We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful”

Hotel Dunloe Castle Gardens
Ranked #39 of 106 things to do in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: These famous gardens are surrounded by the exquisite landscape known as the Gap of Dunloe.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

We loved this place, at the back of the hotel there is beautiful walks which by the way have exercises for the walker and we did them all , apart from the monkey bars which had fallen down. The view of the Laune river was fabulous and we took lotus of photographs of the castle.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    9
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained grounds”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

Recently visited the grounds of the Dunloe for a nice stroll through the highly recommended grounds. To be honest we were very disappointed. The garden walk starts off nice but quickly descends into very poorly maintained and overgrown walks. The walking surface is very uneven and some of the exercise units along the routes are beyond repair. The green house area is just filty with horse dung dumped beside it. The glazing of the indoor tennis courts is filty as is the roof sheeting. There was rubbish papers in the main car park. Finally there was empty bottles and what seemed to be rubbish at side of the stables. Overall the grounds need big maintenance work.

Helpful?
Thank Aidan9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wedding venue”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

went to a family wedding here hotel was amazing! food is beautiful and of a very high standard. The location is stunning and you can see the gap of dunloe.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CheshireNuttytart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic excellent expensive”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I had a good time that is all that actually really counts so overall I recommend coming here if you like myself also would like to have a good time.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jon-Savers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“great place”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

After a long flight and drive, we arrived at Hotel Dunloe...wonderful staff greeted us, room was beautiful overlooking the grounds. We watched the horses frolic. Clean! Large size rooms/bathrooms! Restaurant – food was delicious – staff pleasant! Just an all-around wonderful relaxing stay...free horseback riding, children's indoor play area, children's outdoor playground!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vaca123tions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hotel Dunloe Castle Gardens also viewed

Killarney, County Kerry
Killarney, County Kerry
 
Killarney, County Kerry
 

Been to Hotel Dunloe Castle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing