We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ all around!”
Review of Failte Hotel

Failte Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Failte Hotel
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Limerick, Ireland
2 reviews
“A+ all around!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We stayed in this lovely family run hotel for a hen night, with a large group of 30++. Eileen, the owner and her family and staff went above and beyond to ensure that we were all happy. From before we even arrived, The Failte hotel ensured that everyone was sorted from sleeping arrangements to dietary requirements. As the organiser, I found that the help from the staff and Eileen helped me to enjoy the night, knowing they had everything sorted. I’ll definitely be back as will most of the group who stayed there. Thanks for a super weekend!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    30
    10
    11
    16
See reviews for
18
26
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
country victoria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed there, ate there, drank there & were entertained there...spot on for an Irish stay in the middle of the town! Sat next to the owner at breakfast the next morning, lovely lady. Very accommodating and made us feel like locals...Great spot

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherylp13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midleton, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Upon our arrival we were greeted by a bar staff member who was very rude, we stood by a desk inside door and rang bell which clearly said ring for service, he rudely told go upstairs, at least staff were nicer up there where reception was at desk of restaurant, there was no lift which made it awkward with baby but were told to ask bar staff for help, managed as had older daughter with me, rooms were very dated, could really do with freshening up and been updated, noise level high but expected, did have air con, best part of stay was food which was only fantastic, so good in fact we ate there whole weekend.

Room Tip: Like we were told before staying here ( to late to book anywhere else when told) go here for food, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilly2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The food is good, no doubt about that. But the rooms are a disaster, especcially those at the front of the building.
No airco, no mechanical ventilation, so the only way to get some fresh air in, is through an open window. And then the fun starts. The shop across the road has one CD per day, playing through a speaker outside. Loud and clear. Fortunately, at around 8 to 9 at night the live music begins at a place across the road drowning the canned music, shortly followed by the music from the hotel itself. Both very clearly audible and of course very much not matching.And Nothing Irish about it. Just poor covers off 70's and 80's classics.

The only escape is to flee from the hotel as there is no lounge to sit. The music will stop at around 23:30 but the streets remain filled with drunken people staggering home. And deliveries start again at 6 in the morning.

Internet is not available throughout, although the mangement tries to suggest it is. If you find a suitable spot on the sticky staircase you might find yourself lucky enough to have 10 minutes of continuous connection.

When I tried to discuss the noise with the management I was told to buzz off and lump it.

As a follow up on other reviews: yes, the hotel still stinks of stale tabacco, there are still burn holes in the covers, the toilet was still leaking (although they fixed it after I complained), light fixtures did not work, the showerdoors would not open, front desk was not staffed, no free or reserved parking etc.


So, if you intend to spend a nice evening in Killarney enjoying some Irish music, go somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you really want to stay here, make sure you get a room at the back. They have the airco and less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stincky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Killarney hotels

kerry ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

I am in the bartrade myself and know how extremely busy it can be but i never taken this out on customers not even drunk ones!! It was the sunday of the munster final and i order 2 longnecks of heineken and one of bulmers off the barman he came with the heineken and no bulmers i asked him for my bulmers again and he went off the head screaming what did u i want a draft, pint bottle and screaming how busy it was and i should be saying what i wanted or dont order at all!! i was mortified as people were staring and i wouldnt mind he was him who didnt even listen to the order!! i understand how busy it was but this was the rudest thing especially to a customer!! and him throwing the change back at me didnt help either!! never again will i go there which is upsetting as i go out in killarney alot and will always go to the failte for its brilliant live music and craic!! pity one bad experience can change your mindset of a place

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Orla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We did not stay in the hotel, we were around the corner at The International. We ate in the restaurant and enjoyed some GAA football post-match people watching. The fish and chips and the burger were amazing and the servers were very warm. We ate there several times during our stay in Killarney.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

...there was an oddly aggressive bouncer on the door the weekend I was there which completely detracted from the experience. All other staff were very pleasant and the location is excellent. I would be hesitant to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
McSweeney Arms Hotel
McSweeney Arms Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
219 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scotts Hotel
Scotts Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
941 reviews
0.2 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Killarney Avenue Hotel
Killarney Avenue Hotel
#24 of 38 in Killarney
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Killarney Towers Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Failte Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Failte Hotel

Property: Failte Hotel
Address: College Street, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Failte Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Failte Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing