortable bed.
The staff was very helpful and cheerful. In particular, the ladies at the reception desk were helpful with booking tours of local attractions, providing instructions for driving routes, and making recommendations regarding the"must see" attractions in the area.
The breakfast included a very nice continental buffet and a menu for hot breakfast choices.
My husband and I really enjoyed our stay there and highly recommend it to anyone who is traveling to Killarney.

Room Tip: The Ross is the sister hotel to the larger and more expensive Park Plaza Hotel. The spa and fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leapin_lemur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

855 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    708
    124
    16
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
385
20
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

What a delight in the heart of lovely Killarney Village. We were there in early September this year 2013. We were greeted with pleasant and helpful staff immediately. The ladies at reception were more than eager to answer all of our questions and point us in the right direction. All staff went above and beyond to help us and make our stay an enjoyable one. The room was clean, spacious and so comfy!

A HUGE Thank You to the The Ross and all the staff! We will definitely be back and most certainly we will stay at The Ross - a great hotel in a fantastic area of Ireland.

Room Tip: Our room was above an alley with pubs below. The staff let us know it might be loud at night and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3kat67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed at The Ross hotel earlier this month as a family, so we had 4 rooms booked. The hotel worked out great. Really cool vibe to the place and the bar was great and open late! Our room was nice and comfortable. The only complaint (but we knew this could be a problem when we booked the hotel) is that it was really loud late at night due to the bars behind the hotel. You don't want to sleep with your windows open. Other than that, the staff was very friendly and helpful. :-)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My husband and i popped into The Lane bar and we had a great evening. Our intentions were to stay for one drink as we had a lot more pubs to check out :).....Four Margarita's and dinner later we just couldn't leave the place. Everything about the place is wonderful!!! Cocktails - Food - Staff - Atmosphere. I would highly recommend The Lane bar. Cocktails were 9 euros each but so worth the money! I can honestly say they were the best cocktails i had in a very long time so i didn't mind paying the money. Food is top notch and the service first class. The staff came across happy in their work place which i firmly believe is very important!!!! Next time we stay in Killarney we will definately call back!!!!! Thank you so much for a great evening xxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angiepangies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This stunning hotel is right in the heart of Killarney. On arrival we found we had a complimentary upgrade to a suite which was very stylish and comfortable. The restaurant was funky and modern and both dinner and breakfast were tasty and beautifully presented and the staff were helpful and professional. Special mention to all the reception staff as nothing we asked for was too much trouble. Reading some other reviews the lack of tea making facilities was mentioned, in fact, if they had read their room guide they would have seen that this was available on request!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a great 4* hotel in a great location in Killarney. The parking was easy to access over at their sister hotel, the Killarney Park and the staff were terrific. The room was wonderful and I especially loved that there was a speaker for the TV was in the bathroom (it's the small things really ;-)). They were really accommodating for breakfast and the bar was wonderful too. The only drawback (as with another review) was the noise from the downstairs bars. I stayed two nights (Monday and Tuesday) and it was still quite loud up until midnight, however I seemed to be able to block it out easy enough. Would be good to get the windows noise proofed perhaps, otherwise perhaps request a quieter room?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brisneylandkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

To start with, the positives - the Ross hotel is wonderfully located in the heart of Killarney, right in the middle of all of the fun and excitement this city has to offer. The rooms were modern and the beds quite comfortable. The bar has a contemporary feel, while also being warm and relaxing. We used the exercise facilities at the Killarney Park Hotel across the road, which was excellent. We had breakfast in the restaurant, and the food was superb. Certainly the best thing about this hotel is that everyone was so professional and friendly. True Irish hospitality.

We had only one issue, and that was the noise on Saturday night, which went well past 1 am. There are a couple of pubs next to the hotel, and the noise at night outside is just terrible. We were in room 205 and were woken several times throughout the night and had a very restless sleep. Sunday night was much quieter, so it was really just the one night. I would strongly recommend that if you are not planning on partying late in the night on a Saturday night, that you consider staying at the Killarney Park Hotel across the street, which is a sister hotel to the Ross, and just a short walk away. Although the hotel can't control the noise coming out of the bars, perhaps earplugs can be provided to guests on Saturday nights. I happened to bring a pair that I use when I'm swimming, and they helped reduce the noise quite a bit.

Room Tip: Tell the front desk to put you in a quiet room, especially on a Saturday night. Bring ear plugs if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsjang89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,923 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant and The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing