We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent place to stay”
Review of Killarney Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Killarney Lodge
Ranked #7 of 140 Killarney B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
St. Petersburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent place to stay”
Reviewed January 29, 2008

Can walk to town in 5 min. Free internet access in lobby. Elegant and wonderful homemade scones at breakfast. Would like to go back.

  • Liked — proximity to town
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank St.Petersburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    33
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
104
194
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2007

An excellent B&B and probably the closest you''ll get to central Killarney outside of the main hotels. Catherine Treacy is a wonderful host; everything is friendly, clean and top quality. The B&B has free internet access and plenty to read whilst sitting in the comfortable lounge. Can't rate it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ThatsMySunbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2007

The south of Ireland was defo the highlight of our stay after spending 2 nite at the horrible Aerial House in Dublin. We stayed for 5 nights defo worth the money very clean very nice decor and very friendly staff. It was a 5 Min walk from the centre and heard no noise whatsoever. Will defo be going back

Beautiful National Park close by, great Pubs, late night shopping, great music.

Hire a Bike while you are there in the park and visit Dingle as we did 2 c Dingle the dolphin.

Staci x

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank stacey29Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2007

I never wanted to leave this wonderful place. The Lodge is absolutely beautiful. The location is great. Killarney Lodge is the perfect location to walk or ride bike through Killarney National Park to Ross Castle. (A Must) or walking into town. The breakfast is the best you will experience in Ireland and in the most beautiful dining room I've seen. They have free internet access at the Lodge which was very helpful. Don't just stay for one night if you can help it because Killarney is a nice town and the National Park is breathtaking. Catherine Treacy is the perfect host. If I could give Killarney Lodge more than 5 stars, I would.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakedpotatoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2007

This was a fantastic place to stay in Killarney. It is close to all the shops and downtown center. Our room was nice and roomy. During our trip in Ireland we stayed in 4 different b&bs are this was by far the best! The breakfast was wonderful and there were freshly baked pastries every morning. We would go back next time we are in Killarney. The town is very fun, lots of shopping and pubs with great live music.

  • Liked — Location and breakfast.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank nrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenmoore, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2007

We loved staying at Killarney Lodge. First, the location is great. The Lodge is a beautiful and has charm, charactor and class galore. Geraldine saw to our every need. The breakfast is awesome and the dining room is very nice. Don't forget to rent bikes and go through Killarney National Park to Ross Castle. The park is right near Killarney Lodge. Geraldine can tell you where to rent bikes. This was the highlight of our 3 week trip.

  • Liked — The charm, charactor, beauty and location cannot be beat.
  • Disliked — There is nothing that I didn't like about it.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank 520Ashland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cinti, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2007

The Killarney Lodge is a great place to stay. My family of five includes two teenagers and we had plenty of space in the family style room for all of us. On our second day there we decided to hike in Killarney National Park despite a threat of rain. Unfortunately for us the rain went from a drizzle to a steady downpour. By the time we arrived back at the Lodge we were drenched. Catherine and her assistant Mary, didn't leave us standing in the hallway dripping on their floor. They quickly took our jackets to hang up, put the kids sweatshirts in the dryer then took our soaked shoes, put newspaper in them to speed the drying time, and placed them on a shelf with a heater.
The cost of the room was very reasonable, it was spacious,well maintained and clean. Each day began with a breakfast selection that was included in the cost. The selections were filling and delicious. Extras include free internet access plus you're a short walk to all the shops and restaurants in Killarney. There were a few groups of golfers staying there at the same time as us. I'm not sure if all the rooms were taken but it never seemed crowed or noisey.

  • Liked — convenience to Killarney town, Killarney National Park, Ring of Kerry, Dingle peninsula
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kantgulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Killarney hotels
0.1 mi away
The Ross
The Ross
#4 of 38 in Killarney
887 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Killarney Park Hotel
The Killarney Park Hotel
#3 of 38 in Killarney
1,353 reviews
0.1 mi away
International Hotel Killarney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Brehon
The Brehon
#12 of 38 in Killarney
2,161 reviews
0.3 mi away
Earls Court House
Earls Court House
#13 of 38 in Killarney
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Fairview
The Fairview
#18 of 38 in Killarney
1,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Killarney Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Killarney Lodge

Property: Killarney Lodge
Address: Killarney Lodge Countess Road, Killarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Kerry > Killarney
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 140 B&Bs / Inns in Killarney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Killarney Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Killarney lodge is a large four star guesthouse conveniently located within walking distance of the Town Centre, Killarney Lakes and world renowned National Park. Owned and managed by the Treacy family, Killarney Lodge provides a relaxed and welcoming atmosphere which will make your stay truly memorable. Spacious air conditioned bedrooms with en-suite bathrooms, satellite TV, radio, hairdryer, and direct dial telephone and complimentary wireless internet access. Secure car parking is available on the grounds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Killarney Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Killarney Hotel Killarney

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing