We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exotic names, Hags Glen, Devils Ladder, Heavenly Gates, O Sheas Gully”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carrantoohil

Carrantoohil
Book In Advance
More Info
$121.02*
and up
Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin
Ranked #15 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ireland's highest peak.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
450 reviews
161 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 393 helpful votes
“Exotic names, Hags Glen, Devils Ladder, Heavenly Gates, O Sheas Gully”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

There are so many routes up and down that one is spoilt for choice, from the badly eroded most direct Devils Ladder route to the Zig Zags.
Parek up at Lisleibane orhe highly recommened Cronins Yard with its Tea Room.
Ensure you have the right gear to cope with the cahnges in weather and footwear....i have seen so many on top ill prepared for this mountain and its weather. Allow plenty of time...its takes an Hour just to hke in to the base of the Devils Ladder.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Loo99car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Killarney, Ireland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“great hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

climbed this twice. I prefer climbing up the Devil's Ladder route than the Caher route. had a great trip but sadly both times that I got to the top, I couldn't see anything. bring food and spare clothes if the weather isn't great. A must do

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank foleyger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A box ticked”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Meaning to climb this for a long time, so felt a nice sense of satisfaction, when I had done so; got a lovely clear day, so that helped! The Devil's Ladder route, which I took, is badly in need of maintenance work, so one of the alternative routes should be considered. The views from the top are panoramic, though in my opinion, marred by the indiscriminate housebuilding, which has steadily spoiled the once pristine Kerry landscape, over the past 20 years or so. Still, worth doing, if you're in the vicinity on a good day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mroshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing view, great climb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

it takes roughly 1.5 hours on a nice clear day to hike this mountain, very popular hike on boxing day, or st. stephen's day. Devil's ladder is the best way up and down, also beautiful walkway as you ver right away from the main path from cronin's yard. Climb this mountain every time, the view from the top never ceases to amaze me. Wouldn't go up in foggy weather, you need to watch where you are going!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
1 review
“Great day out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I have climbed this mountain a few times and each time I'm stiff and a little soar after it but so thankful that I did it.

It a super day out, I always start out from Cronins yard and find them most helpful. If you havent climbed it yet, put it on your to do list.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Afoodieofsorts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrantoohil also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Carrantoohil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing