We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B in Killarney” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ashville House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ashville House
Ranked #15 of 145 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
upstate ny
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great B&B in Killarney”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2011

Our group of eight stayed at the Ashville House for two nights, and we found it to be delightful place to stay. The location is great and it is an easy walk to Killarney itself. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Amenitiies include access to wifi, a lovely common room to gather in, free parking, and hosts that are very willing to answer questions and make recommendations of things to do and see in the area. The breakfast was a delight, going above and beyond the usual Irish Breakfast fare (a most pleasant change)!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjhall59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    40
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
72
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

My mother, sister and I stayed at Ashville House for 2 nights and everything was great. It felt like the owners take a real pride in the place and really strive to ensure everthing is run professionally. We had a comfortable triple room on the first floor - very clean and quiet with comfortable beds. We stayed as part of a week long tour of the West of Ireland and this was the best B&B we stayed in all week (all the B&Bs were v good, but this one stood out as the best). Location is perfect - just a few minutes walk to the town centre. Plenty of free car parking too and free wifi access.

Breakfast was a treat, with a great selection and the breakfast room decor was beautifully stylish. I would definitely recommend Ashville House - it's a credit to the owners and their hard work!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayqueen68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

This was an excellent B&B, Spotless and very comfortable. The Hosts were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also excellent. A trip on the Jaunting Carts is a must when in Killarney, we had a great trip with lots of Banter and information.

Room Tip: Think any room would be fine. very comfy beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, VA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2011

We arrived in Kilarney a few minutes before 5pm without reservations anywhere. A quick stop at the tourist info center (excellent booking service there, BTW) identified Ashville House for us. The guest house was spotless. The room was spacious and comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. The hosts were full of friendly and full of information. There was plenty of off-street parking. The location was perfect -- walking distance to downtown. Best of all was the comfortable and welcoming guests' lounge. We spent a fabulous late evening there socializing with some folks from Northern Ireland. Stay here -- you'll have no complaints.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MGF88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

We needed to change our trip for two nights almost at the last minute and emailed the owners of Ashville if they had a room. They did and we were absolutely surprised at every detail they take care of. The rooms are clean, bright and decorated nicely. Bathrooms are a nice size and the shower was wonderful. (not all are as we've been traveling for 1 1/2 months now.) The location is just about 2 to 3 blocks to the center of town and the action. They gave us excellent recommendations for good food and great music and some tips for touring the Ring of Kerry.
They serve a great breakfast. Full table of juices, milk and water. Another full table of cold cereals, fresh fruits, yogurt, scones and brown bread (a must have if you are in Ireland). Then they have a menu of about 5 different entrees. One of them is their superb porridge and Bailey's cream. The first morning I had that, and the second morning I asked them to skip the porridge and just bring me the Irish Bailey's cream which they did with a wink in their eye. Baileys and coffee in the morning, who knew?
One tip I would give, if you ask to be on the main floor, say instead that you would like to be on the ground floor. I guess they consider their main floor to be the 2nd floor. Other then that, you will not be disappointed staying here.
2 last items, there is free wi-fi if you bring your own lap top, otherwise there is a small charge for using theirs. Also there is free parking on their premises which is sometimes difficult in towns like this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

We stayed in that Guest House for one night and we found it very nice. Good service, no problems with booking and payments. And best breakfast ever! There was a selection of few different breakfast sets. We took fried salmon with scrambled eggs. What a taste! :) Also - wide selection of fruits and cornflakes/muesli with yogurt or milk, plus juices.

The only disadvantage - our triple room was really small and there were some problems with the air conditioning in the bathroom - after taking shower, everything was wet! Although it was clean all around and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_Kropelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
augsburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

TOP Guesthouse in Killarney
Very kind and friendly staff, excellent breakfast, location is very near to the centre

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank haecki3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.0 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#9 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,930 reviews
0.5 mi away
Arbutus Hotel
Arbutus Hotel
#8 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#17 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 39 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 713 reviews
1.0 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#16 of 145 in Killarney
4.5 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#7 of 145 in Killarney
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashville House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashville House

Property: Ashville House
Address: Ashville House Rock Road, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 145 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashville House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Ashville House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing