We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great location, yummy breakfast”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
148 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Very nice, great location, yummy breakfast”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

This boutique hotel is just amazing. 29 rooms but it has all the amenities of a big hotel. We only stayed one night but I would've loved to stay more. I will definitely stay here again if I'm in Killarney. Very chic, trendy, hip. Room was quite large, clean, great hair dryer (not the kind attached to the wall). Bathroom was very large with separate tub and shower. Staff was very friendly and the lounge area, breakfast restaurant, bar were very nice and popular. The included breakfast was cooked to order from a menu. Manager Bart was super friendly and helpful and spent a lot of time talking with us while we waited for food. The 3rd floor had a nice little balcony outside by the elevator which was nice to sit outside for fresh air in the morning or night. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: I think we were in room 303. Large, lovely view of the church next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outdoorz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    129
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
117
404
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed in the beautiful Ross for one night on June 6th for a little relaxing break. We were greeted at the reception by the hotel manager who was very warm and welcoming. We had arrived at noon which was early for check-in but our room was ready so we were able to go to our room straight away which was brilliant. Our room was lovely and quite spacious and stylishly designed. We dined in the hotels gorgeous CellarOne restaurant where we were served by such friendly, attentive staff Bart and Kerry. Food was delicious! The restaurant is a must. After dinner we went up to the cocktail bar The Lane bar and tried a variety of the gorgeous cocktails. The barman was exceptionally nice and made the best cocktails in Killarney! Thank you for the beautiful stay!

Room Tip: Deluxe double room 105 was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank purple12j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Ross Hotel for two nights in May. The hotel was fabulous. This was the largest room that I have ever had on a trip to Europe - with windows on both sides, a sitting area with two armchairs, a fire place and a refrigerator. The hotel's decor is on the modern side (don't miss the Pink Lounge) but was not stark. The hotel is well located, close to the park and the shops and restaurants in the area. We had cocktails and food at the bar in the hotel and enjoyed that as well. The breakfasts were also great - a nice variety on the buffet and on the cook to order menu. Only negative was eating breakfast in the restaurant, which was in the basement. Otherwise, stay here when in Killarney.

Room Tip: We had room 310 - and my sister had room 210 - both are at the end of the building so had windows on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdgpcp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shannon, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Was in Killarney last weekend visiting friends and decided to go for dinner in The Ross. We were greeted and seated by Bart who was very friendly and professional. Beautiful decor, great atmosphere and great food. Three of us had the tequila prawn with rice as recommended by Bart and we loved it.. They also make very nice cocktail in the bar which was amazing. Great service, fantastic place.We will definitely be back..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stayed four nights at the Ross and loved every minute. The staff are simply wonderful and the hotel is a beautiful, modern and whimsically decorated property. Our room was large, overlooking a beautiful church. It, as the entire hotel, was beautifully decorated in a very avant fashion. The hotel is in the town centre but not so close that you get the noise from the main street, which can become a boisterous place. The Ross is clearly a meeting place for town folk since it has such a hip bar and food menu. And the food here is delicious. We ended up eating dinner at the Ross twice after long days made up too tired to go out. They also have a cappuccino bar in the lobby. If I ever returned to Killarney, I wouldn't consider staying anywhere else!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Loved this hotel. It was so modern and up to date. The decor was amazing and big kudos to the designer. We were on the 3rd floor and were greated with a lovely balcony once the doors of the lift opened. Our room was perfect big size and the shower in the bathroom massive. Breakfast was freshly made which is always a bonus in a hotel. The hotel also has a great cocktail bar which is a nice was to spend the evening.
We just had one problem - at 7.30 on the Saturday morning there was someone using a strimmer in the grounds of the church next door which woke us. We were not able to get back to sleep because it continued for about 45 mins. It might be worth having a word with them re the times they do their gardening ;-)
Other than that the hotel is great and we will be back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cailindeas30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

One issue before I sing my praises: "Town Centre" does not cut it as an address for this New York navigator. After driving around for many times, my friend accosted a gas station attendant who escorted us to the hotel despite our surly attitudes. I let the hotel receptionist know my frustration in my subtle New York way (as my wife winced with embarrassment).

Well, EILEEN took it all in stride, listened to my rant about the address and a carpark mishap and, while I was upstairs in my very nice room, she called the carpark owner to fix the problem, and offered to walk me out to my car and get me situated at the free parking located at their sister hotel across the street. And guess what? I managed not to scare all of Ireland for the rest of my trip. In part due to Eileen's unspoken reminder that cool kindness catches more flies than vinegary New York rants. Thanks, E!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TBA2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,109 reviews
3.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: East Avenue, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing