We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guesthouse”
Review of Ashville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ashville House
Ranked #14 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Guesthouse”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Our stay at Ashville was excellent! There were three of us together and we wanted something close to the town. The location is literally a 3 minute walk from the centre. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and warm! They made our stay so enjoyable. They gave us restaurant recommendations and kindly booked us a table for Sat night to save us having to search ourselves. The guest house itself is lovely. Our room was absolutely spotless and so spacious. The breakfast was lovely - the perfect feed pre mountain climbing! I would definitely stay here again. Top class.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    41
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
78
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Goffstown, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

My 2 friends and I had the grand opportunity to stay at the Ashville House for 3 nights...the location to the main town of Killarney was fantastic, just a short walk to the shops and pubs...which made for a quiet night of sleep at the Ashville House...the room and bathroom were extremely clean and comfortable...the breakfast was a lovely way to start of our day and always prepared just right...Declan was just the perfect innkeeper, always ready to help get what we needed and very friendly and professional...if you are planning of visiting Killarney, plan to stay at the Ashville house...you will NOT be disappointed...Thank you Declan for our relaxing and wonderful stay at you B&B...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank newhampshire2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We booked at Ashville House online the day before our arrival; the booking was handled seamlessly. We decided en route to check about availability for a second night and for the Jacuzzi room; both requests were handled efficiently upon arrival.

The room (#217) is at the rear of the property and is very quiet (Ashville House is on a main road into town). #217 is large, comfortable and clean. Although the view is over the car park for the property, you can also enjoy the rear garden of the adjacent house. The Jacuzzi was greatly appreciated after a couple days on our feet!

Our host, Declan, was gracious and very helpful. He recommended several options for our first day (none of which were the tours that he may or may not have earned commission on). We opted for the National Park and Muckross House and were not disappointed!

Breakfasts (full Irish) were ample and tasty - it seemed as if the farther we got from Dublin, the 'fuller' the breakfasts became! Declan even kept the kitchen open a bit late one morning when one of us had some errands to run first thing.

There are certainly many lodging options in Killarney, but you won't go wrong at Ashville House - we'd recommend it and would definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ears20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We spent one night here as a stopover during a self drive tour of Ireland.

It was easy to locate as it is along the main road that leads into the main centre of town. Very nicely appointed and quaint - what you'd expect from a B&B in a small Irish town.

Rooms were nice and tidy with comfortable beds and free wifi. Breakfast again was lovely and good value as well. From memory I think you pay 12euro and you get a small buffet selection of fruit, yoghurts, cereal etc. and you get to order a hot meal from the menu to go with it.

Good value and would definitely recommend this B&B for your stay in Killarney as its a lovely place with a great location to the town as well as tourist attractions such as the ring of Killarney (with the beautiful national park).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayDaydreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Ashville House is in a wonderful location just a block or two away from all of the action of Killarney but nice and quiet for sleeping. This is a place where you will want to stay more than 1 night as there is a lot to do in this area between Dingle, the Ring of Kerry, Muckruss House, and Ross Castle. (Tip on Ross Castle: Do this at the end of the day. You can't go inside, so it's more of a photo stop at the end of a nice long walk.)

Everything is very clean, and there is a large selection among breakfast foods. The coffee and tea are piping hot, so if someone in your party makes it down first, ask for it to be poured for all.

Tip if touring Dingle and/or the Ring of Kerry: Roads are narrow, and you will be encountering tour buses. Consider letting everyone breathe easy for the day and book a tour. No one will stress over the driving, and you'll be sure not to miss any of the sights while you're trying to read your maps and guidebooks. Ashville House can give you information on the tour and get your name onto the list. The tour group will even pick you up and drop you off from Ashville House. This was definitely one of our better uses of money on the trip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robin01virginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My 3 friends are on a Girls Trip to Ireland and our stay at the Ashville House was great! It is a wonderful & safe town and the walk to city centre is very short (under 10 minutes). Breakfast was awesome, with yogurt, fruit, juices, coffee, oatmeal and any variation of an Irish Breakfast or crepes. You order when you show up and everything came out hot, you did not walk away unsatisfied!

The shower was nice & hot (not always the case in any European country). Also, the Guesthouse staff was very helpful with many tips! They do offer to book Ring of Kerry, Dingle, or Gap of Dunloe tours with pickup in the lobby. I took advantage of this but just be aware that you are on a bus for most of the trip. However, both tours are on VERY curvy, narrow roads that is well-traveled by tour buses (i.e. a tight and anxious drive for anyone not used to these conditions).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brieanne1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We loved our stay here! Came with 3 people for a weekend trip.
The hotel itself is really close to the city centre, just a few minutes walking.
The rooms were nice and clean. Quite small but that's not too bad considering the price and service you get.
The breakfast was really good and lots to choose from. It was served in a nice little dining room. In general the atmosphere at this hotel was just great and we felt really welcome from the first moment on.
And last but not least: the staff! They were so friendly and helpful with everything. We even got some tips on where to go and what to do.

If we come back to Killarney we will definitely stay here again. I would recommend this to other travellers anytime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sealmone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.1 mi away
Riverside Hotel Killarney
Riverside Hotel Killarney
#23 of 38 in Killarney
1,243 reviews
1.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#12 of 140 in Killarney
384 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 140 in Killarney
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 140 in Killarney
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashville House

Property: Ashville House
Address: Rock Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashville House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Ashville House, Award Winning Killarney Guesthouse B&B accommodation in the heart of Killarney Town in the Kingdom of County Kerry, Ireland. This family run guest house offers luxurious Bed and Breakfast accommodation and warm, friendly service. We are close to some of the best restaurants and Pubs in Killarney with live Irish music. Ashville House has been in operation for over 14 years and is renowned for its high standards in both in guest rooms which feature every modern convenience and its extensive and delicious breakfast buffet and menu which is a must have treat when visiting Ashville. Located in the heart of Killarney Town, Ashville guest house is within walking distance of many local attractions, shops, bars and restaurants – check out our Killarney guest house amenities. Ashville House provides luxurious country style guest accommodation with full private parking only seconds from Killarney Town. Calm country style living, only a short stroll from the hustle and bustle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Ashville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing