We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Breakfasts, Great Location”
Review of Killarney Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Killarney Lodge
Ranked #7 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at the Killarney Lodge during a week-long golf holiday. The lodge was a very comfortable, friendly place. Rooms were large and bathrooms were fine with good water pressure. The location was a 5 minute walk to the main street in Killarney which was fine because the lodge itself was in a quiet location. The staff was very friendly and they made excellent breakfasts. Will surely stay here on my next visit to Killarney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodie491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time go to review Killarney Lodge.

Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 424 reviews

Reviewed June 26, 2013

We just arrived home from a 8 day trip to Ireland. it was fantastic and non-stop from the moment we landed at Shannon Airport. I had heard the true way to see Ireland and enjoy the Irish heritage was to stay at bed & breakfast inns oppose to hotels. When visiting Killarney, we stayed at the "Killarney Lodge". We were not disappointed. First off, on arrival there is hot tea and scones. Catherine Treachy, the inn keeper, was so welcoming and warm. The rooms were very clean, spacious and comfortable. They had free wifi, and a computer area to check emails. Breakfast was stupendous, with a large selection. The Cinnamon toast with syrup and bananas was my favorite. The inn was very convenient to the main town (a two minute) walk, but at the same time far enough not to hear a lot of noise at night from the pubs. Catherine and the staff were always so accommodating with anything we needed, such as, laundry, restaurant suggestions, reservations, advice on excursions and they even let me store my bike in their private garbage overnight. I was a little skeptical about staying there at first because I read mixed reviews, but I'm glad we did. Those reviews were wrong, I would certainly stay there again and would recommend it to anyone else. I was traveling with my husband and two children, 23 and 21. We had two rooms 8&9. The kids really liked it too......Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank you for staying and for your lovely review.
I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and your holiday.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can't say enough good things about this B&B in Killarney. Catherine and her staff were wonderful; they were helpful with ideas of things for us to do and made our stay enjoyable. So much more personable than a hotel. Room was very nice, breakfast excellent, perfect location. We loved this place and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pgvanstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Thank for staying with us and for your lovely review.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

It was our best Accommodation in Ireland. It’s 2 minutes’ walk from the Centre in a very quit location. We had a big room very comfortable with a nice view on the mountains. Just when we arrived in the afternoon the lady prepared a tea served with some biscuits. The breakfast was excellent. If you need there is also a computer for the Gust with free Internet connection (besides you can use the printer). It was the only accommodation in Ireland where we found hitting switch on in the bathroom very useful even if it was the begin of June. The staff is very nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank albrizio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Killarney Lodge and for your positive comments.
I very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Good location in Killarney town. Decent room. Good bed and well kept bathroom with strong warm shower. Very good breakfast: cereal, full irish and I indulged in some pancakes, lots of fruit, yogurts and cheese to satisfy the belly.

I thought I was staying in a hotel but it was better. It had the Irish homely touch. Catherine is a nice warm host who made the stay very satisfying.

Killarney is good for cycling. I went through the Gap of Dunloe (nice quiet road along the lakes with nice scenery), to Kenmare and back to Killarney.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJM982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review Killarney Lodge and for your lovely comments.
I am delighted that you enjoy your stay and your visit to Killarney.
Catherine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

just completed a four night stay at killarney lodge with seven fellow golfers. your host Katherine is amazing. each morning, you will come down to breakfast (at whichever time is convenient for you), and you will be greeted with the aroma of her daily fresh baked breakfast rolls. the breakfasts at Killarney Lodge were the best we had in our stay at four locations in Ireland, including at a five star location. the rooms at Killarney Lodge are outstanding - very clean, spacious, and comfortable. the lodge is a very short walk to all the restaurants, pubs, and shops of killarney, as well as about a block from the entrance to Killarney National Park. i highly recommend this Lodge as a base from which to travel to golf at several courses throughout southwest Ireland.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westseattle1005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and your visit to Killarney

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

On our recent 11 day trip to Ireland, my wife and I spent the week of April 29 - May 3 in the Killarney area. Our daughter put us in touch with Catherine Treacy. To say we were thrilled with our Killarney Lodge stay would be to understate our experience.
Our room was situated at the rear of the house. It was clean, comfortable, and large. It was very quiet, even with the window open. The location is within a few hundred metres of the downtown area, and closer yet to Killarney National Park's walking trails. There was ample parking on site. Breakfast was perfect for us. Staff was friendly, and helpful.
We were looking for a B&B to use as a base to explore the Killarney/Ring of Kerry area. We found it is also close enough to allow a trip on the Dingle Peninsula. Our trip itinerary was largely unplanned, so Catherine was a great source of information each day. She suggested "must sees" while we were in the area. Catherine is an avid walker, and she was able to direct us to hikes in the park. She was able to provide information and local contacts for the entire area.
Would we stay at Killarney Lodge again? ABSOLUTELY.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KillarneyLodge, Owner at Killarney Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

I was delighted to meet you and thank you for taking the time to review and thanks to Stephanie for sending you to stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,450 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
931 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,369 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#9 of 38 in Killarney
2,285 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Address: Killarney Lodge Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $115 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney lodge is a large four star guesthouse conveniently located within walking distance of the Town Centre, Killarney Lakes and world renowned National Park. Owned and managed by the Treacy family, Killarney Lodge provides a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere which will make your stay truly memorable. Spacious air conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV, radio, hairdryer, and direct dial telephone and complimentary wireless internet access. Secure car parking is available on the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing