We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Avenue Hotel
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights while traveling Ireland solo. The hotel is on the edge of the Killarney Natl. Park, which is beautiful, but also a few minutes walk from everything the lovely town has to offer. Front desk staff were so helpful. The decor had old world charm and elegance without being stuffy.I had a nice clean room that had a view of the park. The bathroom had a really nice Jacuzzi bathtub which came in handy after a long day hiking and viewing Muckross House and gardens which is a must see! My breakfast was not included but I did eat once in the restaurant and it was nice. I had a great unexpected stay since my originally booked hotel the " Evinston House" had overbooked and they automatically booked me there; glad they did! Also, the whole area/town was very safe and had no problem walking around at night.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calliegirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (439)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 439 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

The hotels pub is the best in town for a pint and dinner in the pub, price for dinner without drink under 10 euro. And the bar girls are very easy on the eyes and of course very pleasant. The locals also welcome you in and treat you like one of their own,

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Thank Joe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

just back from an overnight stay at the Killarney Avenue and we were not disappointed. We stayed on the Birthday break which is amazing value for that special occasion. Having stayed here before we were once again blown away by the value, location, food and overall service we received while staying here we will certainly be back. The rooms and location are second to none and everything about this hotel makes you want to return.

Room Tip: we had a room at the front of the hotel and the views are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dicey_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Arrived at the hotel for Easter weekend and to be honest the (Irish girl) receptionist was not very friendly. She seemed to be uninterested, didn't inform us about the leisure facilities and generally seemed dismissive. The room was really nice with great facilities including a jacuzzi bath, big comfy bed and free wifi that worked well. It was also very clean, plenty of wardrobe space and double glazed windows which you could open if required. We had a good nights sleep in the room which was quiet due to the double glazing, as a light sleeper I appreciated this. We went down for breakfast the next morning and it was OK, the buffet selection wasn't great but the hot breakfast (served) was very good. The dining room is dark wood panelling and in my opinion needs to be brightened up. The hotel is very central and great for walking around the lovely town of Killarney. There was a different receptionist on (Polish girl) and she was very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bar on Saturday night and to be honest it was not that good. The food was OK but the presentation was very poor. I had roast lamb with potatoes and vegetables. I asked for some French Fries and was told they come with it, great I thought. However they all came on the same plate, veg on one side, mashed potatoes in the middle with the lamb on top and French fries on the other side of the plate, all smothered in gravy. My wife had Salmon, presented the same way and covered in a white sauce. We ate in the town the other two nights. There were functions on two of the three nights that we stayed and honestly we got the impression that the people at the functions were the Hotels first priority and the guests came second. I think this is a good central hotel with a great rate, clean, good facilities it just needs to be managed more tightly. They need to pay attention to the little things and it could be improved so much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jemser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel deserves the high rating it has. It is located in an ideal location. The Killarney Avenue should not be confused with everything else that is named for the town. The sister hotel Killarney Towers across the street has the shared gym and spa facilities. One of our party used the pool during our stay and was glad it was so convenient. The Killarney Avenue is subtly elegant in it's finishes. The rooms are spacious,well maintained and have comfortable bedding. The breakfast is well done, it's a fresh and plentiful buffet. The staff were gracious and helpful and topped off the marks for this hotel. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GDMICM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had my wedding here on October 25th 2013 and can't praise this hotel enough. We had 140 guests from Dublin attending our wedding which was held on the bank holiday weekend. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff but a special mention to Marlena who dealt with all queries/questions and did everything she could to make our day special and stress free. Neil and Dennis were always on hand for anything we needed, with 140 Dubs to deal with they had their hands full!! The staff in this hotel go above and beyond in all things even to the owner collecting us after our ceremony and personally driving us for our photos.
Our dinner for the wedding is still getting rave reviews from all our guests it was delicious, food for the afters was plentiful and there seemed to be no end to food throughout the weekend.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, if you are thinking of having your wedding here you will not be disappointed your special day is in very safe hands.
Looking forward to going back for our first anniversary.
A huge thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely relaxed weekend here this weekend . Got a great Facebook offer and were glad we stayed. Fantastic friendly staff everywhere in the hotel . Lovely comfortable rooms and great food at reasonable prices . Didn't make breakfast as 10 on a Saturday and 10.30 on a Sunday is a bit early but lots of places close by to have breakfast if you want a lie in.
We will be back and will be watching out for more of this kind of fantastic offer.
This is a great hotel and we would highly recommend it.
Killarney itself seems to be attracting huge crowds of extremely drunk to the point of unconsciousness young people and walking back from a visit to a local traditional music pub last night we felt extremely intimidated and a bit scared at times. We were glad to get back to the comfort of the hotel bar.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank douggym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
Killarney Royal
Killarney Royal
#12 of 38 in Killarney
1,012 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.8 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#21 of 38 in Killarney
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Avenue Hotel

Address: East Avenue, Town Center, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range: $121 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Killarney Avenue Hotel offers guests a choice of 66 deluxe guest rooms over 3 floors. Our hotel accommodation in Killarney reflects the warm atmosphere of the hotel, offering a relaxing and comfortable haven for discerning travellers. The large windows allow abundant natural light and offer wonderful vistas of Kenmare Place while others overlook the Golden Gate entrance to Killarney National Park in Kerry. The Killarney Avenue is perfect for those seeking places for eating out in Killarney with its town centre location. Whether your looking for a place to grab a quick snack, to organise fine dining for a special occasion or enjoy a delicious meal in one of the leading Killarney restaurants you can be sure you will find a selection of menus to cater for your dining requirements. Guest staying within The Killarney Avenue also get complimentary use of our sister hotel leisure centre within The Killarney Towers Hotel ( 2 minute walk) The leisure facilities at the Killarney Towers hotel include: Sauna, Steam room,Whirlpool,15m Swimming pool and a newly refurbished gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Killarney Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing