We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What about customer service???”
Review of Torc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Torc Hotel
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What about customer service???”
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I and 8 month old has a room reserved for one night. On our arrival at 5.30pm the room was not ready as rooms were being refurbished. A room was offered but had not space for a travel cot. We were not offered any refreshments or baby changing/feeding facilities while we waited so we left to return at 9pm. The room was freshly painted and the fumes were overwhelming, dangerously so as the window could only be opened a fraction. The noise from the bar music allied with the fumes and heat meant we did not sleep well. Breakfast was an abysmal affair of cheap cereal, watered juices and toasting bread. The cooked breakfast was of poor quality and greasy. On a health and safety note there was no fire evacuation safety notice in the room neither were we verbally told of one. There was no hair dryer or information on the area in the room either On checkout I was struggling with baby and luggage as my husband had left earlier on a cycle, there were three staff members talking at reception as I stood waiting to check out. The receptionist rose her head to me and said you can leave your keys there and that was it. No plesantries, no enquiries as to how our stay was and no offer to help with our bags. I phoned the hotel on three occasions to talk about our experience and my calls were not returned. I will never visit this establishment again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cillers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, General Manager at Torc Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel.
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay. At the moment we are renovating the hotel which in some small way did not allow us to cater for your needs. Hopefully you will return in 2014 when all work will have finished and you can enjoy what we have to offer.

Regards,
Brendan Downes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    55
    16
    9
    7
See reviews for
42
53
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I dont understand previous good reviews.
I thought rooms were finished poorly and i felt ripped off given the price. Food in bar was grand however it felt odd to be given the bill without request after placing order for mains, what about further drinks desert tea coffee ! Desert menu looked promising but after that couldnt be bothered. Great example of irish hospitality for the foreigners joining us who were wondering was this normal.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ndcarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sparky20132013, Manager at Torc Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reveiw our hotel. This is very helpful for all future planning. From the start of 2013 we are in the process of renovating the complete hotel which will be finshed by early 2014. Hopefully you will return and enjoy the improvements we have made
Regards
Brendan Downes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed recently with a friend and a had a great weekend.. Lovely bedroom with Double Bed and Kingsize Bed, newly decorated bathroom all very up to date. Breakfast was good on both mornings had in the restaurant first morning and late breakfast in the bar on the second morning. They do a late breakfast until 12 in the bar every day.. great idea. !!! Dinner was included on 1 night and was very good from starter, main to dessert.. Compliments to the Chef. Lovely friendly staff, lots of car parking, a bit outside the town but didn't bother us as cabs readily available.. !!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

myself my partner his mam and our 2 girls aged 10 and 4 had the wonderful pleasure of staying in Darby o gills on 06/08/13. Really can not say enough good things about this fantastic hotel and the staff that make it so! all staff were welcoming, friendly, helpful and genuinely lovely people. hotel its self is gorgeous, rooms are spotless and huge we got a camp bed put in and the 5 of us still had room to run around which our 4 year old did! The children are made to feel as welcome as the adults, bar staff are lovely. there is also an area with a pool table and darts board and a games machine our girls had great fun in there!The food is out of this world would drive back there just for the food!!!(we live in co meath) highly highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking staying in killarney. we can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natalie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
co mayo ireland
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

i found this the staff of the darby o gill to be very friendly and welcoming, secure parking, lovely food , room just newly redecorated, very nice just needs a few extras in the bathroom, i found that we were friends with everyone including the regulars in the bar by the end of our visit, the staff took an interest in where and what we were doing and always asked us when we came back how was our day, i loved the atmosphere in the hotel and i would definately go back again

Room Tip: keep ur windows closed at night we were over the kitchen so naturally we got some noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulineweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Two night stay, arriving Friday for a wedding on the Saturday. Mixed reviews by word of mouth in advance. Some confusion making the booking, which required multiple phone calls. Very friendly staff. Secure and covered parking for our bicycles in the compound out back, though a couple of staff members weren't aware of the process to access it. Very pleasant meal there on the night of our arrival and lovely food at the wedding reception the following evening too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tintagel, Cornwall
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We spent 3 nights at this hotel in June. We found the staff in every part of the hotel very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The food was delicious and cooked to a very high standard. We were pleasantly surprised how reasonably priced it all was. The location was ideal, being close but not too close to Killarney town. We were worried about traffic noise (being country dwellers) as it is right on the main road but it was not a problem at all. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel and wish them all the luck in the present financial climate.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear, but most important explain your needs to the staff who we are sure will d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barryatstnectan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
1.4 mi away
The Heights Hotel Killarney
The Heights Hotel Killarney
#32 of 38 in Killarney
395 reviews
2.2 mi away
Killarney Oaks Hotel
Killarney Oaks Hotel
#30 of 38 in Killarney
414 reviews
2.7 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#35 of 38 in Killarney
577 reviews
4.0 mi away
Castlerosse Hotel & Holiday Homes
2.8 mi away
Brook Lodge Hotel
Brook Lodge Hotel
#26 of 38 in Killarney
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torc Hotel

Property: Torc Hotel
Address: Torc Hotel Lissivgeen, Killarney, Ireland (Formerly Darby O'Gill's Country House Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 38 Hotels in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torc Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Torc Hotel A warm welcome awaits. Conveniently situated on the outskirts of Killarney Town, offering Superior & Delux rooms. The Torc Hotel commands beautiful views Kerry countryside & Mangerton Mountain. Close to many visiter attractions and free on-site parking the hotel is ideal for families or couples looking for a relaxing break in the Kerry region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Torc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Darby o Gills Country Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing