We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Its a mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carrantoohil

Carrantoohil
Book In Advance
More Info
$120.43*
and up
Ring of Kerry Rail Trip from Dublin
Ranked #15 of 105 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ireland's highest peak.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Its a mountain”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

The highest mountain in Ireland and it was our second attempt at it. The fog lifted just as we were coming to the top otherwise we would have seen very little. Amazing views.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Sniipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    24
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monaghan, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

I never thought I would ever climb this Mountain, but to-day I did just that. Good parking and a lovely little Tea/coffee shop. The walk to the Devil's Ladder wasn't bad but as for the so called "Devils ladder" ....yes it was pretty hard going. However when you got to the top of the ladder you felt great. (what an achievement) The rest of the climb to the summit although tough, was good. The views from the summit were just fantastic ....Comming down was not easy but when we got back to the car pk and enjoyed a great cup of tea and scone we feel tired and at the same time a self of achievement.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank B11664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlean, VA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“challenging”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

the hike was worth it, but the last part of the hike is quite challenging and not for the faint hearted. It took me two tries to get to the top, but I am very glad I did.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cyndy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Definitely better to use guide with local knowledge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012 via mobile

Despite weather this was a wonderful day out and a great personal achievement. The climb was well worth it when the cloud lifted on the top and we got to see the views! Would definitely recommend this trip in the company of a local guide...great from a safety perspective but also the history and geography lesson kept our mind off the work of climbing! Started in the traditional starting point Cronin's Yard and hired guide from that website. Great value for money, went at lovely pace and entertained us as well.

Helpful?
Thank Mariekehoeosullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Its ok”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

We didnt have enough time to trek all thru the top and also, it was raining. So we just went to see it.
It is the highest peak of ireland but I found it quite ok compared to the other sites: Gap of Dunloe.
Do it if your fitness levels are good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank VasudhaDoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carrantoohil also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Carrantoohil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing