We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"wonderful people make you very welcome"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #20 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We were a party of 40 women with a age range of 18 to 70, we were staying 2 nights at Gleann Fia Country House. The hospitality from Conor and Bridget was excellent!! They couldn't do enough for us making us feel at home. The communication was excellent before we even arrived at Gleann Fia. Conor gave me recommendations for coach company's to pick us up from the airport and also restaurants who would cater for a party of 40 and when we needed transport to the centre of town Conor arranged it at a reasonable price.
The grounds in which Gleann Fia stand are beautiful and there are even wellington boots you can borrow if you need too (these little touches make it perfect). The bedrooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast was very nice and Bridget's homemade jam was lovely (she even gave me the recipe). The first morning for breakfast we couldn't all sit together as there was so many of us, but on the second morning Bridget and Conor made sure we were all seated together.
We are hoping to return to Gleann Fia next year as we enjoyed ourselves so much and feel we couldn't get anywhere better in Killarney.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

158 - 164 of 271 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2011

My friends and I only stayed 1 night at Gleann Fia, but that's all it takes to know that this is a home where you want to return. Bridget and Connor are wonderful hosts - couldn't be more helpful and welcoming. The grounds are absolutely beautiful - the breakfast is wonderful (along with Bridget's homemade rasberry jam). It's not the easiest place to find, but it's so worth the finding!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Deirdre118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights on our first trip to Killarney since the mid 90s. The Gleann Fia was a change from the rather packaged atmosphere of the town and the owners and staff are pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good. The bedroom was a bit small but spotless and the bed was comfortable. The garden and surroundings are pleasant. It is located a little outside the town but the centre of Killarney is readily accessible (and in the evening at least parking is good). We had stayed away from Killarney for a long time because we had always found it very commercial and not very enjoyable. To our slight surprise it is spotless (and now officially the tidiest town in Ireland). The Jarveys are almost polite. The Muckross estate is a must visit. Oh and Quinlan's chipper in the High St has the best fish and chips in the country.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublintourist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Gleann Fia is beautiful and the main draw being the common rooms and the hospitality. The location is nice in that there is a river along the backside of the house but still need to drive into the city (not a big deal). There is a conservatory with all windows with music playing. There is a reading room with a fire going. The honest system to get drinks is convenient. The owners are super friendly and helpful...simply great. Our room was big with a large bathroom and a shower with a tub (very nice for a much needed bubble bath while reading). The only down side was the towels weren't cleaned every day and quickly started to smell a little mildew-y. We just took an extra from the linen closet. And my mattress wasn't too comfortable (but my friend slept fine so it may be personal preference). Overall, a great place to stay in Killarney and convenient to most of the sites/drives.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank SRB_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you want to experience true Irish hospitality, make sure to stay at Gleann Fia. The hosts couldn't be more helpful, warm, and hospitable. Our family (5) stayed in two rooms, very clean and comfortable.

The best part of this B&B is the expansive downstairs reading room and separate conservatory. At the end of a long day, the hosts keep these rooms open for unwinding and a nightcap - which we thoroughly enjoyed! Breakfast was excellent, service great, and you'll find Conor to be the most helpful Irish insider you'll meet - for directions, sights, etc. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

When we go back for our next trip to play some golf, there's no doubt where we'll be staying! Thanks Conor and Bridget!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NumberDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Beautiful house and grounds to enjoy,very welcoming and homely,a home from home,nothing too much trouble and dog friendly,surrounding area and trips are stunning

Room Tip: all rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryswanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were pleased with the sun room and honor bar; however, this is run more like a hotel, missing some of the personal touches we experienced at our other accommodations. My husband had three nights of tossing in an uncomfortable bed (Rm 1). The bathroom glasses weren't changed out for clean during our 3 night stay (one chipped glass remained throughout our stay). The

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsmom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Jetsmom2011.

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking time in writing.
I have to say that a chipped glass in your bathroom is inexcusable and should have been seen and replaced by housekeeping. As soon as I read your review - I immediately went to the room and it had been replaced but not soon enough for you.
As for the quality of your nights sleep, why did you not mention it to us?. We would have been only too happy to assist. Was the mattress too firm or too soft for your liking?. This is something that could have been corrected after your first night - why let it go for your entire stay with us?
We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland and had a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
3.6 mi away
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
Muckross Park Hotel & Spa
#15 of 38 in Killarney
1,607 reviews
2.2 mi away
Cahernane House
Cahernane House
#18 of 38 in Killarney
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aghadoe Heights Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Killarney
Holiday Inn Killarney
#34 of 38 in Killarney
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Address: Kilcummin Road | Deer Park, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $87 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing