We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay very much, but could have been warmer---”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #17 of 141 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay very much, but could have been warmer---”
Reviewed January 29, 2011

We were guests at Gleann Fia Country House from January 18-23. It is a very nice property, and the only drawback was the cold. The gas valve didn't work the last 2 days of our stay, so the last 2 evenings were chilly, to say the least.
We would come back here in a heartbeat, but not in January! The breakfast was ample, and Connor & Bridget gave us tips for our day trips out. Again the main drawback was the temperature inside the house was colder than we are used to.
We have stayed in a few B & B's throughout the USA and Europe, and would certainly have enjoyed this one more had it been a bit warmer. It is in a lovely setting, and a great location for day trips to Dingle, Ring of Kerry, and Beara Peninsula.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goldenthroat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    53
    23
    4
    0
See reviews for
65
112
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

We were welcomed by Connor and he immediately planned an excellent afternoon for us around the Kilarney area and gave us great advice for our route for the next day. The B&B is tucked away down a long driveway but is close to the town centre once you know where you are!

The breakfast was excellent and the grounds had a lovely river running through them which I imagine is very nice to walk along in the summer time.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CandidKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stayed at Gleann Fia during a road trip through Southwest Ireland on our way for the ring of Kerry. Conor and Bridget do their best to make your stay pleasurable and give you advice on planning your trips into the area. The house is just outside of Killarney which means you need to get back into the car when going for dinner unless you are up for a bit of a walk. But that means you find yourself in a beautiful and quiet environment that makes you consider seriously whether you want to go out at all and rather stay in. Bridget's homemade soda bread for breakfast is a real treat! Overall best accommodation experience we had during our trip and best value for money. We are considering coming back in summer now.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GermanPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emsworth
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

The house was large, and must have been a spacious family home at one time, set in beautiful grounds beside a stream. It must be so pleasant in summer when you could sit outside or stroll in the garden. It's very close to Killarney but you feel as if you're way out in the country. The hospitable landlord, Connor encouraged us to make use of the comfortable sitting room with peat fire, and the conservatory where we could make hot drinks. He presented us with useful tourist booklets and spent some time showing us the main points of interest and possible routes to explore.
The only criticism was that our room wasn't as warm as we're accustomed to, heated only by a small radiator, and the ceramic tiles on the bathroom floor were icy. We really appreciated the electric blanket on the bed.. (And slept very well)
Breakfast was generous - cold buffet, cooked breakfast, tea and coffee were all served smoothly by Connor who was professional but approachable. On our return from touring the various attractions he was happy to answer questions, and he dried my wringing wet clothes after I was caught out in a shower. By the end of our three day stay we felt he was a friend - indeed he even gave us a bag of peat to take home to show our family! His wife Bridget stayed in the background, but the house radiated a personal attention and an idiosyncratic taste in furnishings and knick knacks. We would definitely stay there again. Thank you Connor!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmsworthStella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, November 25, 2010
As we say at Gleann Fia Country House and Ireland - Keep the peat fires burning and we hope you enjoy YOUR VERY OWN PEAT fire on a chilly winter evening. Best regards and have a wonderful Christmas / New Year. Bridget and Conor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2010

our stay was short, but cozy. we were greeted with the smell of a peat fire burning and that set the stage for a lovely evening. the house is warm and friendly as are connor and bridgit. our room was nicely appointed and everything was spotless. breakfast was truly one of the best we had in ireland. the only drawback was that our room was a bit chilly late in the night. however i popped the electric rad on for a little while and we were fine.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinx101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2010

We stayed at the Glenn Fia for 1 night at the end of September. The location is about 1.5 miles form the center of town, so a car is needed.
The grounds are beautiful, as is the home. The room was comfortable,and clean.The owners really make an effort to give you all the information you'll need to fully appreciate the area around Killarney.
It's a good find, if you don't mind driving 5 mins into town for dinner etc.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collectmemories
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2010

We got into a legendary place: House located in a grove of trees and green fields with the river flowing next to the side. That I dreamed as a child ....
Connor received us graciously. After a short conversation we realized that we met someone special: visitor guest concern is not only to provide professional service: it is part of who he is: a professional, caring and giving person.
We got rooms groomed properly equipped, decorated tastefully. We received detailed explanations of the tours in the area including maps, we have received excellent recommendations on places for recreation and dining. Above all - we got a ratio of family members: a lot of love and concern, deep soul conversations with an attempt to understand us and our culture.

I advised my sons to stay there during their visit to Ireland. Connor & Bridget hosted them as their sons. Glean Fia is like home, like a palace, with a special charm and grace - especially with the wonderful hosts!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaelims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#35 of 38 in Killarney
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,219 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Malton Hotel
The Malton Hotel
#16 of 38 in Killarney
2,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#25 of 141 in Killarney
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Property: Gleann Fia Country House
Address: Kilcummin Road | Deer Park, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 141 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing