We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“romantic break”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
ferns
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“romantic break”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

top class boutique hotel. large rooms with a/c seperate shower and bath.very central in the town yet quiet because adjecent to church.fires lighting everywhere even in our room. top class coctail bar and tapas resturant.very friendly staff.no children were there during my stay. you have the use of the leisure centre in the 5star killarney park accross the road

Room Tip: 3 large suites called the tens are excelent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear John r,

Im delighted your enjoyed a romantic break here at The Ross recently and that everything was to your satisfaction. If you return someday, please let us know and we will make sure you are well looked after again!

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    128
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
400
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the Ross hotel recently with a group of friends on girly weekend. We stayed in the suite which was a beautiful large room with fire place and super views of the town at its best. there was fresh fruit and home made muffins waiting for us in the room, a lovely suprise. All the staff were extremely helpful. The decor of the hotel is great, loved it. My tip would be the get yourself a cuppa an sit at one of the couchs by the front window and get lost people watching. Food was excellant and the bar serves amazing cocktails. We all left pencilling in what is now going to be an annual trip to this hotel

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keane79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Keane79,

We are delighted to hear you had a super weekend at The Ross and that you loved the food and cocktails which we try to make the very best in town!

We look forward to seeing you next year!

Le meas,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The Ross is a very smart boutique hotel in the central roundabout area of Killarney. We paid for a larger room and I think its worth the extra $$ to get the suite for the extra space. There's a fireplace and couch area as well as views of the square and a very comfortable bed. One thing is that it can be a little noisy with a front facing room (suite 201 is what we had) but we didnt mind at all.

Some people at the front desk were more helpful than others (Ciara in particular was very knowledgable about non-touristic things to do)

The average breakfast buffet had limted selections – I would advise to choose menu items which tended to be much better The decor, multi-level bar, and lane-way outdoor seating compliment the cocktails in the bar which were excellent. And there was a lot of variety as well.

All in all I think this is a great boutique hotel in great location. The service from check in to waitstaff was very good. Dont be surprised though if your room is serviced later in the day. You should also visit their sister hotel for afternoon drinks on a sunny day (Garden Bar at Killarney Park Hotel).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank habsno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear habsno1,

Thanks you for very honest description of the Ross particularly the team here who will be delighted with your comments. I hope you got some insider knowledge of the town and you enjoyed yourselves
We hope to see you agian soon.

Best wishes,

Ciara
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This was our favorite hotel on a recent trip to Ireland! Everyone associated with the hotel went out of their way to make sure our stay was memorable! We had the corner room on the second floor with a great view of the church next door. The room was clean and spacious with an awesome bathroom! My son and daughter-in-law were right next door...all we needed to do was ring their door bell to get their attention! The sit down breakfast was awesome! The french toast was a family favorite. Our waitress was congenial and friendly, she even packed a little treat for us when we checked out. The central location of the hotel was very convenient for touring the city and outlaying areas. We enjoyed Hannigans Pub right next door! Thanks Lisa Zwissler from Beach Bum Vacation for booking this fabulous hotel. Should we ever return to Ireland this would be a must place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdrynone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2012

i had my hen here and it was amazing.Bang in the heart of killarney,walking distance to everything.loved the clip clop of the jarvies!we started with a lovely afternoon tea and there was loads of treats to go around and plenty of tea and coffees too.we all got our own dish,there was 30 of us but we had our own area and the staff were friendly and attentive.nothing was a problem.we got ready in our chic,funky and stylish rooms.had a glass of bubbles before a gorgeous 2 course meal.The flavours were sumptious.There was 1 coeliac and 1 vegetarian and both were delighted with their food.Ended the night with fab cocktails in the buzzing hotel bar and the tunes were feel good from start to finish.Breakfast was yummy!everything was so fresh and tasty,i had pancakes as good as my mums,the girls loved the omelettes and full irish and as for the tea ,misses doyle wouldnt keep up!!we are all coming back to this fab spot!,big thanks to eleanor and bernadette.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timmymollyCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Fun and trendy hotel. It is in the perfect location. The rooms are nice (and big for Ireland) and the beds are comfortable. Both nights we stayed we had to call the front desk to complain because of the noise coming from the 'smokers' outside of the bar/restaurant. Now, granted it was a 'race' weekend, but the noise was so bad and continued through 1AM. The hotel did very little in terms of an apology and nothing was offered in terms of compensation.

That being said, I would still recommend this hotel, because of its location, price, atmospere and average service, but ask for a room away from the 'smokers alley".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Finnigan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnet Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel... while traveling 9 days through Ireland (1,000 km!) we stayed at many very nice hotels, but this was my favorite! Loved the huge & posh room for my family of 4. The hotel put 2 cots in for my kids (10 &13) while hubbie and I shared the king bed. There was still plenty of room to do cart-wheels (not that we did ;). I recommend suite 201. Two big bay windows overlook the front street with jaunt carts and people bustling about. Just awesome. The breakfast that was included in our package was wonderful, too. Fantastic location in wonderful Killarney with plenty of pubs, restaurants and shopping within an easy walking distance. A few local recommendations if you stay here: Bricin's restaurant (you won't be disappointed with this traditional irish fare) and the Gap of Dunloe trip through Deros travel, pay the extra for the tour around The Ross Castle. Such a great few days in this spot!!!! Enjoy.

Room Tip: I'd suggest suite 201.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clbzipf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,058 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,081 reviews
3.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road | Killarney, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing