We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Hotel in a Lovely Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Killarney Avenue Hotel
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel in a Lovely Location”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This hotel deserves the high rating it has. It is located in an ideal location. The Killarney Avenue should not be confused with everything else that is named for the town. The sister hotel Killarney Towers across the street has the shared gym and spa facilities. One of our party used the pool during our stay and was glad it was so convenient. The Killarney Avenue is subtly elegant in it's finishes. The rooms are spacious,well maintained and have comfortable bedding. The breakfast is well done, it's a fresh and plentiful buffet. The staff were gracious and helpful and topped off the marks for this hotel. Overall it was a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GDMICM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    99
    32
    10
    7
See reviews for
69
165
14
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 2, 2014

I had my wedding here on October 25th 2013 and can't praise this hotel enough. We had 140 guests from Dublin attending our wedding which was held on the bank holiday weekend. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff but a special mention to Marlena who dealt with all queries/questions and did everything she could to make our day special and stress free. Neil and Dennis were always on hand for anything we needed, with 140 Dubs to deal with they had their hands full!! The staff in this hotel go above and beyond in all things even to the owner collecting us after our ceremony and personally driving us for our photos.
Our dinner for the wedding is still getting rave reviews from all our guests it was delicious, food for the afters was plentiful and there seemed to be no end to food throughout the weekend.
I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, if you are thinking of having your wedding here you will not be disappointed your special day is in very safe hands.
Looking forward to going back for our first anniversary.
A huge thanks to all the staff

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Spent a lovely relaxed weekend here this weekend . Got a great Facebook offer and were glad we stayed. Fantastic friendly staff everywhere in the hotel . Lovely comfortable rooms and great food at reasonable prices . Didn't make breakfast as 10 on a Saturday and 10.30 on a Sunday is a bit early but lots of places close by to have breakfast if you want a lie in.
We will be back and will be watching out for more of this kind of fantastic offer.
This is a great hotel and we would highly recommend it.
Killarney itself seems to be attracting huge crowds of extremely drunk to the point of unconsciousness young people and walking back from a visit to a local traditional music pub last night we felt extremely intimidated and a bit scared at times. We were glad to get back to the comfort of the hotel bar.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank douggym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This hotel is in a very central location. Rooms are lovely and staff are helpful, cheerful and very obliging. Had a drink in the bar which has a lovely atmosphere and breakfast was very tasty. Good choice

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nistkaeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were guests of a wedding reception held at the hotel so booked a room to stay over. The staff are brilliant. The wedding party booked for us and due to a problem with communication we were booked for one night instead of two. The staff went to no end of trouble to find a room for us for the second night even though the hotel was heavily booked. It was raining when we arrived so the receptionist went outside in the rain to give us access to the underground car park. The rooms are well appointed and clean and we were given a king size bed. The hotel is ideally located in the town and the meals in the hotel are excellent. Due to the rain we spent more time in the hotel than originally planned but all our needs were covered. The staff went out of their way to ensure that we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: The lift is rather slow so if you are impatient ask for the first floor and take the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We (a couple) stayed here on Saturday 9th December for a Christmas party, first visit. It was a lovely first visit. The reception area is lovely and olde worlde and the staff were pleasant and efficient. We were early so went into the main drag of the town which was just a short walk away, you're near the cinema and Jarveys and everything is very central. The Christmas decorations in Killarney were really lovely and there was a great atmosphere. After sampling a few local hostelries to test the Guinness we headed back to the hotel for lunch.

The restaurant was lovely, great menu, the lamb was nicely done, plenty of it and lovely veg etc. Staff were efficient and pleasant again. MY ONLY GRIPE as per usual is screaming children allowed to roam around the dining room bothering other diners and pulling at the Christmas tree, etc. Parents tried to hide and the staff just about avoided them as two small boys ran amok, the smaller one testing his lungs to see how loud his scream was. So very unacceptable.

The room was lovely when we got in with a lovely view of the mountains and the trees with the decorations in them and the party was a success (not held in the hotel) and we use definitely return.

Breakfast was ok, no buffet, a set full Irish, you ordered what you wanted. And coffee was ok.

Only other downside is the lack of parking, it was very tight but we were lucky to get a space right outside the hotel.

Would we return to this hotel? Definitely. Would we recommend it? Definitely. Hope management takes notice of my separate family and adult only areas please.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKPosse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Level Contributor
125 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night just before Christmas a last minute booking. First impressions on arrival were not great. Parked in the underground car park which seemed to double as a laundry store room. Lift was hidden away and the lift lobby was dark brown with dirty carpet. Overall decor of hotel was dark with wooden carved ceilings and dark furnishings. Check in was fine but when I got to the third floor and the lift door opened I thought I was in a cupboard and on the wrong floor. They have motion activated lights which don't come on until after you get out of the lift and walk a few steps - very uncomfrotable feeling as you don't know where you're going initially. The single room was small but had a double bed and all the usual equipment but boy was it cold. There was a cold draught coming inthrough gaps in the double glazed window and even though I had the air conditioning on full heat (there was no other form of heating in the room) it remained cold. There were some nice touches like a modern TV, a proper hair dryer not just one of those tubes on the wall, Molton Brown soap, shampoo etc and a jacuzzi bath but again the bathroom was very cold.
The location of this hotel is one of its best features as its very close to centre of town and shops, cinema and the park if you want some exercise, however the decor could be brightened up a bit along with the lighting issue and the cold.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank CateCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
Killarney Plaza Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.1 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.2 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#14 of 38 in Killarney
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Avenue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Avenue Hotel

Property: Killarney Avenue Hotel
Address: East Avenue, Town Center, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Avenue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Killarney Avenue Hotel offers guests a choice of 66 deluxe guest rooms over 3 floors. Our hotel accommodation in Killarney reflects the warm atmosphere of the hotel, offering a relaxing and comfortable haven for discerning travellers. The large windows allow abundant natural light and offer wonderful vistas of Kenmare Place while others overlook the Golden Gate entrance to Killarney National Park in Kerry. The Killarney Avenue is perfect for those seeking places for eating out in Killarney with its town centre location. Whether your looking for a place to grab a quick snack, to organise fine dining for a special occasion or enjoy a delicious meal in one of the leading Killarney restaurants you can be sure you will find a selection of menus to cater for your dining requirements. Guest staying within The Killarney Avenue also get complimentary use of our sister hotel leisure centre within The Killarney Towers Hotel ( 2 minute walk) The leisure facilities at the Killarney Towers hotel include: Sauna, Steam room,Whirlpool,15m Swimming pool and a newly refurbished gymnasium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Killarney Avenue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing