We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“not at all welcoming” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Heights Hotel Killarney

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“not at all welcoming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

i booked a single room and my daughter came to help me check in and i was made feel like a con artist as they kept telling me it was a single room for one person.they had assumed my daughter was staying too when all she was doing was helping me to check in.i was never offered the option of breakfast or any of the hotel aminities.that evening both of my daughters and i went to bar for a drink and service was dreadful. My room was very dated the control for the tv did not work.the room was not very clean and a family of spiders were in the throw on the bed.there was also toilet paper stuffed all around the extractor in bathroom.i am pleased i had booked for only one night as i dont think i could have stayed there longer.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank IrelandYvonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noreen O, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Yvonne,

I refer to your recent review posted above in relation to your stay with us on the 6th August last.

While I strongly welcome all feedback positive or negative I must express my utter disappointment on comments relating to your recent stay,

You arrived at the hotel on the 6th August last and had pre booked a single room at a special discounted rate of €36 room only.
When you presented yourself for check in the Receptionist on duty observed a second person in your company, she proceeded with your check in but verbally reiterated details of your reservation back to you in order to confirm all details were correct that it was a single room and that you had booked and confirmed it was a room only rate. This was done to clarify if we had the correct reservation details for you and also to confirm that we had not made a mistake when handling your reservation and to clarify in the politest way possible that you yourself had not made any last minute changes to your reservation.

Under the Hotel Proprietors Act 1963 which I have outlined below for you it is hotel policy and a legal requirement that Management or staff are made aware of any extra guests or company be it temporary or otherwise, which is why your reservation details were reiterated back to you by our receptionist in order to try spare you from any embarrassment which could occur later if questioned by management or night security as to who your additional guest/guests were thus resulting in you being left feeling like a “convict.”

Hotel Proprietors Act 1963 "Duty to Persons Who Are Not Guests"

A person who is not a guest (or intending immediately to become a guest) generally has no right to enter or remain on the premises over the objection of the hotel. Nor can a non-guest resort to public areas of the premises, such as lobbies or hallways, without the consent of the hotel. Despite the fact that the hotel has held itself out to the public with an invitation to enter and seek out accommodations, any person who enters without the intention of accepting an invitation for accommodations remains on the premises only by the consent of the hotel.

Perhaps you think the situation ridiculous but your extra company would immediately cause confusion for example check in – Single room booked but two people arrive for check in (no explanation given by guest) hence leading to your reservation details be reiterated to you again.

Every Irish Hotel throughout the country is governed by the above Act and must comply with the legislation outlined one of which states that a guest supply a sufficient level of personal information and if required present a form of identification if asked to do so. Certain information such as full name, address car registration etc are required by law and must be asked at check in. this is required from every guest be they regular or a once off arrival, the same rules apply.

We take these details not only for security but for a wide range of legal formalities. We are legally obliged to be in a position to supply adequate guest information in the event of a fire which is also why we insist on announcing additional guests or extra company.

During the check in process your confirmed that you had booked a room only rate meaning you had chosen to exclude breakfast, however the receptionist did state breakfast was from 8 to 10am should you wish to avail of it. However you say you were not offered breakfast in your complaint. Please forgive me as I am somewhat confused by this statement, on one hand you don’t want breakfast and exclude it from your room rate and on the other you complain that you weren’t offered breakfast.

I fully accept that (we) as a Hotel are not perfect and of course make mistakes which we must take on board and learn from, however on this occasion I do not accept your comments as justified nor can I accept or believe that any guest would come to a Hotel in Killarney, an area renowned as a leading tourism destination and check in to a hotel where they had to share their bed with a family of spiders, have toilet paper stuffed around their vent as a sealant and would happily pay their bill on check out and not mention a word to either the management or staff on their departure.

Should you wish to contact me at the hotel to discuss anything that I have outline above then I would be more than happy to speak with you.


Regards

Noreen O Leary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    108
    50
    19
    18
See reviews for
74
134
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2013

Had lunch on arrival was delicious, room was spacious , breakfast was buffet great selection and plenty of everything, dinner in restaurant was gorgeous and couldn't walk after ate so much, would highly recommend it

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Traveller C for your review and fantastic comments in relation to the food from the hotel. Whether it be breakfast, lunch, carvery or dinner you are assured a beautiful meal here because of the quality of the food and produce we use. We are renowned for delicious food and we look forward to serving another fantastic meal to you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tralee
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

What can i say ! not enough !!!!!
From the moment we checked in to the moment we left it was just a great experience. Staff so good , food so good i wish i had it again tonight, it's my second time staying there and it seems to get better if that is possible.
Stayed in a lot of hotels around the world but i can honestly say i look foward to returning to the heights for another break ,Keep up the good work and well done to the staff.
Home from Home try it and see for yourself.
Thanks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TraleeKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Thank you Traleeken for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Heights Hotel Killarney. It is reviews and comments like yours that make our jobs and what we do worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, where I am sure you will be even more surprised with the refurbishment and upgrade work done to the hotel. It is definitely possible for your stay to get better the next time round.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
63 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Really good hotel with efficient friendly staff, some part of the family that run it and it shows. The food tastes like home cooking as distinct from hotel food and is just delicious. My bed had a memory foam mattress and it was like sleeping on a fluffy cloud. The bar was lively and the outdoor terrace is just wonderful for sun downers. They seemed to cater for the large tour that arrived with great ease and fed them from the carvery that I believe is award winning! All in all I feel it was wonderful value and I will be back

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katiecro52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you katiecro52 for your review and comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney which is a family run hotel. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

went down with a group of friends found the staff excellent rooms spotless and a very relaxed athmosphere will definately be back would highly recommend this hotel to anyone ...a little bit of a trek to killarney town but in the whole a great time was had by all cant wait to go back down

Room Tip: rear of hotel if there is a wedding on
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you linda h for your review and comments. We appreciate the location of the hotel and that is reflected in our prices. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

The Heights was a great hotel to sat at the room were lovely and clean the staff was just great and so,so friendly Esp the girls on the front desk So helpful and so kind. But the one thing I will say is the drink was very over priced. 6.20 for a bottle of West Coast Cooler. I paid 5.20 in the Glen Eagle but only 4.50 down the town. Could not see how they could charge that much for a drink they get for about 1.50 a bottle.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the top floor rooms. The views over the mountains was something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Thank you Shirley R for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We have now introduced a new pricing structure for our drinks. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in Killarney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,185 reviews
7.5 mi away
Travel Inn Killarney
1.3 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 39 in Killarney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.2 mi away
Dromhall Hotel
Dromhall Hotel
#21 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 806 reviews
1.4 mi away
Torc Hotel
Torc Hotel
#37 of 39 in Killarney
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Property: The Heights Hotel Killarney
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 39 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing