We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT stay for the 8 of us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #18 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
chicago
1 review
“PERFECT stay for the 8 of us”
Reviewed May 7, 2007

This was by far the most beautiful and best place we stayed (2 nights). It's setting is less than a mile from the center of Killarney, which can - at it's center - be a bit overwhelming with tourists, so we felt privileged to explore the wonderful town and the Ring of Kerry and then be able to retreat to Gleann Fia's "countryside" and the gracious welcome of an adorable cat and gallant Irish wolfhound. Our kids (13, 12, & 9) and the other adults we travelled with played a little kickball, made use of the tire swing in the GORGEOUS yard with a full stream running through it and explored the nature trails. Thank you Connor for the itinerary advice to which we attribute a perfect trip, for making golf reservations at Tralee for the guys - they loved it - and to Bridget for her warm hospitality and outstanding breakfasts. We will go back to Ireland - it was wonderful - and Gleann Fia will be on our list, absolutely no doubt about it.

  • Liked — Setting & hospitalyu, quietness, place for the kids to take a breather
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nickpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    52
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
65
110
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ladysmith, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2007

This was a wonderful stay on a cold wet night in January. Connor and his wife made us feel at home and literally opened their house and hearth to us. Lovely fire in the library, dinner aranged, sightseeing suggested. All within 10 minutes. The house is beautifully furnished with antique soft furnishings, porcelain and crystal. It was difficult to think we were in the middle of a big town. Set in an enormous park like garden, with a rvier flowing past for final enchantment. Connor is a boffin with gholf and arranges packages for groups from all over the globe. Wish we could stay longer.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, homeliness
  • Disliked — no coffee making facilities in the room, but only downstairs in the library
  • Tips/Secrets — Do not book less than 2 nights!
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank camphere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2006

My family and I stayed at the Gleann Fia for 3 days back in June. We used the country house as a base to tour County Kerry. Conor and Bridgett were extremely helpful in recommending which things to do and not do, and Conor's resturant picks were fantasic.

The setting is quiet and beautiful. It is convenient to Killarney. Ring of Kerry, the Beara penninsula and Dingle. Enjoy an evening beverage with Conor in the solarium.

Paul G.

Stayed June 2006
Helpful?
Thank Gulfstream69xr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2006

I stayed here for 2 nights. It's not a location to be at without a car, but very convenient with one. I had no problem finding the property, with their web map.

The property is wonderful and roomy. The breakfast was excellent with no complaints about the hot breakfast. Was the cheapest bargain of my 10 night Ireland stay. :)

Killarney had plenty in town and very convenient to the Ring of Kerry drive.

Owners very helpful with accurate information.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — very nice property
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank budgetqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2006

We stayed at Gleann Fia recently and enjoyed our two night visit. The room was comfortable and clean. The owners were friendly and helpful. The breakfasts were satisfying. The location was good because it was quiet and away from the hustle of downtown Killarney. You can walk to Killarney in daylight but it's best to take a cab back (about 8 euros) ONLY beacuse there are no sideawalks near the hotel. A very nice place and a great value.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shaughraun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2006

Drove into Killarney from Kenmare - and spent way more time than we should have trying to find the place! Directions on their website aren't clear on how to find Gleann Fia from that direction. However, we did finally manage to find it, and it was worth it. When you checked in, it felt more like a small, boutique hotel than a B&B, but still very nice.

Large lobby-type area, filled with brochures and travel guides to help you locate attractions both near and far in Ireland. To the right of the lobby is a living room area, with lots of seating, books to read, and a TV. Further down, a glassed in sun-room, with a honor bar and nice seating.

Our room was one floor up - and was a family suite. This consisted of two rooms open to each other - one with a double bed, armoire, and desk, and the other with two twin beds and dresser and TV. The TV was mounted up over one of the beds in such a way that really the only way to see the TV was for everyone to sit on one of the twin beds. You could hear it from the double bed area, but you couldn't see it. Interesting thing about this TV was that they also received at least one channel in Gaelic - my kids thought it was hilarious to watch Spongebob all in Gaelic.

The bathroom was nice - a large tub/shower (with good hot water and nice power). Lots of towels, and plenty of room to move around in.

The owner, Connor, spent a lot of time with us showing us on a map how to get back into town, where to go for dinner, where some of the local sights were, etc. It was very helpful and informative. The grounds are also beautiful - lots of trees, streams, and of course - their dog! Skellig is an Irish wolfhound who is a little shy, but still very impressive.

Breakfast in the morning had a nice selection of fresh fruit (apples, oranges,etc) as well as cereals, granola, and yogurt. We were disappointed to see that the only hot dish that they served was the full irish breakfast. Most B&B's have additional offerings such as french toast or pancakes but not here. So for those not so enthralled by black and white pudding and sausages (like my small children), there wasn't much to choose from.


Definitely a nice, country feel to Gleann Fia - and very welcoming hosts. Would certainly consider staying here again if in the area.

  • Liked — The country setting
  • Disliked — the breakfast selection
  • Tips/Secrets — Double check your directions!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worleybird98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2006

The inn proprietor (Connor) gave us advice about what to do the next day before he even let us check in. The hotel was nice, clean, and had an excellent breakfast. It was a longish walk to town, so we drove the 5 minutes to and fro, but it was easy to find. The web site has great directions to the inn. I would recommend this location to anyone who is visiting Killarney.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christens02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
942 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#27 of 140 in Killarney
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#14 of 140 in Killarney
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Property: Gleann Fia Country House
Address: Kilcummin Road | Deer Park, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing