We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming B&B--Amazing personal attention”
Review of Killarney Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Killarney Lodge
Ranked #8 of 143 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Killarney Lodge for one night in March. We had spent two nights at Friars Glen (which we also loved), but when they couldn't accommodate us for our third night, they recommended Killarney Lodge--and we're very happy to have spent a night there as well. Friars Glen is located in Killarney National Park. The setting is beautiful, but there is no real walking access to town. Killarney Lodge is on a quiet street within easy walking distance (less than 5 minutes) to a wide range of restaurants, pubs, and stores--and within walking distance to the part of the National Park that borders the town.

On all the standard metrics, Killarney Lodge rates very highly. The rooms and bathrooms are spacious, very clean, nicely appointed, and the beds are very comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and Catherine was helpful with suggestions and directions for the days activities. But what really distinguished them for us was the very personal attention they provided. I had a terrible cold while we were there (ended up seeing a doctor our last day in Killarney). On Catherine's suggestion we went to Bricin for dinner. The owner (Johnny McGuire) noticed I had a bad cold--made me some ginger tea and honey--and then he called Catherine to ask her to make us a hot Irish Whisky when we got home (because this would help the cold and ensure a good night's sleep). He told us to ask her to make us a glass when we got back. We really didn't want to bother Catherine, we'd gone for dinner quite late,so we didn't intend to ask her about the hot whisky. But when we arrived back at Killarney Lodge, she was waiting for us, brought us into the kitchen and then she and her husband made us hot Irish Whiskies (hot whisky, water, and a lemon slice with cloves embedded in the pulp) to take up to our room. This was one of the best drinks I've ever had--or maybe it was the combination of the drink--warm and soothing--and the setting--nestled into a cozy bed in Killarney. Regardless, it was very kind and clearly above and beyond in terms of personal attention. It made for a very memorable stay--and something new for my future "cold remedy" repertoire.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigk9s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

242 - 248 of 425 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2012

Our party of 8 stayed here in late June. The location was perfect. We were able to walk everywhere plus the owner, Catherine, was extremely helpful with planning hikes into the National Park. The park is beautiful and a very easy hike.
Some of our group had never stayed at B&Bs before. After our stay at Killarney Lodge, they were hooked! Loved loved loved breakfast every morning. My favorite was the cinnamon toast. My college aged boys kept asking Catherine if she could please cook them lunch too!!!
We had 2 rooms upstairs and 2 rooms downstairs. All of them were nice.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank clarke13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was with a tour group of 30 people in August and we spent 3 nights at the Killarney Lodge in Killarney, Ireland. I have been to Ireland a number of times but I have to say that in all of my trips - the Killarney Lodge is without a doubt my most favorite B&B that I have ever stayed at! Charming, comfortable, gracious - it is the best!!

Room Tip: we liked being on the first floor - however after we left I was envious when I heard that some peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank loveskillarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had such a lovely, very quiet, spacious room overlooking the gardens. The breakfast was bountiful and delicious. There were lovely books about Ireland in several comfy areas....we could have stayed for weeks! The room rate was very reasonable, and the hosts so nice!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne926_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

All is can do is agree with all those who have written positive reviews before me. The location CANNOT be beat. Its a 1 minute walk to everything in Killarney, but away from traffic and city noise! Breakfast is WONDERFUL!! Very, very clean! Catherine took much time prior to our visit to answer my many questions - one of the benefits of staying in a guesthouse!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chandleronthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Killarney Lodge for four nights and loved every minute of it! The breakfasts were excellent and the location was perfect to walk into Killarney as well as the National Park. It also served as a "home base" for us while we toured the Ring of Kerry and Valencia Island. The rooms were very clean and the en suite bathroom was plenty large for both of us. Their wi-fi connection was strong so we never had a problem connecting with our family in the States. We will definitely plan on staying here again on our next visit to Ireland.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary Pat L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is an outstanding B&B. Catherine (the owner) is very welcoming and involved in all aspects of the operation. The room was large, quiet, comfortable and very clean. Breakfasts were superb. A traveler won't go wrong here. This was the best B&B during our three-week tour of the island.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the street, but all should be good. Don't miss the freshly baked croissa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
938 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#19 of 38 in Killarney
1,513 reviews
3.1 mi away
Killeen House Hotel & Rozzers Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Lake Hotel
Lake Hotel
#8 of 38 in Killarney
2,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Address: Killarney Lodge Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 143 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range: $128 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney lodge is a large four star guesthouse conveniently located within walking distance of the Town Centre, Killarney Lakes and world renowned National Park. Owned and managed by the Treacy family, Killarney Lodge provides a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere which will make your stay truly memorable. Spacious air conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV, radio, hairdryer, and direct dial telephone and complimentary wireless internet access. Secure car parking is available on the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing