We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #19 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights on our first trip to Killarney since the mid 90s. The Gleann Fia was a change from the rather packaged atmosphere of the town and the owners and staff are pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was good. The bedroom was a bit small but spotless and the bed was comfortable. The garden and surroundings are pleasant. It is located a little outside the town but the centre of Killarney is readily accessible (and in the evening at least parking is good). We had stayed away from Killarney for a long time because we had always found it very commercial and not very enjoyable. To our slight surprise it is spotless (and now officially the tidiest town in Ireland). The Jarveys are almost polite. The Muckross estate is a must visit. Oh and Quinlan's chipper in the High St has the best fish and chips in the country.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dublintourist12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 271 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

Gleann Fia is beautiful and the main draw being the common rooms and the hospitality. The location is nice in that there is a river along the backside of the house but still need to drive into the city (not a big deal). There is a conservatory with all windows with music playing. There is a reading room with a fire going. The honest system to get drinks is convenient. The owners are super friendly and helpful...simply great. Our room was big with a large bathroom and a shower with a tub (very nice for a much needed bubble bath while reading). The only down side was the towels weren't cleaned every day and quickly started to smell a little mildew-y. We just took an extra from the linen closet. And my mattress wasn't too comfortable (but my friend slept fine so it may be personal preference). Overall, a great place to stay in Killarney and convenient to most of the sites/drives.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank SRB_in_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

If you want to experience true Irish hospitality, make sure to stay at Gleann Fia. The hosts couldn't be more helpful, warm, and hospitable. Our family (5) stayed in two rooms, very clean and comfortable.

The best part of this B&B is the expansive downstairs reading room and separate conservatory. At the end of a long day, the hosts keep these rooms open for unwinding and a nightcap - which we thoroughly enjoyed! Breakfast was excellent, service great, and you'll find Conor to be the most helpful Irish insider you'll meet - for directions, sights, etc. Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

When we go back for our next trip to play some golf, there's no doubt where we'll be staying! Thanks Conor and Bridget!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NumberDuo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Beautiful house and grounds to enjoy,very welcoming and homely,a home from home,nothing too much trouble and dog friendly,surrounding area and trips are stunning

Room Tip: all rooms lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terryswanston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were pleased with the sun room and honor bar; however, this is run more like a hotel, missing some of the personal touches we experienced at our other accommodations. My husband had three nights of tossing in an uncomfortable bed (Rm 1). The bathroom glasses weren't changed out for clean during our 3 night stay (one chipped glass remained throughout our stay). The

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jetsmom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2011

Dear Jetsmom2011.

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking time in writing.
I have to say that a chipped glass in your bathroom is inexcusable and should have been seen and replaced by housekeeping. As soon as I read your review - I immediately went to the room and it had been replaced but not soon enough for you.
As for the quality of your nights sleep, why did you not mention it to us?. We would have been only too happy to assist. Was the mattress too firm or too soft for your liking?. This is something that could have been corrected after your first night - why let it go for your entire stay with us?
We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland and had a safe trip home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this spotless guesthouse. The room was spacious, the hosts very helpful and the setting gorgeous. Just outside of Killarey (about two minutes drive) this was a peaceful respite for our travels - and we decided to stay one day more than planned. There is a conservatory with an honor bar for guest usage and a nice hot breakfast every morning. The overall impression was very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were welcomed by Conor the second we walked through the door. He was knowledgable about the area and very helpful in planning an itinerary for the next day. He couldn't have been nicer. The breakfast was delicious and the location is great. The rooms are a little older but clean and a good value.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachelteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#6 of 38 in Killarney
2,385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Woodlawn House Killarney
Woodlawn House Killarney
#15 of 143 in Killarney
476 reviews
1.6 mi away
Old Weir Lodge
Old Weir Lodge
#6 of 143 in Killarney
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Killarney Lodge
Killarney Lodge
#8 of 143 in Killarney
426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Killaran House
Killaran House
#9 of 143 in Killarney
267 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fuchsia Guest House
Fuchsia Guest House
#39 of 143 in Killarney
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Address: Kilcummin Road | Deer Park, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $90 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing