We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average quality for the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gleann Fia Country House
Ranked #18 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Average quality for the price.”
Reviewed May 31, 2011

We were pleased with the sun room and honor bar; however, this is run more like a hotel, missing some of the personal touches we experienced at our other accommodations. My husband had three nights of tossing in an uncomfortable bed (Rm 1). The bathroom glasses weren't changed out for clean during our 3 night stay (one chipped glass remained throughout our stay). The

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jetsmom2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ConorKillarney, Owner at Gleann Fia Country House, responded to this review, June 7, 2011
Dear Jetsmom2011.

Thank you for your review, we appreciate you taking time in writing.
I have to say that a chipped glass in your bathroom is inexcusable and should have been seen and replaced by housekeeping. As soon as I read your review - I immediately went to the room and it had been replaced but not soon enough for you.
As for the quality of your nights sleep, why did you not mention it to us?. We would have been only too happy to assist. Was the mattress too firm or too soft for your liking?. This is something that could have been corrected after your first night - why let it go for your entire stay with us?
We hope that you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday in Ireland and had a safe trip home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    52
    22
    4
    0
See reviews for
65
110
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 25, 2011

We stayed for two nights in this spotless guesthouse. The room was spacious, the hosts very helpful and the setting gorgeous. Just outside of Killarey (about two minutes drive) this was a peaceful respite for our travels - and we decided to stay one day more than planned. There is a conservatory with an honor bar for guest usage and a nice hot breakfast every morning. The overall impression was very comfortable and welcoming.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gen72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 21, 2011

We were welcomed by Conor the second we walked through the door. He was knowledgable about the area and very helpful in planning an itinerary for the next day. He couldn't have been nicer. The breakfast was delicious and the location is great. The rooms are a little older but clean and a good value.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachelteran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

Had originally planned to stay for one night but ended up staying for two while travelling the Ring of Kerry. Very quiet and scenic but in very good location for all amenities.

Conor & Bridget were very helpful in suggesting places to visit and very friendly. Travelled round Ireland for a week and is by far the best place we stayed. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimleaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2011

We were a group of 17 staying at Gleann Fia for 5 nights. Conor and Bridget were the perfect host and hostess during our stay. We toured by day and relaxed at "home" most evenings. Conor and Bridget are experts on the region/country and shared their knowledge with us. We started every day with a traditional Irish breakfast which had little variation. The Guest House was clean and comfortable but a little on the cool side. We would highly recommend Gleann Fia to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcnallyhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Daughter was married in Ireland and we had a total of 17 people traveling together. It was nice that we could all stay at the same place with rooms to be shared by all and private space with your own bathroom when you went to your room. Conor and Bridget were great hosts with many traveling and resturant suggestions. Rooms very clean with everything you might need on your stay away from home. My only complaint would be the house was a little chilly and would have liked a little more variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMDSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2011

We had a group of 17 of us staying for 5 nights in March and had a wonderful time. We get married while there and Conor and Bridget made our entire stay wonderful. They recommened great places to see and eat. There was several larger public areas that our group to sit and talk together. Breakfast was great each morning and always made to order for each person. I would recommend or anyone even if it just 2 of you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
2.8 mi away
Killeen House Hotel
Killeen House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Aghadoe
942 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#10 of 38 in Killarney
2,193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eviston House Hotel
Eviston House Hotel
#34 of 38 in Killarney
716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,160 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kathleens Country House
Kathleens Country House
#27 of 140 in Killarney
303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Windway House
Windway House
#14 of 140 in Killarney
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gleann Fia Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gleann Fia Country House

Property: Gleann Fia Country House
Address: Kilcummin Road | Deer Park, Killarney, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gleann Fia Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gleann Fia Country House, a Victorian Style Country Guesthouse, located just 2km from Killarney Town centre. Situated on acres of Mature Gardens with Woodland and River. All our guest bedrooms are overlooking our natural surrounds. Guest lounges with open fires, a Reading, Classical DVDs and Music CD Library, free WiFi, conservatory with complimentary teas, coffee, and an Honor Bar. Outdoor patio area with garden seating and free guest car parking. Local tours of the "Ring of Kerry", "Dingle", "Beara" Peninsulas, Gap of Dunloe and activities, Golf, Hill Walking, Fishing arranged in house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Gleann Fia Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing