We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most central, modern and friendliest hotel k have stayed in for quite some time.”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 22, 2012

Myself and 2 girlfriends booked for 1 night stay with breakfast, spa treatment and lunch. The moment we entered the hotel lobby we were impressed and I hate to say it we are not easily impressed. The concierge was friendly and most helpful. The room (2 king beds) was spacious and the beds are like sleeping on pillows. Complimentary water in the fridge and luxurious beauty products. The bar (the Lane) seemed to be the most popular in Killarney. We were late for breakfast mostly because we were so comfy we didn't wake to traffic or other guests slamming doors or making noise. The staff could not have been any more accommodating. The food was delicious and the choice on the menu was vast. Freshly baked muffins and croissants were not easy to pass up. We had a choice of spa treatment of facial or massage for a half hour. I opted for the massage which was spectacular. We got to enjoy the dry heat room and after the massage the relaxation room with complimentary herbal tea, water and fruit. No pressure to leave and we had plenty of time to shower and change. The spa treatments are available in their sister hotel located across the street and although it may seem like an inconvenience it wasn't. As we took our time in the spa we were late checking out of the hotel but were assured this was not a problem. We were given an late check out which we really appreciated. We were able to leave our luggage in reception to do a dot of retail therapy and avail of our lunch in the sister hotel which was also outstanding. We left Killarney feeling relaxed and very happy. I would highly recommend the Ross hotel to anyone. It should have 5 stars. :)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parknamore1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (930)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

623 - 629 of 931 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

Hi!
We booked 2 room at the Ross Hotel in Sept 2012. We stayed # nights and had a wonderful time in Killarney.
The hotel was in a fantastic location right in the centre of town.
Staff were very friendly and welcomed us back to the hotel everytime we returned, which was a nice touch. They were also very helpful with any questions we had.
The breakfast (that was included) was simply the best! So many choices, and exceptional quality. It was the best breakast selection ive had in a long time.
Rooms very very clean, and well styled. We also had nice large windows, which let in natural light which was nice in the mornings.
Would reccommend and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pz25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed her on Saturday 8/12/12, Firstly on entering the hotel, we were met by a lovely girl whom was very welcoming. The room 106 was fantastic, walk in shower, very comfortable beds etc. we had a few late drinks in bars in killarney, followed by one more sitting by the fire in the residence lounge, very comfortable, night porter very nice and mannered, the breakfast was amazing with a huge menu to choice from! The noise from side alley was loud but if your planning to be out on a Saturday, this is not a problem. The only downside was no running sink tap water the following morning, plumbing problem of some sort? Otherwise would recommend

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cillian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Over the weekend i met some friends in the cellar restaurant at the Ross Hotel in Killarney.We all had a wonderfull evening in a well managed Hotel and restaurant.The choice on the menu varied from local seafood to beef and the menu was well balanced along with a well stocked wine cellar.
The food was to a very high standard and all enjoyed very much. The restaurant was busy with both locals and tourists but still we were not left waiting or being rushed to pay and move on and vacate our table for waiting diners. Well done to the owners and staff.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here with group of friends last weekend. From our arrival to checkout we were greatest with friendly helpful staff. The rooms were lovely, comfortable and stylish. We had a meal booked which was really lovely. Breakfast also had plenty of choice.

Conveniently situated to walk everywhere. Will definitely be back here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EllieCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed at the Ross for two nights during our honeymoon, and it was just a fantastic experience. The location is perfectly convenient. We were traveling by train and easily carried our luggage the short couple of blocks from the station to the Ross. All the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. We stayed in Room 101 and I can't recommend it enough. A fireplace and sitting area, not to mention windows that face the street and carriage parking made for a great stay. There is a nice cafe a couple of doors from the entrance and the entire city centre is directly around the corner. The hotel helped set us up with the Kilarney Riding Stables for a simply stunning 3 hour horseback ride through the national park. We took a cab out to Muckross House and it took about 15 minutes and, I believe, was about 15 Euros. The food at The Ross was fantastic and we really enjoyed ending our evenings with a drink at the bar. We can't recommend The Ross enough.

Room Tip: Room 101. If you're gonna spend a little extra, we recommend doin' it on this suite.
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

My wife and I have stayed at The Ross on a number of occasions over the last few years. We love it. The staff are great. We love the bar area and a visit to the restaurant is always a special part of our trip. We were there 3 weeks ago, and the chap in the restaurant remembered us from our visit last year, and welcomed us back. Really great service. The food and atmosphere is not to be missed.

The rooms are very spacious.. Spotless in every way.

We love The Ross. Can't wait to get back there again next year.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FD85114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,449 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,366 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,283 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Europe Hotel & Resort
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Address: East Avenue, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range: $150 - $252 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing