We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ross

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ross
Ranked #4 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

This hotel, managed by a wonderful young lady named Ciara (Kira) provided clean, comfortable rooms n a small boutique hotel in the center of everything. The friendliness of Ciara and her staff made our trip. The hotel provides good food and a trendy bar for those so inclined. Originally schedules to be at the sister hotel, the Killarney Park, I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I return to Killarney.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrMud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    720
    126
    17
    5
    2
See reviews for
115
395
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
DeFuniak Springs, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

There are not enough words to discribe our experience at the Ross Hotel.. Ken and I fell in love with Jane, Eileen (Byron) and the entire staff. We didn't want to leave. We had such a great time and Love Killarney - the charm is truly Ireland! Jane and Eileen went way beyond our expectations.. we really can not say enough - Ken and I consider them as part as our extended family. We can not wait to return (I still have my key to room 305). The Ross Hotel ROCKS and we would not consider staying anywhere else - Thank-you Jane and Eileen (Byron as well) you made all of our dreams come true - we love you - Ken and Sue Mara - Anyone going to Ireland - stay at the Ross!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The Ross is very central, within walking distance of everything including shops, cinema, hairdressers, bars and clubs. Staff were extremely nice and breakfast was great. The room was very comfortable and clean. I will def be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabelle221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
philadelphia, usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

If you are looking for a state of the art hotel in the middle of the aciton in Killarney The Ross is the place. Not only was the hotel great, but the staff was even better. Can't recommend this hotel any more highly.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hpogust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Have just returned from a two night 'girls night out' and from the moment we booked it the entire staff made us feel so special and pampered. Ciara was constantly on hand and sorted every detail with a smile. Jane in the front desk made every change I asked to our room bookings with a smile(and there were many). We ate in the bar on the Friday night and Cellar One on Sat and the food and atmosphere in both was just gorgeous. The rooms were gorgeous and the use of the five star pool was a lovely touch. Ciara even made a great recommendation for a trip to Dinis cottage on the Sat that our large group really enjoyed. There was a calm and unobtrusive sense of consistent organization in this hotel and the staff genuinely seem to enjoy there job. I could not rate this hotel highly enough. Our large group have decided to have an anniversary hen next year just to come back! Thank you Ciara, Jane and Mags and everyone for making my job as chief organizer for the weekend so much easier! Only live an hour away but coming back to stay!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresekelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear Therese,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Ross.
It really gives our team a great boost to read such reviews.
We were delighted to have you and the gang stay with us recently.You were all such a delight.
We look forward to your return and maybe you will be able to haul them up Torc mountain on your return!

Best wishes,

Ciara

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork,ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

Im just back from my friends hen party where we had a fantastic meal and cocktails in The Lane Cocktail Bar within the hotel. The bar is stunning so trendy and ideal for a group of girls on a hen night..the food was absolutely beautiful, Cocktails were delicious and excellant service..The hotel is designed stunningly and was a perfect location in the middle of town to start our party. Would highly recommend this bar and restaurant and look forward to revisiting soon!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkirelandmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

My husband and I had been traveling across Europe for 2 weeks, and were spending the day in Kilarney to drive the Dingle Peninsula (highly, highly recommended!). We found The Ross on Trip Advisor and booked it for 1 night.

From the moment we got there, the service was amazing -- the charming ladies at the reception desk made us feel completely at home and went out of there way to ensure we had everything we needed. They even upgraded us to a junior suite over looking St. Mary's Cathedral with a fire place (ask for room 210).

The next day, we found that the drive around Dingle was a lot longer than we expected and we wound up needing a place to stay in Kilarney again. When we arrived, they all remembered us and were able to put us back in the same room! We could not have planned it better.

Breakfast and dinner was included -- the food is great and breakfast is very convenient. It's a very trendy and rather quiet restaurant, so if you're looking for a traditional Irish pub, you'll need to venture down the street. However, dinner there and drinks at a pub after was a
great combination.

I very highly recommend this place for couples looking for a trendy, warm, and welcoming place in a perfect location right in the town centre of Kilarney. And, be sure to take a horse ride through the national park--price should be around 15 euros per person.

One last thing, it can get a little loud in room 210 since the wall of windows also overlooks the a pub next door.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karakriegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRossHotel, Manager at The Ross, responded to this review, June 26, 2011
Dear karakriegs,

Thank you for your very kind words and super photos.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and your trip around Kerry.
I hope to welcome you back to the Ross with your husband in the not too distant future.

Best regards,

Ciara Treacy
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 39 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,100 reviews
0.0 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#7 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#14 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
3.0 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ross

Property: The Ross
Address: Rossbay Ross Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#3 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#10 Family Hotel in Killarney
#12 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ross 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ross is perfectly situated in the famously scenic south west of Ireland. A seamless fusion of luxury and cool, The Ross provides the services and amenities of a luxury hotel within a stylish and chic environment. The 29 bedroomed Ross is also home to the dramatic Cellar One Restaurant and The Lane - a hip and lively cafe bar. Just steps from Killarney National Park, local bars and restaurants, The Ross is simply the best address in town! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Hotel Killarney
Ross Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing