We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Heights Hotel Killarney
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Somewhere over the Rainbow
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Visit”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the heights hotel on New Years Eve and really enjoyed the stay. The two ladies on reception on check in were very friendl and welcoming, the same for check out. We had some room service food which was also excellent.
The rooms in the hotel were spotless and were of a good size. The only one thing during the stay that was annoying was the tv. It seemed that it had a volume limit on it and was impossible to listen to but it was not a big issue.
All told it is a perfect hotel for a short visit to Killarney.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IrishGuy2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you IrishGuy2010 for your review and comments. The volume control with the television has now been rectified. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney which is a family run hotel. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    121
    55
    20
    20
See reviews for
87
145
10
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We spent New Years Eve night in the Killarney Heights Hotel and had a fantastic stay! We found the hotel to be very clean all round. Spacious room, comfortable bed. Our meal was excellent! We ate in the bar which had the same menu as the restaurant - and it was restaurant standard food! Staff were very friendly. Hotel is 1.5km to the town, which is a comfortable walk. We spent the night in the hotel bar, there was live entertainment and platters of finger food were handed out to each table, and glasses of champaigne were supplied to toast in the New Year! We will return for sure!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cath1803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neil B, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you Cath1803 for your review and comments. What a fantastic way to spend New Years. We are glad that you enjoyed your time here at The Heights Hotel Killarney which is a family run hotel. The food and service we provide is the reason why so many customers return to the hotel. We are renowned for our beautiful food and the staff are exceptional when it comes to customer service. We look forward to welcoming you here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We checked in on a Thursday night at very low cost. The hotel was average and I say okay for the price we paid. The price doubled the next day and I would not pay double what we paid to stay there.

It's old and tacky, but does the job. Imagine the hotel in The Shining with the same 70's decor located in Killarney.

There was ample parking, the staff was friendly enough and the WiFi worked well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Goudwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Thank you Goudwing for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We have a lot of refurbishment work and upgraded the bedrooms and bathrooms since you stayed with us. We are extremely good value and ideally located. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

staff not that friendly,my bathroom was very dirty with lump of hair stuck to the shower wall.When i complained i was told the manger was too busy in the kitchen,i'm still waiting for the hotel to contact me.Would certainly not stay there again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heights H, Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We held our reception at the heights on 4th october 2012 . I have to say the hotel did an excellent job with every aspect of our wedding from the food at our meal ( and in the bar and restaurant the next day ) to the politness of the staff it was excellent.From reception and bar staff to waiters and management they were all amazing We had 120 guests at our wedding and all of them had good things to say about the hotel . We had a couple of our guests which were taken ill during there stay and the staff at the hotel went above and beyond the call of duty to help them out! We would strongly recomment this hotel as a wedding venue . Chris and susan .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris20127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Thank you Chris20127 for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your wedding and your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We specialize in weddings and it was a pleasure looking after you both and all of your wedding guests on your special day. We strive to do whatever we can to make your wedding day extra special. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Staff were friendly and all generally was good but the room was dated including the bathroom.Breakfast was decent with a fine selection. It is a long walk to the centre of Killarney. Would stay again but only if room was more up to date.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phil c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Thank you phil c for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We have since upgraded our bedrooms and bathrooms. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were here for a wedding. The venue's bar and function rooms are lovely. The food was outstanding and the staff were friendly. However the rooms are in need of updating and a deep clean. The waiting staff while friendly have no training. Food was landed on top of napkins or other plates. People were bumped and shoved during service. The table was laid out incorrectly. The hotel keys are very outdated and have a huge key ring that is held together with sellotape. Its a shame because it really lets it down. However I would stay here again with a group as the food and drink is great. Not top quality for an event though.

Room Tip: If there is a wedding on ask for one not over the function room as the sound is as clear as day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluegarnetfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heights H, Sales & Marketing Manager at The Heights Hotel Killarney, responded to this review, April 8, 2015
Thank you bluegarnetfrog for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here at The Heights Hotel Killarney. We have since upgraded our bedrooms and bathrooms and have a new management team who have re-trained the staff. We are renowned for the beautiful food, our professional, friendly staff and the exceptional service we provide. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#25 of 38 in Killarney
1,256 reviews
1.5 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#29 of 38 in Killarney
409 reviews
1.2 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#12 of 38 in Killarney
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
567 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Killarney
Hotel Killarney
#33 of 38 in Killarney
476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Heights Hotel Killarney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Heights Hotel Killarney

Property: The Heights Hotel Killarney
Address: Cork Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Heights Hotel Killarney 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Heights Hotel Killarney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Heights Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing