We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning boutique hotel”
Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning boutique hotel”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Firstly, the positive this hotel gets top marks for appearance. It's stunning, and really took us by surprise because its quiet small and unassuming from the outside.

However, what this hotel suffers badly from, is lack of attention from both the staff and the general public it seems.

Because this hotel is so discreet, it seems no one locally either knows about it or uses it and as such its restaurant and bar end up suffering. We had dinner in the restaurant the night of our arrival. It's a stunning below ground experience that should be packed with people, brimming with atmosphere and really showing Killarney how its done. Unfortunately the food was average, there was no atmosphere (because there was only two tables) and the service from the one waiter was appalling. He ended up serving our sides when we were halfway through our mains and made no apologies for it.

The bar is nice, but mid-week wasn't hopping and certainly not somewhere you'd want to base yourself all night, which is a shame because its such a beautiful venue.

The staff seem bored and unchallenged. The lady at reception was nice, but after our initial check in, the more we passed her and saw her, the more awkward and strained it felt. At one point we joked about how she must be bored and she agreed.

Many reviews on here have spoken about the spa/pool, which may be a bit misleading. It isn't 100% clear on the website that the health and fitness facilities are a 2 minute walk to a different hotel. Which sounds OK, but in practice is a chore and left us wondering why we didn't just check into THAT hotel instead. After an hour in a steam room and hot tub, I don't really want to be walking up the street to my hotel room with a red puffy face or wet hair...

Those points aside, our room was stunning and absolutely spotless. There's a middle 'lobby' area in the hotel with a fire that is just divine and a perfect spot for a couple of hours of chilling out (with the odd staff member stamping through every so often just to keep you awake...)

Over all, I'd recommend the hotel because it is so beautiful and charming, but there's a lot of areas it needs to work on.

Room Tip: If you can, go for the first floor suite. It has a stunning gas fire that you can chill out at.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gudinuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review of our hotel, The Ross.
Firstly thank you for your comments regarding the interior of the hotel. We certainly take pride in this.

I will have to disagree with you regarding our staff. If you note all of our other reviews, it is the staff that stand out before the décor and style of the hotel.
I certainly take your point regarding service in the restaurant and thanks for passing this on.
We encourage customer feedback as we are constantly striving to learn and improve all aspects of the hotel.

I believe you were staying last week and yes it was an exceptionally quiet week.
However, I can assure you the hotel is overloaded every weekend with locals.
Maybe you will come back another time on a weekend as it would appear to suit you better.
Please contact me directly should you wish to stay another time.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Best wishes.

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    750
    132
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
124
412
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Stayed here again for one night while doing business in Killarney and was delighted with the service and friendly attention by all the staff, especially reception. The room was immaculate and very well appointed. Breakfast the next morning was very good and was served in a friendly pleasant manner, we could not find any fault with our stay here, even the price was right. I will highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grassrooyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2012

From the Lane Bar to the Cellar One Restaurant, or the beautiful views we enjoyed from our amazing view in room 201, we loved The Ross! We had nothing to complain about, the staff was always there to accomodate us and Ciara was always there to offer me her advise on local travel and sightseeing. The dinners and breakfast were great as well as their proximity to the local sights. I will never forget the time we had here or the help provided by Ciara. I hope to be back to enjoy both of them again soon!

Room Tip: Stay on floor 2 with a view of the City Centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bond M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights as we travelled down south west coast.
First time in Killarney and we loved it. The Hotel is great, perfect location and wonderful staff. We were upgraded to a suite and it was simply perfect. The open fire in our room was so welcoming, especially since it rained most of our visit. The bar was great for a late night drink and we had the lounge all to ourselves again in front of an open fire. The hotel is very modern, yeah its a bit noises outside, but your on the main road, the horse drawn coaches are directly outside. but it adds to the overall charm.
My one gripe, and it really annoyed us was the dreadful service in the restaurant on our first night. We arrived on a Wednesday so it was quiet, our table was booked for 8pm and there was only one other table of 6 in the restaurant this night.
Our Waiter was quiet simply useless! He brought our mains, then returned to the kitchen to get our sides, only to return with the starters for the other table, then off he went to get our sides.. except he went back to the other table again. In the end, our sides arrived when we were almost finished. He couldnt see how annoyed we were and in the end we just took our drinks to the lounge and left him to it, too disappointed to even discuss it with him.
Chapter 40 the following evening made us forget all about the bad waiter!
Go enjoy this hotel,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foodie558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Excellent location, very friendly staff and definitely the best breakfast we had in Ireland! I can only reccomend it!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cristina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Christina S,

Thanks so much for your great comments especially regarding the breakfast. We do our best to give people a good choice for breakfast and we keep it very fresh with lots of home made baked goodies like our delicious chocolate chip muffins and our fluffy scones.
I hope your holidays in Ireland was everything you hoped for.

Best regards,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2012

I had my 18th birthday at Cellar One restaurant at the Ross Hotel on Saturday night, it was a wonderful night from the moment we arrived the staff were very friendly and efficient. The food was lovely and very good value. We finished our evening with cocktails in the Lane Bar which had a really good buzz! :D really enjoyable from start to finish!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Niamh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Niamh H,

Thanks for choosing the Ross to celebrate your birthday and for your great comments.
We love the buzz of the hotel also!

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Good place, has just ben re done. The restaurant in the basement is really recommendable. Food in there is very very good. The rooms are nice and worm decorated and very clean. Is right beside a church. Good place to start any kind of activity around Killarney. Only thing was, that we where booked right above a pretty lively Night Club that is part of the hotel, nice if your out anyway, maybe even right to that place, but not so nice if your there with the family.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerhard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Dear Gerhard G,

Thanks for your comments regarding The Ross. All feedback is fantastic for the team.
Yes, our bar is a very popular cocktail bar at the weekends only and we have a resident DJ. The bar however closes at 12.30pm. I hope you were not inconvenienced too much.

Thanks agan for choosing The Ross.

Best wishes,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,404 reviews
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,214 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#11 of 38 in Killarney
2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#15 of 38 in Killarney
2,176 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
3.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: East Avenue, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant, The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar and the Pink Lounge, which is home to 50 different types of Gin from all over the world. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing