We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience at this B&B”
Review of Earls Court House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Earls Court House
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience at this B&B”
Reviewed September 10, 2008

This is a great B&B in Killarney...much more like a small boutique hotel. There is an elevator so you don't have to worry about carrying luggage up and down stairs. Emer and Ray are wonderful hosts and very helpful. They were very welcoming, helped us get on a tour when it was pouring down rain and we didn't want to drive, and have a computer in the common room with internet which is free to use. It's only about 7-8 minute walk into town or quick drive. Good place to start Ring of Kerry tour.

The bathroom was modern and the room had a good view of the mountains. The breakfast as great. It's included and you have a choice of buffet or can order from a menu. The crepes were very good.

  • Liked — Friendly, Comfortable, Upscale for a B&B
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sierra1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    556
    123
    32
    8
    6
See reviews for
154
356
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2008

We booked this hotel based on huge numbers of positive TA reviews but were extremely disappointed.

Our check in was by a mardy young lady (turns out she is the owners daughter!!) who really acted liked she wished she was doing or was somewhere else.

Then there was confusion over the type of room we had booked. However this was recitifed eventually and we were most grateful for the room change/upgrade at no additional cost.

The room we eventually got was very nice but for the E125 charge we have stayed in better!

Couldnt get anywhere near the internet everytime we tried it was being used and a wait so we gave up!

We walked the 7 mintues! into town - dont know who walked their route and how fast!! Realisitically allow at least 15 mins for the walk in which is down a busy main through road.

For us the final disappointment was the 'hearty' breakfast. Neither of us have ever seen or tasted the scrambled eggs we were served. My husband always clears his plate and he left food which to me speaks volumes. The sausages were very plastic and the toast was burnt to a cinder. This was a real shame as based on the 'hype' we had been looking forward to it.

We do normally try to see the positive side but are seriously struggling for this stay. Thankfully we only had one night booked her so escaped the next morning.

Not sure what went wrong for our stay based on all the v positive reivews! As for the area if you want something a little more authentic travel a little further down and try Kenmare much more of an Irish feel and definately where we will be next time we visit!

  • Liked — LEAVING!!!
  • Disliked — Breakfast Cooked Food
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank haskaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2008

We thought this place might have been a bit expensive, going by some of the guide books, but we thought we'd ask the price anyway, and were pleasantly surprised with a price of 50Euro for a twin room for the night - especially once we saw the room. It was very luxurious - fit for a prince - with lovely furnishings, a large bathroom and two gorgeous writing desks. Internet access was included in the price too which is quite handy. There is a good selection for breakfast, and the location isn't too far from the centre of town.

  • Liked — The luxurious feel of the room
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank NarellePearl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

I hate to jump on the bandwagon, but this hotel deserves every accolade it receives. It is worthy of high praise and once you're there, you'll understand why. The warmth of owner Emer Moynihan is infectious and the entire staff has caught it.

The property itself is set above the street and although it is flanked by two large buildings, you would never know that you were in close proximity to them because the hotel is quiet and tranquil. The beds are very comfortable and the lush drapery , when closed, keeps all light out of the rooms. My husband was astonished at the size and decor of our room and could not believe that I had kept within our hotel budget. The very large bathroom impressed him further with double sinks and a mirror that was easily shared.

The generousity of the proprietors was not only reflected in the size of the rooms and suites, but in the more than ample breakfast. Their warmth was reflected in the lovely furnishings that occupied each room as well as the public rooms. Afternoon tea was delightful, having tours booked for us was a nice perk, and having a computer available for free was a luxury.

We met parents of a friend in Dublin a week later and they lamented the fact that we met after visiting Killarney, because they did not have the chance to tell us about their favorite hotel...Earls Court House!

  • Liked — The lovely tasteful property.
  • Disliked — There were no downsides to this property.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vidadoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2008

Earls Court is great! Rooms are well decorated, comfy and quiet, and have flat screen TVs. Our bathroom was huge, with a large tub and 2 pedestal sinks. The reception area is also nice, with wonderful Irish music playing, and there you can be served drinks, tea, desserts, etc. Also, a computer with quick and free internet, which was always available when I wanted to check the old email. It is an easy ten minute walk from the hotel to downtown.

Best of all is the breakfast, which is included in the room price-- phenomenal! Definitely a wonderful way to start the day! The staff is very friendly, and extremely helpful and patient with cluesless foreign tourists like us! Earl Court has all the advantages of larger hotels while still being intimate.

  • Liked — Food
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CRSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2008

Very personable staff;almost a B&B feel. Very spacious room. Reasonably priced. Walking distance to City Center. Would come again.

  • Liked — personable, friendly, helpful staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRMEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Earls Court is a fantastic place to stay in Killarney. We were wow'd with our room when we arrived. Nice and spacious. Big bathroom and plenty of room in the bedroom area for our bags and purchases. We felt like royalty! It was a quiet spot and the internet access in the 'living room' area was nice to use for a few minutes each day. The breakfasts were amazing - we're still talking about the delicous eggs and Irish sausages. Also a close walk into town. Friendly staff too. We'd definitely recommend this to anyone!

  • Liked — The room was amazing.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmcfinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#6 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#8 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,124 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.0 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
0.4 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earls Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earls Court House

Property: Earls Court House
Address: Courtmurph House Muckross Road | Woodlawn Junction, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Killarney
#5 Family Hotel in Killarney
#9 Romantic Hotel in Killarney
#12 Luxury Hotel in Killarney
#19 Business Hotel in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Earls Court House 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Earls Court House, Killarney in the south west of Ireland. Here you will enjoy the traditions of warm Irish hospitality. The Hotels splendid Victorian accommodation has been complimented with every modern comfort for your enjoyment and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Earls Court House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earls Court House Hotel Killarney
Earls Court Hotel
Earls Court Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing